We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fabulous venue”
Two Spacious Lounges
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Two Spacious Lounges
Situated in the heart of a Peak District Village Main Bar Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Two Spacious Lounges
Situated in the heart of a Peak District Village
Main Bar Area
Main Bar Area
Main Bar Area
Dining Room with dining space for 41 Guests
Two Spacious Lounges
Fabulous Games Room
Fabulous Games Room
Brand New Fully Equipped Kitchen
Brand New Fully Equipped Kitchen with Service Area
Dining Room
Entrance Hall
Bedrooms
Bedrooms
Bedrooms
Bedrooms
Bedrooms
Bedrooms
Bathrooms
Bathrooms
Situated in the heart of a Peak District Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
16 Bedrooms, 13 Bathrooms, Sleeps 40
Bamford, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrbunnywu...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“fabulous venue”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I have been arranging holidays for a large number of friends and family for many years and have regularly scoured the internet for suitable venues. I have never previously come across anywhere as good as this.

My party consists of three generations of five families .For us this place works on every level. The bedrooms are well and practically appointed with lots of en suites. The downstairs works wonderfully well as the hub is the bar area which is a real bar. [You have to arrange your own drinks of course but there is an obliging local brewery/drinks company which will fix things up for you] .Off the bar there are two lounges, a huge dining room and a pool room. The whole party can be close to each other while doing different things. There is table football in the bar. There is a well equipped kitchen and a separate area for preparation and two dishwashers etc.

Overall the place has a nice feel. There is plenty of room. Everything works and is accessible. It was nice and warm.

The owner is helpful and accommodating.

It is close to some wonderful scenery.

I would say that this house is unique. Self catering properties which will take this many people are rare and when you add the quality to be found here the house is in a league of its own.

Having found this I think that it is unlikely that will will use anywhere else for this gathering

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel R
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family Celebration Weekend”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just returned from a fantastic fun filled stay at The Derwent with a big family group of 40 to celebrate this year having multiple milestone birthdays and new additions. As a result ages ranged from 3 months right up to 70 with plenty in between and this property was ideal. With a good mix of bed configurations and plenty of ensuites and bathrooms everyone was comfortably accommodated and the decor is bright and modern. We were lucky enough that the weather allowed us to be outside but there are 2 good sized lounges, although behind the bar was a popular spot! The layout of the dining room didn't allow us all to sit at one table as we were led to believe, but in the event it didn't matter. If we had one minor criticism it would be that the kitchen is quite small, especially with several cooks (!) and it would have been good to have the other oven in operation but we managed. It's a well equipped property and we had a weekend that we will all talk about for a long time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisrach...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic house, enjoyed by all!”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a great house! 40 of us stayed at the derwent celebrating my 50th birthday, 3 generations of my family and friends and we all had a fabulous weekend. The house was done up to a very high standard, spacious, comfortable and very well equipped. We enjoyed the pool and table football competition that went on all weekend, the Saturday night BBQ/pub quiz, and the curry takeaway from a great Indian restaurant in hathersage. The house is situated in a pretty village, with great walks from the doorstep and 20 of us hired bikes from nearby derwent water. The weekend was very memorable, everyone is still talking about it 2 weeks later! We hope to go back sometime in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole weekend
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley C
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The perfect venue for a large mixed age party”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

An excellent house: extremely clean, well equipped and roomy. The decor is tasteful and fresh. Lots of different spaces to socialise or relax. The bar area, kitchen and games room were particularly well used by our party whose ages ranged from toddler to those in their 60s. My only criticism is that the website does not fully do justice to the extent and amount of facilities and equipment and as a result we packed things that we found on arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The look and feel of the house.
Liked least: The automatic lighting and fan in the toilet in the room which was on a very long timer and did disturb sleep.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for a large mixed age group birthday weekend”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely venue which lived up to all our expectations. We hired the Derwent for a 40th birthday weekend, with friends and family travelling from all over the UK, so it's location is excellent. The pub itself is immaculate inside and the condition of the facilities and cleanliness of the property was first rate. All of the rooms feel spacious and although we had over 40 people staying it never felt crowded. The garden is neatly kept grass with a paved area for the pub style benches. Worth noting that there is no play equipment for children but the kids had fun using the area for other activities. The bar inside is roomy and the pool table, bar football and dart board saw plenty of use! Catering facilties are more than adequate, although the oven trays didn't fit into the new oven, but we did mention this to the owners so hopefully this will be rectifed.
Its ideally situated for taking advantage of local activities. There is the lido in Hathersage, caverns to explore, a nice selection of short walks including the weir (very pretty) and up to the dam if you want a longer stroll.
Overall everyone really enjoyed the weekend. It worked for singles, adults and families with children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its your pub for the weekend, a great idea.
Liked least: Fencing around garden near car park as children had to be supervised at all times
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our venue. We have plans to add a play area in the garden for children in the near future (plans are on the way!) as The Derwent is perfect for families wanting to get together all under one roof. We are also sorry that the oven shelves did not fit again this has already been rectified after you have pointed this out to us. Great to hear you have had a lovely weekend away with your family and friends and thank you for choosing to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing