We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Herbal Lore Liqueurs
from US$962.08
More Info
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
25
5
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
5
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting experience butter factory unique experience my partner gins liquor tawny candles tonic strength delight
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2021 via mobile

Very strange. Inside the venue is a faux castle affair. Large bible in a black cabinet set at odds w the candle and witchy vibe. Claimed the liquor had zero sugar despite being distilled grape alcohol like any other liquor of its kind. Despite this we were told several times that sugar was evil - also at odds w the selling of chocolates on the counter. They claimed the herbal liquor could cure cancer. Very creepy vibes from all of the owners/staff. One of the liquors was said Tom give us confidence’ - which surprisingly it did - to run out the door. Unless this is ‘your thing’, do not recommend.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank 933francesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2021 via mobile

The host at our accommodation recommended this place, especially as we’re exceptionally keen gin drinkers - so four of us popped on a hot Sunday afternoon.

It feels like you’re entering an office in an industrial estate on the edge of town, however (to our surprise) you step into a rather lovely room set up perfectly for tasting and showing their produce.

We were quickly greeted by Susanne (one of the owners I believe) but then Ken (the owner) soon appeared and took charge. This is where the entertainment begins.

Clearly this is a man who is exceedingly passionate about making gin/spirits and with a long history in the drinks industry. His insights into the business and the gin making process were appreciated, though at times it felt like a lecture on how good he is, how skilled he is, how his approach is the only way to do it and every other gin maker in Victoria is not doing the right thing. His humour at times was terrific and he could be very engaging. However...this just went on and on. Even he had to remind himself to stop talking. After one particular “guidance” on how to taste navy strength gin, he paused and chided himself for “his lengthy sermon”. Rather over the top and a little unnecessary.

His stories wandered off several times so it actually became very frustrating - we just wanted to taste three gins and learn about them. Indeed, it took soooo long to taste the gins that we had no time to taste the vodkas or liqueurs. Once we said we weren’t able to try them but we’d buy some gin he upped and we never saw him again - he headed off to engage some other customers without getting the gin.

I should also add that he was good enough to offer tonic to try with the gin but, without any prompting, insisted it wouldn’t be Fever Tree !We were rather surprised when he produced Schweppes - I doubt many passionate gin makers/drinkers use Schweppes.

As for the gin, I’d tried the Navy Strength the night before in a G&T - excellent. But at $150 (yes, $150) for a standard 700ml - not a chance.

The other gins were good though not outstanding. We purchased the Jennifer as we wanted to try it with a different tonic and with some ice. Friends bought the Susanne.

At lunch a little while later we all felt it was a bit of an odd experience and whilst initially enjoyable it was too much and too weird. At one point he called my girlfriend “kinky” and whilst it was in jest and didn’t offend us, it could offend others.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank Haggis_Supper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2020

A very interesting place to visit if you have an hour to spare and enjoy free tastings. The venue offers a combination of crafted herbal liqueurs, distilled gin and ports. The interior setting is a bit quirky but also you are made welcome by the owners. The herbal liqueurs are interesting in origins and their claimed benefits. Several flavoured gins and several tawny ports are also available to taste.

Date of experience: July 2020
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2020

The Butter Factory is an enchanting place in a delightful setting that offers a unique experience. The range and quality of the liqueurs is impressive, original and won't disappoint. The Ginsing is our longtime favorite. Gins present as fresh, lively and hit the spot. Herbal Lore presents another dimension of interest by including a range of boutique candles and jams that resonate with the liqueurs. Their latest innovation is their hand sanitizer; the best we've come across yet! The team at Herbal Lore are passionate about their work and conversations about their products are fascinating and illuminating. Professional and friendly service extends to hospitality that is rarely seen in a business.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank lynettem913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2019

Wow! My husband and I thought this place was amazing. Right from when you enter and see the beautiful decor to the excellent knowledge and service from the selling staff. Allow time to take in the explanation of each drop you sample from liqueurs, vodka, gin and tawnies. Visit and thorughly enjoy as we did and don't forget to take home a bottle or two for that special occassion.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews