We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Croft Winster

The Croft, a fully equiped cottage with stunning garden views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Croft, a fully equiped cottage with stunning garden views
Feature bath, wonderfully relaxing.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
71 reviews
The Croft, a fully equiped cottage with stunning garden views
Feature bath, wonderfully relaxing.
Cosy lounge with woodburning fire, 32 inch flat screen tv, Wi -Fi dvd and a great selection of dvds
Large dining kitchen with range cooker, dishwasher and dining table looking onto garden room
Dining area
Kitchen
relaxing garden room
Fabulous walk in shower
Large master bedroom with King size bed.
Large master bedroom with King size bed.
Second bedroom with window seat and 3rd bed
fully enclosed rear garden and swing seat
The garden swing with views over the stunning countryside
Garden view over Peak District National park
Views over the garden
The patio with table and chairs
garden flowers
garden flowers
garden flowers
Alton Towers nearby
Gullivers Kingdom nearby
Chatsworth House nearby
Robin Hoods stride nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Shazna74
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed here for a romantic weekend away. The place was perfect, better than anticipated. It was clean with great facilities. The bathroom alone was worth it...stunning! The cottage was warm and cosy and very welcoming. The views are amazing especially as it had snowed the day before! The local (and locals) were very welcoming and friendly. We will be going back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachpood...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cold and filthy”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We arrived at the cottage two days before Christmas. The heating was broken down and it was freezing. There was a log burner but not a single log. After several difficult conversations with the owners some one came to fix the heating. We then started cleaning. The floors and window sills were covered in layers of filth. The tea towels were smelly, glasses and crockery chipped and dirty. The utility area was piled high with crap of one sort or another. But my personal favourite, the bathroom. Loads of towels, all old & tatty, some with the addition of stains and tears. The best though, the toilet brush, caked in faeces. Several hours of cleaning later the place was habitable. However, a cottage for 5 people with seating in the sitting room for just 3 people is a new approach to holiday lets. The response from owners over concerns was appalling, though when I sent them photos of the flith, I was offered £30 in lieu of the cleaning costs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
We are very sorry that you felt it necessary to post this poor review, which is completely out of line with all of our others. It was unfortunate that the boiler was not on when you arrived, however, it was fixed within half an hour of your call. Our cottage is very warm and you will note that other reviews refer to it being very cosy. We do not provide logs as the heating is more than enough, and the log burner is there as a feature. We also dispute your comments on the cleanliness of The Croft, as our cleaner had undertaken a full clean prior to your arrival. We offered you a discount as a gesture of goodwill, which you accepted. Our crockery is Denby and we check this regularly, as well as the linen and towels, and they are replaced when worn or damaged. I must also point out that the cottage sleeps 5, has lounge seating for 6 and dining seating for 6 as can be seen in the photos. Within the lounge we have a three-seater sofa plus a lounge chair. There are two other lounge chairs in the garden room. One has to bear in mind, The Croft is an old miner’s cottage almost 200 years old and the rooms were built to standards of that time.
Our policy is to treat our guests with respect and ensure that they have a great stay in our cottage and we did our very best for you. As you can see our other reviews demonstrate that we are normally highly successful in this
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lambyUK
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, great location”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My family and I stayed at the croft in October and it was wonderful.

It was tricky getting to the cottage due to the roads that were closed at the time, but once we got parked at the top of the hill everything was plain sailing.

The cottage is a lovely size and contains all the things needed for an entertaining holiday. The bathroom in particular was stunning and the garden has wonderful views.

Location is perfect for visiting Chatsworth House, Heights of Abraham and other places around the peak district. It's only a short drive to Alton Towers too.

We hope to stay again in the future.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character and overall quality
Liked least: No internet
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
53tl
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a really great cosy cottage”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

spent three great days in winster. cottage is perfect as long you don't need phone/internet connection - cosy, well appointed, perfectly placed for walks and pubs.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing