We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Easter break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Barn

Pretty Barn Conversion with Fully Enclosed Stone Paved Courtyard Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pretty Barn Conversion with Fully Enclosed Stone Paved Courtyard Area
Outdoor Sitting Area ideal for BBQs Large Master Double Bedroom on First Floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Pretty Barn Conversion with Fully Enclosed Stone Paved Courtyard Area
Outdoor Sitting Area ideal for BBQs
Large Master Double Bedroom on First Floor
Comfortable Double Bed
This bedroom has plenty of space and plenty of character
En-suite to Double Bedroom has spa bath and shower cubicle
Twin bedroom on ground floor
Single bedroom on ground floor
Ground Floor Shower room with Power Shower
Well equipped kitchen with dishwasher
Washer/Tumble Dryer
Comfortable Seating to relax on
Lounge / Diner
Lounge View onto Courtyard
Off Road Parking for 2 cars
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jonandjul...
Grimsby
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Easter break”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great place to stay for Bakewell, Buxton, Chatsworth and Carsington Water.
Cottage is well equipped, spotless and home from home.
We were a family of five and our son loved the jacuzzi!
Sharon left us a lovely welcome pack including homemade lemon drizzle cake which was delicious!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICJ15
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, great host, perfect location”
Reviewed 24 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Within walking distance of village shop and pub (open part of week). Plenty of walks around village. Good position within the dales for visiting main towns. Property had everything one could wish for - well equipped kitchen, wifi which worked, plenty of room to relax. Mobile reception a little hit and miss, but still able to use somewhere in the cottage. Maybe a sign with the name of the cottage would have helped when first arrived.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet but convenient location, friendly host
Liked least: All good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Thank you for your very kind review - we will see what we can do to improve signage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda O
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for a week at this beautiful, relaxing house. Our kids aged 10, 8 and 5 loved it..very clean and comfortable. It's a lovely part of the world. We visited Heights Of Abraham, Gullivers World Theme Park, Chatsworth House, Bakewell and Buxton. The Old Barn is very near all these places. Sharon provides us with a lovely welcoming pack and homemade lemon cake. Thank you Sharon for a lovely holiday

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky G
Trowbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very pleased we picked this barn to stay in for the week. Situated perfectly between bakewell and matlock. So much to see and do within 15-20 miles radius. Barn itself was very clean and comfortable. Absolutely everything you need was supplied. The upstairs bedroom and ensuite are a complete luxury. Home from home. Loved the homemade cake on arrival too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinja...
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place to stay”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my better half and her parents. It's a lovely place to stay and central to the things we wanted to visit: Dovedale, Ilam, Cromford, Bakewell.

It was spotless, really cosy, comfy & warm. Everything worked as it was supposed to and the owner was lovely. The cake she made us was to die for.

I'm lucky enough to do a lot of travel and have stayed in a lot of places, but this cottage goes towards the top of my list simply because it is so clear that the owner really invests her time and effort into making your stay enjoyable. It's these little things that make the biggest difference.

I couldn't get a phone signal for love nor money (probably a good thing), but the wifi did the job when i needed to quickly connect to the office.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing