We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Double Bedroom Patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
54 reviews
Lounge
Double Bedroom
Patio
Bathroom
Cottage
River
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castleton, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane F
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a lovely break at honeysuckle cottage. So homely, and with a xmas tree and twinkling lights to greet us on arrival made us feel very christmassy, also a great location for exploring castleton and the surrounding areas. We took our dog who has been spoilt rotten with the lovely walks he has had, followed by a visit to one of the local pubs, who are only too happy to accept our four legged friends! Sunday lunch at the castle was especially nice. Already planning our return visit for 2014.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wootangca...
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, fabulous location”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We are regular visitors to Castleton and came across the cottage on a walk one day. We were drawn to its location and the fact we could take our dog. We had a fabulous week. The cottage is well equipped, very clean and the owner is extremely helpful. We loved that we could just walk out of the door and be right across the road from Cavedale and in the heart of the village for walking our dog in the morning.
Castleton is beautiful with plenty of amazing walks but areas such as Ladybower and Monsal Trail are easy to get to for more walking opportunities. In addition, villages such as Matlock, Bakewell and Eyam, all lovely, are within reach.
As the property has 2 bedrooms we were able to have my parents come to stay for a couple of days who loved the cottage and its location.
Castleton has a number of great pubs if you wish to dine out but the cottage also has a good kitchen if you wish to have an evening in. All in all superb.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevandjas...
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Had a lovely week at this cottage. The central location in the village made it perfect for our enjoyment. It's very small and may feel a bit crowded if there are 4 adults staying but for only 2 of us and the dog it was fine. Castleton is a great village, including 6 pubs 5 of which will allow dogs with great walks and attractions nearby. We especially enjoyed the George but also tried out most of the others. Peveril Castle just round the corner is worth a visit and also Chatsworth which is about half hour drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Liked least: Very tiny bedroom - but it was manageable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tam M
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small but cosy.”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

went for a romantic weekend away, lovely cosy cottage, small rooms but not too bad, good amenities but no wifi and the freeview wasn't great because of the remote location, not an issue as it was made up by a lovely comfy bed and an excellent jacuzzi. Would definitely use it again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JStone300...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Spotlessly clean cottage, with everything in that you need. Nice touch on arrival milk, biscuits and teabags provided. Excellent location for walks. We took our labradoodle with us, quite alot of the restaurants and tea rooms except dogs, which was great. Only one very small grumble. Although there is a very secure rear garden with the cottage, it did not mention in details there is not a back door to access it. So was a little bit annoying having to get fully dressed early in the morning to let the dog out the front, also very steep steps, which our dog could not climb up or down to get into the garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2013
I'm afraid there is no back that is the nature of the cottage and the entrance to the back garden is up 3 steps and down 3 steps
to the garden where guests can use the patio area. Cavedale is only 2 minutes away where most of our guests seem happy to stroll and exercise their dogs at the same time, we do not make a charge when guests bring a pet. Iam glad you liked Castleton as it is a great location any time of year.
Best Wishes
Maura Ward
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$124
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing