We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base for a Lakeland experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Steam trains pass the end of the garden!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Steam trains pass the end of the garden!
Swan View Cottage has a newly landscaped patio and garden (+ friendly pheasants) Kids love to wave at the driver and fireman!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Steam trains pass the end of the garden!
Swan View Cottage has a newly landscaped patio and garden (+ friendly pheasants)
Kids love to wave at the driver and fireman!
Cosy lounge with stove and 3 piece suite
New fully equipped kitchen
Bed-1 Lovely big double bed, mountain views
Bed-2 Kids love the bunks (full size), mountain views
New Bathroom suite
New bath and shower (Matey foam included!)
Utility - Fridge/Freezer, Dishwasher, Washer, Microwave
Bed-2 Bunks (Full Size)
Farmhouse table + Kids Corner
All cereals provided! (+ Variety Packs)
Wine, spirits and  beers available (honesty bar)
TV (Freeview and Freesat) in lounge and bedroom
Boot Room for wet clothes and wellies
Swan Hotel is opposite the cottage (kids commando course!)
Swan Hotel has a helicopter landing area - arrive in style!
Newby Bridge Halt is nearby (trains to Haverthwaite and Lakeside)
See the steam engine change over at Lakeside
Cruise from Lakeside to Bowness and Ambleside
'Swan' is the largest boat on Windermere
Hike up to the secret Castle! Finsthwaite Tower is at the top of the hill behind Swan View
View from the Swan Hotel playground looking over to Railway Cottages & Finsthwaite Tower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SELACEY
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect base for a Lakeland experience”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Tony is the perfect host, greeting you on arrival and pointing out all the features of the cottage. The facilities in the cottage are ideal for your stay, everything is provided so you don't want for anything. Tony even provided basic groceries on our arrival, which was wonderful. The location is ideal for exploring the Lake District, in less than 30 minutes you can be at the North end of Windermere and beyond.
The Swan Hotel by the side of the river Leven is less than 5 minutes walk away, and is ideal for a quick snack or a full meal.
The trains passing by the end of the garden every half hour or so during the day, are a bonus not to be missed (don't forget to wave !!).
All in all a beautiful restful place in a perfect location. Thanks again Tony, we'll be back !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendly owner
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
Thank you for your positive review of Swan View Cottage at Newby Bridge. I'm so glad that you found it an excellent base for walking and touring. Looking forward to you returning here soon!
Best Wishes, TonyE
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry B
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“well equipped and well maintained property”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Hired the cottage for a weekend rowing camp on Windermere, very conveniently placed and well equipped. Owner very helpful. We will be hiring again for future visits.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Glad you enjoyed the facilities at Swan View Cottage.
Looking forward to you returning again soon.
Cheers, TonyE
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surinchan...
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had the pleasure of spending a week at Swan View Cottage. Small, but perfectly formed, on the quiet side of Lake Windermere, Swan View Cottage provided us with the perfect base. Tony has anticipated every possible need and kindly did a basic grocery shop for us before our arrival from New Zealand on a Sunday afternoon. Even if he hadn't done this, the Cottage is so well set up when guests arrive we wouldn't have starved. We loved the peace and quiet, the convenience of The Swan, the impossibly gorgeous scenery,and walks on the doorstep, and the friendly neighbours. Like everyone else we enjoyed seeing the train chuffing past and did the short trip from Lakeside to Newby Bridge halt. The weather came to the party and we loved every minute of our stay. There is so much to do in the area, and the only advice we can give to any prospective guests is to double, if not triple the length of your stay. Thanks Tony for an unforgettable week, and also for sending on our forgotten items.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2015
Many thanks for your excellent review of Swan View Cottage and the South Lakes. You certainly made the most of the good weather and covered a lot of ground in your week here. Hope you got back to New Zealand safe & sound.
Do come and see us again next time you return to the UK.
Best Wishes, TonyE
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kodi2010
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Myself, my husband and his parents stayed at the cottage for 2 nights at the beginning of September. The booking was very easy and the owner was very helpful and provided lots of ideas and information about things to do while we were there.

The cottage was a home from home, it had everything you would need and was very clean and comfortable. The steam train line at the bottom of the garden is fantastic and the neighbours were very friendly and welcoming.

The swan hotel and inn is at most a 2 minute walk, with the Newby bridge hotel about 5 min walk. We visited bowness, Ambleside and ulverston, all of which are within very easy reach of the cottage.

I couldn't find any fault with this cottage, I would definitely advise giving it a go and would gladly recommend it to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Many thanks for your kind review, so glad that all the family found that Swan View was well equipped and relaxing. Come back again soon! Cheers, TonyE
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon L
1 review
“I highly recommend a stay at Swan View!”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a fantastic stay at Swan view with our two children aged 13yrs and 5yrs. They are both keen Steam Train fans and so thoroughly enjoyed watching the trains pass the bottom of the garden. I hadn't told them about it before we arrived and so the excitement on their faces when they saw the steam train was lovely.

The Cottage itself was immaculate and I have never seen such a well equipped cottage ever. Tony the owner really has thought about absolutely everything that you might need whilst away. It's in a perfect position for touring the area too. I would recommend the short 5min walk to The Swan hotel for a meal, a lovely picturesque spot by the river and they serve excellent food, they also have a great kids play area too.

Tony is fantastic and a wealth of knowledge on the area, keen for us to make the best of our stay, he greeted us on arrival and when we bumped into him at Newby Bridge station offered to drive us to Haverthwaite Station and gave us a full guided tour of the area on the way, showing us the Lakeland Station, Motor museum and places to eat along with historical interest too. Nothing was too much trouble.

I cannot recommend a stay at Swan View highly enough!!!!! We certainly wouldn't hesitate to visit again it was like a home away from home. Thank you Tony.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Steam Train passing the bottom of the garden.
Liked least: nothing, all good!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely and comprehensive review of your stay at Swan View. I am so glad that you all (especially the children) enjoyed the cottage, location, history and the steam trains (+ the toy trains in the cottage!). Looking forward to seeing you all back soon for another break. Cheers, TonyE
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing