We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to eat”
Review of The Old Oak Tree

The Old Oak Tree
Ranked #4 of 62 Restaurants in Thirsk
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Family run freehold pub with restaurant serving home cooked food and real ales. Five en-suite rooms available on bed and breakfast basis.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been dining here for several years & even though we have tried different places we always end up back at the Old Oak Tree. The staff are wonderful & the food is exceptional, plentiful & lots of choice. Desserts are delicious but I would highly recommend the Bailey’s Creme Brûlée (me personal favourite). It was lovely to be back after the COVID lockdown.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank annpO3453WQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a meal tonight the first time since lock down and I'm happy to say The oak has not lost it touch still superb 10 out of 10 .

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank thomasM3594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first time here while visiting family in North Yorkshire. The service was warm and friendly, the food plentiful and tasty and appered to be reasonably priced too. Its located close to the pretty town of Thirsk and offers overnibht accomodation for visitors and campervans too. Recommended

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 12SLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here last night (first day when eating inside was allowed post COVid lockdown). We were made to feel extremely welcome, especially have a baby and a toddler. Staff were very accommodating and attentive, the food was extremely tasty and hot and there was a fantastic choice of food available. The environment felt COVid safe, with staff wearing masks or visors, sanitisers bottles on the table and track and trace system in place. The place was very busy, which is testament to the venue and the service the provide. Thanks for having us

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank nikitah996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2021

I have been a regular at the restaurant for quite a few years now and I have continued to use it for takeaways during lockdown for several months now. They have an excellent variety of food on their takeaway menu and the takeaways I have had are very good.

You book a time slot to pick up your meal and are directed to a place to go while you wait for your meal (usually just a couple of minutes). These places are within the restaurant and are socially distanced. The staff wear masks and hand sanitiser is available. It feels a very safe environment.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Oak Tree also viewed

Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Old Oak Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.