We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Family Venue”
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Relax in the pool relax with a song or two by the piano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Relax in the pool
relax with a song or two by the piano
DINNER TIME FOR ALL YOU HUNGRY GUESTS SET THE TABLE FOR 17 OF YOUR CLOSEST FREINDS AND FAMILY
Plan tomorrow
After a tiring day put your feet up by the fire with a glass of red
Midnight swim
Morning papers and coffee by the pool
feed the ducks
how about that view
Unexpected snow in March certainly kept the Anthony family busy 22-24 march
looking through snow covered tunnel on many walks around us
Another snow tunnel the scenery is breath taking
Stairs to the main areas
Relaxing areas ot the gardens
More planting
Large gardens to walk the dogs or simply relax
Just a small part of the decking
Planting around child safe pond
Large Seating area for all guests upstairs and downstairs
Seats 18 in the open plan kitchen and lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vicky G
1 review
“Fantastic Family Venue”
Reviewed 11 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We have just returned from a fantastic 5 nights at The Gate House to celebrate my mother’s 60th birthday. We were a party of 18 ranging in age from 63 to 8 months old, and can honestly say there was something for everyone.
From booking to arrival and all our questions in between, nothing was too much trouble for Tim, he even rang me to reassure and confirm details.
On arrival, Tim showed us around and made us feel extremely welcome and at ease so that we could feel free to make it our home for the next few days.
The pool and hot tub were definitely the highlights and kept both the kids and adults entertained morning, noon and night!
Lots to see and do locally yet no need to leave if you didn’t want to. Fabulous outside space and gardens with so many nooks and crannies for kids to play hide and seek and plenty of seating areas for an afternoon drink (or 2!) for the adults.
The open plan kitchen/lounge area is perfect for large family groups and a separate downstairs seating area meant people could get quiet time away from the group if needed.
We would highly recommend both the venue and owner and will hopefully be back sometime soon!
Thanks again for a great weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for your kind and great comments.
We really appreciate your review as it really helps other families who have booked the Gate House. It was great to have all of you and a pleasure .
I am glad Mums 60th birthday went to plan and that the kids and all loved the pool.thanks again and hopefully see you all soon

Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony G
1 review
“Great weekend away”
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

I have just come back from a lovely weekend at the Gatehouse. We were a mixed age group of 17 people. Due to the size and layout of the house at no point did the place feel crowded. The communal areas were well equipped and the garden very well maintained.

Having the pool, hot tub and sauna was perfect and all of the facilities worked perfectly.

I only saw the owner Tim when we arrived and when I popped to see him to see if he wanted to join us for a pint. Prior to the booking Tim answered all of my queries very quickly and accurately.

The Gatehouse is situated in a beautiful area with fantastic walking and cycling surrounding it. The house was in very good order and clean. The facilities were superb.

Locally to the house the Holly Bush Inn is an absolute treat and well worth a visit.

If you are after some fantastic food locally make sure you take the short journey to the Black Swan at Idridgehay. The food and service were great so well worth a visit if you can.

As you can see from the above, we all had a wonderful time and thoroughly look forward to returning soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2018
Hi
Thank you for your review and taking the time to do so.It was great to see you again , we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us
once again Thank you.
Hope to see you in the future

kind regards

Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthie61
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My daughters Hen party”
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Just come back from a fantastic weekend away at the Gatehouse celebrating my daughters hen party. I can't recommend this place enough.
Tim greeted us and showed us around the house, giving us some spare vegetables from his amazing garden. Marie was around to say hello - the owners are really friendly.
There were 18 of us and we had a chilled Friday playing games and ordering a Chinese takeaway. The next day we spent a crafty morning sitting outside on the decking and then had pamper sessions and a pool party in the afternoon. In the evening we made cocktails and were provided with a delicious 3 course meal from some outside caterers. Then had some very noisy and hilarious games to finish off the evening.
The venue is perfect for a party and there is everything there you could possibly need. We had a problem with the hot tub but that was totally our fault - not understanding how hot tubs work!! We popped over to ask Tim and he came straight to help us even though Marie looked like she'd just collected a takeaway!
Would love an excuse to return again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2018
Hi

Thankyou for your kind comments we would love to see you again
I hope the wedding goes well, you were all a pleasure to have
thanks
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenR18636...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best friends hen party!”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most amazing weekend at The Gatehouse for my friends hen party! Tim the owner was a great help before & during our stay. I pestered him before hand with various different questions & nothing was ever too much trouble. When we arrived on the Friday our Asda shopping had already been delivered & he had very kindly took it upstairs for us & put some bits in the fridge/freezer! He then provided us with a helium canister to inflate some balloons to save us having to go out again, which was much appreciated & gave us more time to decorate the house ready for the hen to arrive!
The house itself is amazing! It really couldn’t offer anymore! The bedrooms were all lovely - most ensuite. The pool, hot tub, sauna & steam room were great & the open plan kitchen/living room was a great entertainment space! Not to mention the gardens, which were beautiful.
We had a pool party on the Friday night & later moved into the living room area to carry on the party! I’ve read other reviews that commented on problems with music being played late at night, however we certainly never experienced any issues with this. We played music, sang & danced on both nights until around 2-3am - we had the music at an average level to be respectful & kept the doors/windows shut to keep the noise in.
On the Saturday we cooked a big hangover breakfast & then had some ladies from Beauticious come to pamper us with massages, facials, manicures & lashes! Some of the party walked up to the Holly
Bush Inn which is a lovely little quaint pub that serves delicious food!
Later that evening we had a very pleasant visit from some cheeky butlers who served cocktails & got the party started!
The owners do live next to the property but we found them to be very friendly & helpful. When we arrived Tim showed us around the house, we had to nip over at 10pm on the first night to ask a question about the hot tub - which he then came across to sort with absolutely no problem! On the second day he came to clean the pool & hot tub & we saw him a couple of times pottering in the garden - which he had told us he may do - it really wasn’t even the slightest problem for us - he was a good laugh with us - which I can imagine is difficult - with 14 slightly tipsy ladies!!
All in all, we had an amazing weekend in an equally amazing house & cant thank The Gatehouse enough! Would highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2018
Thank you for your kind review i really enjoyed your company and thank you for the respect you and your Friends gave us

Hope to see you all again in the future I really do appreciate your comments
thank you
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dingledan
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent stay, didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 10 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Prior to our stay we had excellent dialogue with Tim the owner who sent us an information pack informing us of things to do in the area and the layout of the Gatehouse so we were able to plan our stay in advance. Tim also called on the day of arrival to confirm that the premises were ready prior to the pre arranged 4pm check in so this was appreciated.

The property is very clean, extremely spacious and provided our party of 12 (aged between 3 and 71) with everything we needed and more. The swimming pool and hot tub were clean, very warm and there were a number of inflatable toys and games.

There is also an equally clean sauna and steam room that our party utilised on numerous occasions. We did have an issue with the hot tub tripping out on one occasion but Tim was on hand to rectify the issue swiftly.

The garden area is quite spectacular. Lots of secret hideaways and an expansive decking area which is accessible via the living room and some of the bedrooms.

The kitchen is fully equipped with a large fridge freezer, dishwasher, double cooker, two sinks and two large dining tables. The layout of the living space on the first floor makes it a great sociable area. The bedrooms (6 in total) were very spacious with most of them being en suite.

We were struck immediately on arrival as the entrance hall is very impressive with a large grand piano (which the more accoustically minded members of our party utilised), a lovely seating area and double staircase.

We adored the local pub 'The Holly Bush' which is a real hidden gem. Very friendly staff, excellent ales and the food (served up until 2.30) was tasty and good value for money.

Tim was on hand whenever we needed assistance and was a great source of information. He advised on the best places to eat and drink and where we could go for countryside walks.

We hired a kareoke machine from a local supplier one of the evenings (one of the few nights we weren't at the Holly Bush!) and had a great time. There are also numerous takeaways within the vicinity of the Gatehouse. However, if you like cooking the kitchen is fully equipped to cater for your needs.

We took our dog (a very excitable young Cockapoo) and he was made most welcome by Tim & Marie.

Upon reading the latest reviews I've noted comments from reviewers mentioning restrictions on noise. We didn't encounter any such issues and we were able to enjoy ourselves freely. On the rare occasions we did see the owners they were always a pleasure to stop and have a chat with.

In summary - we loved the house, it exceeded our expectations, the owners were great and we didn't want to leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2018
Thankyou so much for reviewing The Gate House ,it really puts things into perspective when kind and respectful guests stay with us and enjoy their
Stay.Hope to see you all again in the future
Thankyou
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing