We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday cottage, with great facilities...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cross View

Cross View is the right hand cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cross View is the right hand cottage.
Cross View (right-hand cottage) Cross View showing the green.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Cross View is the right hand cottage.
Cross View (right-hand cottage)
Cross View showing the green.
Cross View lounge-dining room
Everyone loves a log fire, including our dog Georgia.
The double bedroom has just been completely refurbished.
The twin bedroom has also been refurbished (April 2016).
Another view of the twin bedroom.
Cross View garden and patio area
Cross View kitchen-breakfast room (kitchen end)
Cross View kitchen-breakfast room (breakfast room end)
Cross View - view from double bedroom
Litton village green in spring
Our shower with rain head is very popular with guests.
Double bedroom
Cross View is pet-friendly and dogs love the walks. Roly likes the view from the top of this stile.
These woods are within easy walking distance of Cross View.
Our local pub, the Red Lion, is just across the green and dog friendly..
Tideswell Dale, Good Friday  2016.
Cressbrook Dale in summer
Ideal winter walks
Fine frosty weather
Our local dale, Cressbrook Dale, has spectacular views.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Tideswell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Garro80
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday cottage, with great facilities in superb location”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We've just returned from a 2 night break at Cross View and had a fabulous stay. We were a couple (in our 30s) plus our friends and their 2 year old.

The location is excellent for getting around the peaks (we were cycling some of the trails) and Litton is a beautiful little village.

The cottage is surprisingly big, with a charming little garden at the back. The kitchen is really well equipped and there are children's toys, books and games available. It was also brilliant that a travel cot was provided which saved our friends the hassle of bringing their own.

The only reason for a 4 star review is that the upstairs decor is a little tired, however I really must stress that this is just cosmetic and the whole house is superbly clean and tidy, and really didn't bother me. I'm just conscious that some might expect a fully refurbished and modernised let for 5 stars.

As we were cycling we were able to store our bikes in the garden, though it's worth noting that access is via next door's little garden which is quite tight to get through. We had no problem but had to wheelie the bikes through.

We didn't visit the red lion pub across the road, but it was busy when we arrived in Friday evening. I did visit the village shop on Saturday morning - although quite expensive it is run by volunteers and we were keen to support it, but note that it doesn't open until 10am on Saturday morning - if you want to breakfast early then make sure you stock up beforehand!

All in all a brilliant holiday cottage - great value for money, and we'd definitely book again if we were heading up to that part of the peaks again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kezai
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Characterful cottage”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We enjoyed our stay here. Comfortable living space, well equipped kitchen and big bedrooms. We needed the heating on in May and had difficulty getting enough hot water for a shower or bath. Free wifi was much appreciated. the small patio would have been lovely in better weather. The village is small and the local shop is helpful but only takes cash. Good access to local attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of room for three adults and baby
Liked least: Hot water was scarce.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2015
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and it was a shame about the weather. I'm sorry you had problems with the shower. We have had it checked out and it is in full working order. The combi boiler produces hot water as long as the hot tap is turned on,so you never run out of hot water, but it does take longer to fill a bath than conventional boilers and you only need to turn the taps a little way to change the shower temperature.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryrdec
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, relaxing and just simple perfect.”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I would most definitely return to this cottage. The value price for this cottage is really good that included everything there. It's just perfect!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elle K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't speak more highly of it!”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Cross View cottage was the most perfect setting for our girlie getaway celebrating a friends birthday! The village itself is mostly quiet, but attracts walkers and cyclists throughout the day at The Red Lion pub. The cottage fits in with the village beautifully, with a slightly old-fashioned theme running throughout the interior, stunning views of farmlands and fields, and a fabulous open log fire! Personally, I disagree with the comments stating that it needs some TLC as everything is in perfect working order, we had no issues whatsoever during our stay; the beds were extremely comfortable, tablets are provided for the dishwasher, washing powder for the washing machine, iPod docking station, free wifi, TV with freeview in the lounge, TV in twin room, shower was perfectly powerful and a great temperature! Everything we could possibly need during our stay there was wonderful! There was even a shovel and a sledge, which both came in handy as it was snowing!

If you get the chance, take a walk to the next village along called Tideswell. It's only a 20 minute walk along a road with fantastic views of the peak district. There is a co-op, post office, natwest bank and a great pub called The George inn!

Overall, a fantastic stay! Carol, the owner, could not have been more helpful throughout the booking process! Can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cross View cottage was very comfortable but would benefit from some TLC. We loved the location and it was ideal for travelling with 2 dogs. The village and surrounding areas are beautiful. The pub opposite serves wonderful food but is a bit pricey and we went into Tideswell and can recommend George Hotel (Dogs welcome) and the Corner Chippy. A must to visit is Vanilla Kitchen, the staff are wonderful and dogs are welcome. Overall it was a wonderful week in a beautiful part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful location
Liked least: The tired decor and furniture
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2015
I spoke with this reviewer and got detailed feedback. We now send a detailed feedback form to all guests, so that extra TLC can be provided promptly when and where it is needed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing