We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
19
40
37
23
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
40
37
23
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full english lovely room mid week nice stay plenty of hot water lady on reception midnight pubs saturday
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Myself and my husband came to stay for one night after our wedding.
We have been to The Templars a few times but never stayed the night.
We loved our room, it was a good size with older style furniture and felt very inviting and cosy.

Our Bedding was clean and well presented, the bed was very comfortable so we had a great nights sleep.
I was surprised that even though downstairs was very busy as they had a band on that night the noise we heard from the room was minimal, with the t.v. on you couldn't hear downstairs at all.

The only issue we had was that it was a bit cold in the room but that was resolved very quickly by a lovely female member of staff when we went to ask about it.

Bathroom was clean, we had a shower / bath in our room and the water was hot so we both had a shower before going to breakfast.

Breakfast was great, you can choose a full English or cereals / toast.
They also have fruit juices and teas/coffee.

The male member of staff at the bar in the morning was friendly and helpful.
We both chose a full English, I asked for some changes to mine when giving our order as I do not eat pork and that was no problem.
Breakfast was great, the food was tasty and hot.

All in all we loved our stay at The Templars and are already planning our next stay here.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Merisha_Hearne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
templars h, Manager at Templars Hotel and Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We really appreciate the positive feedback. This website is from when we had a carvery but our new site is Templars Hotel and Restaurant so it would be great if you could put your review on the new website or our face book page. We have entertainment every weekend so if you look on the new site at the events 2018 you can plan your next visit around the entertainment and join in downstairs too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Nicely run family hotel/local bar. Good, down to earth 'family type' staff, well run by the matriarch. There was a sense of locality and being temporarily part of Baldock life as opposed to the anonymity of chain hotels. We stayed three nights mid week.

I went with my adult daughter. Neither of us eat meat/dairy and they had home cooked vegetarian sausages for breakfast and veggie burgers and pies on the bar menu. Ate in the bar once, great portions and tasty. I don't recall breakfast as being the same quality but was still plentiful and made to order. We skipped on third morning to eat at a vegan restaurant in letchworth - vutie beets.

Nicely run family hotel/local pub. The bedroom was big, with comfortable beds and pillows and nicely furnished. Plus tea tray. Usual bathroom with shower over bath and plenty of hot water and towels.

Nice.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the front but though people were drinking outside it was quiet. Might be different on a weekend night.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bobbieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here on a disco evening, and as we were attending the potential of noise wasn’t an issue.
Our room smelt like clothes which have been left in the washing machine to long...I went to have a shower and found the anti slip bath mat to be disgusting, and slimey with soap residue ....both these issues really tarnished our stay.
The bath was chipped and stained, the shower curtain had pink tinge to it from age and limescale ...and the decor is well past it’s best.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hoover1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

awful service very unprofessional no air conditioning as stated poor customer service rooms are in a awful state bathroom flithy and absolutley no secruityvi literally climbed out my bedroom onto the roof! its a terrible place

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank roxanne2788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

If you are in search of an uninterupted night's sleep, do not occupy room 3. The combination of the corridor fire-door which actually made the beedroom wall, and the bed itself, shake when it slammed shut, and the extremely noisy plumbing sounds from the adjoining rooms, would make this impossible.

Room Tip: Definitely NOT room 3!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisMetaxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews