We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality food and lack of variety ”

Highland Laddie Inn
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in Wigton
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: we are situated on the beautiful Solway coast, an area of outstanding natural beauty. we try to keep our supplies local when we can. haafnet fishing in the summer brings fresh Solway salmon, sea trout and sea bass. we have a wealth of local wildlife, a vast amount of sea birds. we are also on the roman wall walk. in 2013 we also started bed and breakfast accommodation. so come and try us.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited for Sunday lunch with friends on holiday. The desert was superb but otherwise the quality of the food was poor and well below average. In addition there was no children’s menu and no real alternatives for vegetarians (my friends effectively ended up eating s Sunday roast plate just without meat).

Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at Highland Laddie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately we only serve Sunday roasts at dinner time. Being a small country pub we cannot do main menu and a roast at the same time.when you booked your lunch had you mentioned that you need a vegetarian menu we would of tried to accommodate you.however please accept my apology for not being at a higher standard.
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2018

We eat here regularly when staying at the caravan site the food is always cooked fresh, now they have added to the menu, also do breakfasts and sandwiches, this makes it a must go. I had the liver bacon & onions with a mountain of real chips and veg my other half had the mince and potatoes both plates where full. Its worth the trip out even for small portions or just to visit the small shop next door with home made cakes and pies made on site which are amazing and not overpriced all excellent value, the staff are so friendly and helpfully.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dah15225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at Highland Laddie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thanks for the kind words.we all try our best to please the lovely people who come to our shop or our pub .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

If you want homemade food, service with a genuine smile & an authentic English Pub then look no further.
The food is always served with a mountain of homemade chips & the specials board often features locally caught fish - caught by the owner himself.
I’ve never been turned away from this glorious little pub, they always find you a table no matter how busy they are & you always get a proper Cumbrian welcome.

Thank Jaysee1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Manager at Highland Laddie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thanks for your kind words we always try to help everyone as we are a country pub and often there is no where else to dine. Once again thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

Eat here regularly, always friendly staff and atmosphere. Quality food and freshly caught fish on the menu. Definitely recommend

1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at Highland Laddie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Thanks for your support and custom I hope you have a great Christmas.
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

visited here and received lovely freshly prepared food for a very reasonable price. service was friendly and chatty and we really enjoyed our meal. we have been to glasson a few times and i am sure we will be back again!

Thank 123eml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at Highland Laddie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thanks for the kind words, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, We look forward to seeing you again.
Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highland Laddie Inn also viewed

 

Been to Highland Laddie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing