We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pleasant Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Donington Den

Double Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double Bedroom
Kitchen from Dining Room Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Double Bedroom
Kitchen from Dining Room
Bathroom
Lounge
View from rear garden
Designer Wardrobe
Dining Room
Conservatory
Bathroom
Front of Donington Den
Corner view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Melbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KLPerr
Chelmsford
1 review
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Donnington Den with our two young children aged 1 and 2. The property had everything we needed, was very comfortable, clean and attractive. We planned to use the property as a 'base' and go out every day, with a big trip to Cbeebies Land at Alton Towers (which is 50mins away). We hadn't realised how beautiful Melbourne was and used one of our days walking around the quaint shops and tea rooms, looking at historic buildings and viewing the gorgeous gardens at Melbourne Hall. All within walking distance of the property. There is also a mini supermarket less than 5 minutes walk which came in very handy!
A pleasant stay in a lovely property in beautiful Melbourne. We hope to return again and would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluejoni2...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We had to cancel but the service was Excellent”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Truly appreciated the wonderful way in which our cancelation was handled and that the owners really tried their hardest toensure they could refund us as much as possible and with no fuss at all.

It was so disappointed to cancel our holiday but dealing with owners like this is so nice and we hope to be able to stay in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superbly equipped and very comfortable”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We are local and stayed for 12 nights between moving house and found Donington Den to be excellent. It has everything you might need for cooking, cleaning and relaxing. The owners were friendly and flexible to our needs. If we have friends/family to visit us from further afield, I would definitely recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
350Christ...
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Excellent accommodation in lovely village”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Enjoyed our 3 night stay in Donnington Den. Our stay was to visit the Battlefield Steam railway which we thoroughly enjoyed. Also within reach of the Churnet Valley, Ecclesbourne railway and the Midland Railway so for steam train enthusiasts a must. Also plenty to do in and around Melbourne including Calke Abbey and the Grand Prix Museum. Excellent walking in the area and good eating places and comfortable accommodation to return to at the end of the day.
Hope to return to the area one day and will have no hesitation at staying at Donnington Den again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and peaceful yet walking distance to village
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleneEl...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had such a relaxed amazing weekend”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We used Donington Den as a weekend reunion getaway for girl friends who lives all over the UK. Catryn and Ivan was very kind and forthcoming. The house was spotless and well equipped. The village of Melbourne is quint and clean and has sweet little shops, pubs and restaurants. We chose to stay in most of the time thought as the house was comfortable and cozy.
I would definitely recommend this house for a weekend getaway in the countryside! We wished we could stay longer than a weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;