We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic, quirky house in good location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Durham House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
julesj77
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, quirky house in good location.”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Our trip was for two families with 5 children aged from 1 to 7 and we had a great long weekend in this house. The kids just adored running up all the stairs and playing hide and seek. The owner was very helpful beforehand and provided lots of information about places to go, particularly for the children. Beds were comfortable and the house is well equipped. We really enjoyed getting a real fire going. Looking forward to going back for a week in the summer to explore the area some more.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
312alicen
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a lovely family break in a lovely cottage”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

10 of us stayed here (4 couple, one single lady, one 2 month baby). The cottage provide ample space for us. The cottage is lovely and quaint with spacious bedrooms. 2 large bathrooms and a large kitchen, which was very well equipped. There is also a dining room with a large table for family meals. There are two smaller living rooms which are a bit on the small size for parties of 10 but we really liked that one had TV whilst the other didn't, the latter also having a lovely fire place.
Wirksworth village is nice to wander round. Matlock town was a 15min drive away and there are a number of walks from your doorstep.
The owner was lovely and helpful beforehand and during our stay. The property was clean and well equipped (not short of toilet roll etc!)
On arrival we could not find the property at first as it is tucked out the way and arriving in the dark meant we could not see house numbers. That's just something to look out for as we'd definitely recommend this property to others!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SB01
Sonning Common, Berks
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great Location; Big house”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have travelled for over 20 years and stayed as large groups all over the UK. I have to say this was one of the better locations, with a characterful village on the doorstep and many walking attractions, including Dovedale, within about 20 mins drive. The owner was very helpful beforehand and provided lots of information and there is more in the house. She also supplied a welcome tray. Beds were comfortable, the house full of character and in terms of kitchen essentials such as crockery and cutlery the house was exceptional. Since it is intended for large groups its a shame that neither lounge was large enough to hold all of us at once and mornings did involve a queue for the bathroom - an extra loo is probably needed when you have 12 guests. The Black's Head is a good pub and the Red Lion did a huge Sunday lunch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and location
Liked least: At the upper end on price
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nessiewoo...
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday rental”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We all really enjoyed our long weekend - the house is lovely with lots of character and very cosy. All the bedrooms were well furnished and the showers were excellent. The house was spotless and the kitchen and house was well equipped - although we did struggle a little cooking for 12 in oven and ran out of loo roll and bin bags. The garden was well maintained and we made use of the barbeque (although need to ensure supervise children as gate easily opened straight onto road (no pavement) and pond , but this was not a problem as we had a two year old so always supervised).
The owner Tamsin was extremely helpful throughout with prompt replies to email queries before stay and info re local area provided in pack, milk, cake and fresh flowers on arrival and we arranged an early check in with no fuss. One of the group left PJs behind and these were posted on to us (thank you).

Only negative was that the living area is split into 2 small rooms so as a party of 12 we struggled to all sit in the same room when relaxing in evening, but dining room was good size so could all sit at table to eat. Dishwasher was not working well and had to wash some things by hand at end weekend, but due to be replaced/fixed the following week.

Would definitely go back if slightly smaller group so living room more suitable

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyolou
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house, perfect location”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was a perfect house for a 40th birthday party with friends. The house is full of charm and character while still having every modern convenience you could want for a long weekend. It is perfectly positioned in a delightful town, complete with independent cinema and inexpensive but lovely bistot. Tamsin was wonderfully accommodating and I really can't recommend the house enough. Thanks so much!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$377
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing