We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Christmas Cottage

View of the cottage from the churchyard opposite.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the cottage from the churchyard opposite.
Very comfy double bed with king size duvet.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
View of the cottage from the churchyard opposite.
Very comfy double bed with king size duvet.
The spacious bedroom is peaceful and romantic.
The sitting room on the first floor.
The fireplace in the dining room (currently non-working).
The en-suite bathroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
josG8071B...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Lots of information given by Charlotte. Lovely walk into Ashbourne centre. Pub next door but one - good pub grub. Very quiet. Looks over church. Needed walk to walk off calories from massive chocolate cake VERY scrummy !!!!! Advised we could alter heating to our needs very useful as we had light covering of snow. Nice weekend for myself and hubby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home - bed was better than ours at home
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ODP_007
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cute cottage, close to Ashbourne, comfortable stay.”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We really enjoyed staying here. It is a 10 min walk to a retail park on the edge of Ashbourne with a M&S food store, and then another 10 min walk to the centre of the town. Really liked Ashbourne, nice feel to it. Cottage is two doors down from the village pub, landord is friendly and you can park at the back of the pub. The pub has a vending machine in the carpark which sells essentials such as milk, bread, chocolate etc, brilliant idea!

Cottage was clean and comfortable, plenty of room for two. The kitchen is tiny, but then you don't come on holiday to spend time cooking, and the stairs are twisty with an uneven tread and I think could be lethal after too many pints at the pub! Overall a great base to explore Derbyshire and the peaks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Hello,
Thank you for the review. It means a huge amount to us that our guests really enjoy their holiday so we really appreciate the lovely comments. We get a lot of feedback about the great location - it is so nice being able to walk somewhere rather than having to get in the car to go to a pub/shop/restaurant so I am glad you enjoyed that too. I hope that you will visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliC67
Norfolk, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a lovely, relaxing stay and picked Christmas cottage. It's in a small village within walking distance of Ashbourne.
When we arrived there were fresh flowers and a welcome pack which included tea, coffee, milk, biscuits and a massive chocolate cake. The cottage was clean and tidy and looked exactly as the photos portrayed it.
The ground floor has a dining area and small kitchen. The cupboard near the dining table has a file with a massive amount of very useful tourist information leaflets. On the next floor is the lounge which has a settee, armchair, television & dvd player which are very welcome after a day spent walking around. There's also a toilet & wash-basin on this floor. The top floor is the bedroom which has an en-suite. Bed was very comfortable to sleep on.
Just a few doors away is the excellent local pub. I can recommend its pies which are delicious. At the back the pub is is the very useful vending machine Speedy Shop which we used to get some cereal and some stamps. Further down the road is the post-box for sending those all important post-cards! There's also a bus-stop. We drove or walked everywhere so you'd need to check on the frequency of the buses if you were planning on using those.
Ashbourne is a short walk away and there's a Marks & Spencer Simply Food just as you come into Ashbourne. In Ashbourne itself there's a small Waitrose & Sainsburys plus plenty of other shops to wander round and places to eat.
We also had a great meal at the Rose & Crown in Mayfield which is a 30 minute walk away from the cottage.
Finally, Charlotte, the owner of the cottage is very helpful, friendly and quick to respond to any queries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage - perfect for a romantic weekend!”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My fiance and I stayed in Christmas Cottage over the bank holiday weekend. Our aim for the weekend was to have a relaxing stay, with a change of scenery and to visit a few scenic landmarks. All of the above was achieved!! When we arrived at the cottage, we instantly felt at home. We were greeted by a welcome pack with plenty of recommendations and information on the area; as well as a tray full of essentials and THE MOST AMAZING CAKE WE HAD EVER TASTED. I'm not even joking, I must have eaten two slices a day and we took what was left home! The cottage itself was very cosy and we were a bit surprised about how small the kitchen was, but it was extremely well equipped. We were worried that we would have to bring a lot of kitchen utensils from home, but the cottage had everything we needed. Everything was clean and comfortable - we could tell that it was very well looked after.

Whilst staying at Christmas cottage, we visited Ashbourne which had LOADS of antique shops which were fun to browse in. The welcome back also made some great recommendations of cafes and restaurants that we visited - we didn't have a bad meal. One place I would recommend would be the "Stepping Stones" restaurant which is a 5 minute drive from the cottage, on the way to Ashbourne. We had really sunny weather all weekend which meant we could visit the peaks, which were beautiful. On our way home, we went to Alton Towers which was only a short drive away. Overall, our weekend was lovely and Christmas Cottage was the perfect place to stay.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Charlotte, the lady who owns the cottage, for making the booking process so easy and recommending so many lovely things to do. She very much tailored our stay to our interests - so thank you Charlotte!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome cake!!
Liked least: Maybe a little expensive - but it was a bank holiday weekend.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MR1970260...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautifully romantic cottage”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Lovely cottage in a lovely part of the country
Very steep stairs but cottage is well worth those
Most comfortable bed
Only thing missing is a shower which I believe is being installed
Would definately return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Steep stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing