We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$264
FindHotelUS$265
PricelineUS$264
Agoda.comUS$265
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,705)
Filter reviews
1,705 results
Traveller rating
1,108
410
120
38
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,108
410
120
38
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view valet parking afternoon tea country house steamers lake district nothing is too much trouble sandwiches stunning location steam train lovely hotel public areas visited this hotel garden room wine list the main hotel wedding anniversary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,705 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2021

We stayed 4 nights in a Woodland View room, which was spacious, had two comfortable armchairs and a lovely comfortable bed. We had ordered dinner each night, included in the deal, and it was very good. On Wednesday, the dinner was a buffet, but equally good.
The spa is impressive, although there are currently limitations on numbers due to Covid.
The staff were all helpful and friendly, without exception.
The atmosphere was informal and welcoming.
The only downside was the weather. It rained 2 days solid, so we just had to chill out. There are lake cruises and a steam railway on the doorstep, and of course, the Spa.
A perfect destination really for relaxing, so perhaps not for those who like high intensity active holidays, but for us seniors, it was bliss.
We can't wait to go again.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchSwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2021 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location overlooking the lake.
Our room was large, clean and had a lovely seating area in an alcove by the window. Plenty of tea and coffee and bottled water in the room. The ginger shortbread biscuits were very yummy. We also had robes and slippers. Shower was brilliant very powerful and always lots of hot water.
We couldn’t fault the staff, very attentive from the minute you arrived, helping you with the luggage and even parking the car for you. We had a tour of the hotel so we knew where everything was.
The breakfast were superb, you could tell they used good quality produce. Lovely fresh orange juice everything was top notch.
The buffet dinner on the Wednesday evening was again superb. The only criticism I would make is there are no prices on the menu.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WendyD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2021 via mobile

The whole place LOOKS amazing, on a beautiful day it feels as if your in another country!
The truffle fries we had were delicious, the coffee was good, the ambiance relaxing and classy.

The young lady that greeted us and served us was exceptional, professional, and warm (Leama).

This will definitely be on our list has a place to visit.
If your contemplating going, do!!!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TheMarshaLeeShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2021

We stayed at Lakeside Hotel to celebrate my wife’s birthday and our anniversary. We got there in the rain on Friday night and the receptionist came outside to greet us. We didn’t touch the luggage again until it was in our room and the car was parked for us. This excellent service continued throughout our 2 night break in the restaurant, spa and conservatory.
The food was incredible too and attention to detail first class. Yes the decor was dated and mixed in parts of the hotel but the views more than made up for it. The spa treatment was perfect to de-stress and everywhere clean. The woodland view room and patio were ideal for what we wanted, being picky the pillows were a bit soft! Finally, breakfast served until 11.30 and check out at 12 really add to the service! Would definitely stay again….it’s not modern but should a country house hotel be that!!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank neilrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 September 2021 via mobile

We have just got back from an amazing weekend break at Lake Windermere.

We paid £670 for two nights which was over priced in our opinion. We stayed in an Ultimate Lakeview Terrace. The rooms at this hotel are very old fashioned and outdated. It would be easy to claim that COVID-19 has put a stop on upgrades but these rooms are 15 years out of date. The rooms are extremely clean and well maintained to be fair. Our room did have an old musty perfume smell. Not dirty however. The tiny allocation of toiletries for two people was a joke. Yes I’m sure you can ask for more but with our experience of customer service this felt like a lot of bother.

The service at the hotel was absolutely not in any way 4 star. During our stay we needed to call reception 5 times. Once the phone wasn’t answered. Once we needed a room fan which was delivered, once we asked for a bucket of ice which never arrived, once we needed a taxi and the impression was given that this was not going to be likely or possible and on the other occasion we asked if they had a spare iPhone charger which they didn’t. For a 4 start hotel charging £335 a night this is not great service.

The location is absolutely incredible and by far the very best part of this hotel. It’s a shame everything else does not live up to it.

The pool is excellent and another of the hotels best features.

We would definitely return for the location alone, and would take the kids as they would love it, but we would do so with lower expectations of the hotel and just accept that whilst it says 4-Star it’s definitely 3-Star plus at best in reality.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AlecTA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews