We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Barn

Pretty Barn Conversion with Fully Enclosed Stone Paved Courtyard Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pretty Barn Conversion with Fully Enclosed Stone Paved Courtyard Area
Outdoor Sitting Area ideal for BBQs Large Master Double Bedroom on First Floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Pretty Barn Conversion with Fully Enclosed Stone Paved Courtyard Area
Outdoor Sitting Area ideal for BBQs
Large Master Double Bedroom on First Floor
Comfortable Double Bed
This bedroom has plenty of space and plenty of character
En-suite to Double Bedroom has spa bath and shower cubicle
Twin bedroom on ground floor
Single bedroom on ground floor
Ground Floor Shower room with Power Shower
Well equipped kitchen with dishwasher
Washer/Tumble Dryer
Comfortable Seating to relax on
Lounge / Diner
Lounge View onto Courtyard
Off Road Parking for 2 cars
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dolphinja...
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place to stay”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my better half and her parents. It's a lovely place to stay and central to the things we wanted to visit: Dovedale, Ilam, Cromford, Bakewell.

It was spotless, really cosy, comfy & warm. Everything worked as it was supposed to and the owner was lovely. The cake she made us was to die for.

I'm lucky enough to do a lot of travel and have stayed in a lot of places, but this cottage goes towards the top of my list simply because it is so clear that the owner really invests her time and effort into making your stay enjoyable. It's these little things that make the biggest difference.

I couldn't get a phone signal for love nor money (probably a good thing), but the wifi did the job when i needed to quickly connect to the office.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary B
1 review
“Great place - lovely stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Warm welcome from the owner; everything tidy and clean. Even good weather provided. Certainly hope to stay again and would recommend to friends wanting to stay in the Peak District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage itself and location
Liked least: Nothing we disliked
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley B
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway with baby”
Reviewed 30 January 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We had a wonderful few days at The Old Barn. The layout was perfect for an extended family break, with a separate room for our five-month-old baby meaning we could all relax and enjoy our evenings once he was asleep. Sharon was so helpful in the run-up to, and during, our stay, and generously offered for us to check out at any time on our final day, effectively enabling us to have an extra day's holiday! Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Patchy wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
586bernad...
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous Christmas in a fabulous barn!”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My husband, our two children and my sister spent a wonderful Christmas at The Old Barn. Sharon kindly provided us with a beautifully decorated Christmas tree and baked us a most delicious lemon drizzle cake. The Barn is tastefully decorated with all amenities. It is located in a very pretty village not far from the lovely town of Bakewell, whose tarts are delicious, so well worth a visit. We enjoyed some lovely local walks which were perfect to help all the festive food go down. Sharon is a really lovely lady who was very happy to answer all my queries and we had a really lovely stay. We hope very much to return.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeLeics
Leics
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at the old barn in september
This was our second visit here...still fantastic.
From the warm welcome with homemade cake ( ps I want the recipe) to every attention to detail, you could not find a better choice of accommodation. We stayed as a couple for a quiet romantic retreat but equally it would provide a fabulous choice for a family getaway.
Perfectly situated on the outskirts of lovely Winster within walking distance of the local Bowling Green pub and other village amenities.
The location is perfect for walking, cycling or just a relaxing holiday.
You could not ask for nicer or more knowledgeable hosts. Their advice on where to go and what to do made our holiday so special.
We will return again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing