We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a lovely place very well presented clean and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Orchard Barn (on the left) and Anvil Cottage (right hand side). Zero 7976 
385281
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Orchard Barn (on the left) and Anvil Cottage (right hand side). Zero 7976 
385281
Orchard Barn Ashbourne, 07976 
385
281 Approximate layout of the 2 barns (subject to change). Washer/dryers, dishwashers, fridges & fre
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Orchard Barn (on the left) and Anvil Cottage (right hand side). Zero 7976 
385281
Orchard Barn Ashbourne, 07976 
385
281
Approximate layout of the 2 barns (subject to change). Washer/dryers, dishwashers, fridges & fre
7 seat hot tub, under a gazebo for all weather use, please note that there is a 10:30 curfew
Kitchen & Dining area in Orchard Barn, which can seat upto 10. (with washer/dryer, dishwasher, f
Seating area with new log contemporary log burner in Orchard Barn, basket of logs supplied.
Private decked area for Orchard Barn.
Garden to Orchard barn.
Twin bedroom with Juliet balcony in Orchard Barn
View from upstairs in Orchard Barn.
View from Orchard Barn lounge - secure field for you to walk around / play in.
Double Bed in Orchard Barn.
Orchard downstairs single beds (75 cm wide) that can be zipped together to form a king size double
Relax in the evening sunshine on the lawn.
View from the hot tub.
Driveway to the barns (gated).
Suggested walk, right from the door, via the bluebells on Bank Top road.
Bluebells (May 2013) on Bank top road.
A snowey Thorpe Cloud (March 2013).
Shrovetide 'Hug' - You are welcome to join in, are you an Up'ard or a Down'ard?
Anvil Cottage lounge.
Ashbourne in the snow, winter 2012/13.
View from the property.
Midsummer sunrise
Just because I like it!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amy h
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“a lovely place very well presented clean and everything we wanted from our short break away”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

we stayed here with extended family and 5 children between us we enjoyed ourselves very much and would like to thank the owners for the little extras i.e cake coffee milk ect ect we would definitely considering staying here again

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan D
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, peaceful, highly recommend!!!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A group of ten stayed here. 6 adults and 4 kids (2 under 3 years old)
Firstly the location is very quiet and set in stunning scenery.
The barn & cottage were stunning! Very modern on the inside yet not losing any authenticity of the exterior!
Adam was a very helpful and friendly host. And only a phone call away to answer any of our questions (no matter how silly)
Was a great location for Alton Towers, which was our reason for the trip.
All in all, I would highly recommend this place for any break or holiday!
We will be back and hopefully for more than 3 days!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizzieSCh...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect spot for a Hen Weekend!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A group of us travelling from all over the country needed a spot where we could make lots of noise, cook up a feast and generally have a bit of a party.

We rented both Orchard Barn and Anvil Cottage which was perfect, it meant we had a slightly calmer spot for a bit of peace and quiet and then somewhere where there was still plenty of space to spend time together as a group. The house(s) had everything you could possibly need and more and not only that, everything was a lovely quality.... extreamly comfortable beds and sofas (far too tempting for a nap after a glass or two of prosecco!).

Adam was on hand for any queries and was there to welcome us on arrival where there was not only some local beers and a bottle of wine but the most amazing chocolate cake!

As we were there for a Hen Party we had a couple of activiites organised. We'd planned a night out in Sheffield which was just over an hour away in a taxi. The next day we drove to Chatsworth House, again about an hours drive for Afternoon Tea which was lovely and they really look after the group and make sure you've had a really special experience. The local towns are all great for a spot of shopping and mooching around.

Really recommend this place and would re-book in a heartbeat for another occaison.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space
Liked least: Couple of dirty plates/bins but nothing that couldn't be easily sorted ourselves.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay S
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic, comfortable and spacious accommodation”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We hired both barns for a party of 5 adults & 2 children, on arrival we had a welcome pack with all the essentials as well as real ales and home made chocolate cake, fantastic touches to welcome us to the barns. The beds where comfortable, plenty of good towels and all the kitchen utilities we needed where supplied for our weekly stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
braeside1...
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing, relaxing, inviting so what more does one want!"”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived on Friday afternoon to a wonderful welcome, including all essentials, tea coffee milk etc & a scrummy homemade chocolate cake & locally made biscuits!! The barn wanted for nothing & we immediately felt at home. The local pub was fab, very friendly & after 5 minutes we felt like one of the locals!! Very well priced menu , food basic but lovely! We all slept really well, lovely comfy beds & everything was perfect, Thank you so much for such a lovely stay & we cant wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!!!!
Liked least: Nothing to dislke
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing