We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved the place!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bolthole

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
59 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Snettisham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

SnoozeySu...
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved the place!”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic holiday at The Bolthole, it was very cosy and extremely well equipped. We dropped a 'point' on our review because there were a couple of appliance issues, but we informed Sarah the owner of this, and she has assured us that this is now sorted out. She also left us wine, bread and milk and plenty of other essentials besides which after an 8 hour to get there was most welcome! Snettisham itself is beautiful...we truly loved it, Rose and Crown - excellent, the seal excursion that Sarah mentions in the book, also fantastic and well worth ringing up to book. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful. Thank you Sarah for letting us stay, I really hope we get the chance to come again. Sue and Jackie

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location and cosiness of the cottage
Liked least: the technical issues we experienced
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Many thanks for your kind comments. I am so sorry the oven thermostat decided to die during your stay. There is now a new oven. The other appliance in question was the fridge. That was only so cold as the previous guests had turned it off so the housekeeper had set it to maximum to get it back to temperature, only forgotten to tell me! Glad you had a great stay, and hope to welcome you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonlebon1...
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“"fantastic stay"”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in this very cosy cottage for a weeks holiday. ideal place to stay if you bring along your dog. cross the road at the cottage and you can walk your dog round the fields (plenty of rabbits.) Or turn rite cross the main road walk hundred yards threw the sandy car park keep rite threw the woods and fields to the beach takes about 20mins.From there you can walk to hunstanton takes a couple of hours.The village itself is nice and quiet we ate and drank at rose and crown very good it was too.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“relaxing stay in beautifully maintained and tastefully decorated surroundings”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Bolt hole is a lovely cottage in a peaceful village. The cottage contains everything you need as a couple for a short stay. We found it very comfortable and the decor was exactly to our taste. The village of Snettisham is quite and friendly, with the added advantage of two pubs nearby both serving food and allowing dogs! We had a most pleasant stay and will definitely return.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size of bedroom and bathroom
Liked least: No washing machine
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandyKev6...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Had a fab time at the Bolthole..well equipped and dog friendly and the arrival pack was a thoughtful addition.Sarah the owner was very helpful and replied straight away to queries The cottage is an ideal base for many of the sea side villages and towns.
We did some fantastic walks with our little westie along the coast from Heachem to Hunstanton and back ...We took the dog everywhere with us and found in Cromer, Holt and Wells Next to the Sea that alot of the pubs allowed dogs in the bar area which was brilliant.

Well worth a stay :)

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way the property was designed
Liked least: Where the tv was placed...ended up with neck ache
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMCS1963
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quirky, Relaxing & Dog Friendly - Great Cottage”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We decided to book the Bolt Hole for a short, 4 night break for some R&R with our Cocker Spaniel after research, reading reviews and communication with Sarah the owner. We were looking to spend some time walking on the dog friendly beaches and out in the countryside around the North Norfolk coast and wanted a centrally located base that we could all relax in (including the dog) ... the Bolt Hole Didn't disappoint!
The booking process was made very easy by Sarah who was incredibly helpful answering all our many questions very quickly and patiently (we always like to make sure we book the right place!).
We arrived and parked on the road (quiet and safe) right outside the door. It's a very pretty looking little mid-terrace cottage. The front door led straight into a nice size lounge which was very tastefully decorated in a quirky way, the centre-piece being an open fire which we made full use of for a couple of cosy nights in. There's a flat screen tv on the wall with freeview and DVD player + ipod doc and even a record player and records. Plenty of books, games and DVDs and lots of local info. There's also a broadband router providing excellent WIFI coverage throughout the cottage.
The lounge leads through to a small kitchen area with cooker, fridge, microwave and plenty of pots, pans, crockery - everything you could possibly need. The kitchen in turn leads through to a dining area with a small table and chairs and doors opening into an outside courtyard area with patio table and fire-pit/barbecue.
The whole of the downstairs area is perfect for dogs - wooden floors, secure courtyard + box full of dog towels, blankets, bowls etc. Reading the visitor book most guests have brought their dog / dogs but the cottage is so easy to keep clean that you'd never know!
Upstairs is a very large bedroom with very comfortable king-size bed. Also ustairs is a big bathroom with large bath and shower - again, the upstairs was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.
Everything is included (bed linen, towels etc), there's nothing you need to think about bringing - there's even coffee, tea, sugar etc + a starter pack of logs etc if you fancy a blazing fire (you only need it for effect as the central heating keeps the place warm enough).
We had the pleasure of meeting the owner Sarah whilst we were there - a lovely lady who goes out of her way to make sure visitors to the Bolt Hole can relax and enjoy their stay.
Snettisham is a nice village and dog walks from the cottage are diverse - out the door, turn left and immediately left onto the public footpath takes you straight up to the village centre where there's just a few shops but a really nice pub - the Rose & Crown, which again is dog friendly in any of the 3 bars and the garden outside - we had a lovely meal and were made to feel very welcome with our spaniel. Out the door and straight across the road, past the old water mill and your into fields. Out the door, turn right down to the end of the road, across the main road and you're onto a footpath into the beautiful woods (very popular with dog walkers in the morning) that lead down to the beach.
The surrounding area is made for dogs - vast, beautiful dog friendly beaches and countryside everywhere:
Day 1 we parked at Holkham beach and nature reserve and walked the couple of miles along the beach into Wells Next To Sea a lovely little sea-side town with plenty of shops, cafes, pubs etc. The beach is incredible - I didn't know such places existed in England, and completely dog friendly so no need for leads .
Day 2 we went out on a boat trip to see the seal colony and terns at Blakeney Point - yes - dogs are welcome on the boats for free.
Day 3 we parked at Brancaster Beach (another stunning vast beach and again completely dog friendly) and walked in the direction of Titchwell. We were disappointed that the beach was split by a channel that looked too deep to cross midway between Brancaster and Titchwell but walking inland along the side we were amazed to find it opened up slightly and in this small "lagoon" were 2 grey seals that we sat and watched for ages. We then drove to the RSPB at Titchwell to see the Avocets etc where dogs are welcome (on leads of course) on the main pathway through but not in the hides.
So, if you're looking for a place to stay where your dog or dogs will be made really welcome too. If you're looking for rest, relaxation, fresh air and walks on amazing beaches where your dog can run free over miles and miles of clean white sand and through the dunes then think North Norfolk and think the Bolt Hole in Snettisham - you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful, kind comments about The Bolthole, and myself! I'm glad you had a great stay and it's fab, for future guests, that you've given so much information about the area and the dog friendliness you found. As a dog owner myself, I love it that I can take my two just about everywhere with me. I do hope to welcome you and your dog to The Bolthole for another stay at some point. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.