We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$290
eDreamsUS$290
FindHotelUS$290
TripadvisorUS$290
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,695)
Filter reviews
1,695 results
Traveller rating
1,100
409
120
38
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,100
409
120
38
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking afternoon tea conservatory overlooking the lake steamers lake district nothing is too much trouble stunning location steam train country house spa area boat trip fish and chips steam room visited this hotel high standard relaxing stay evening meal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,695 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2021

We had high hopes for our first return visit to one of our top 3 hotels in the UK and our first real break since the beginning of "lockdown". In some ways they were realised. The unbeatable location (obviously) hadn't changed. Nor had the excellent bedooms, the spa and, above all, the superb staff. And, from our point of view, the fact they all wore masks when in contact with guests was a big plus point.

Sad to say in two aspects though things were well bellow expectations.

Firstly, all the ground floor public rooms were given over to dining, presumably in the cause of social distancing, meaning there was nowhere to relax other than in your room or by sitting at a dining table.

Secondly, presumably through a shortage of qualified staff in the kitchen, the once excellent choices from Table D'Hote and an A La Carte menus are reduced to a limited choice and unchanging menu (offered on 5 days a week - so a stay of a few days will often mean a repeated selection). This is only varied by its replacement on Tuesday and Friday (?Chef's Days off?) with a "Grazing "Buffet". In other words 3 courses, serve yourself (except soup and meat carving), limited choice affair, in which department a Toby Carvery probably scores higher marks. Though the roast meats were excellent the only gravy to be had was that stolen from the lamb casserole. And the vegetable selection was poor to say the least.

Sorry Lakeside. But good food with a wide choice is one of the main pleasures of an extended hotel stay. What you offer now is OK for a couple of nights, but for a longer stay....?????? Maybe we'll give it one more go in the hope that you get back to your previous high standard.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sigmatrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

It was great, the pool, the spa and the lovely rooms. Though, the dinners are shocking. I ordered a medium rare fillet steak, after an hour of waiting and being told that there was a problem it arrived. The steak had been cooked as well done...

We had to get a new one, and it arrived another half an hour later.

Room tip: Avoid the dinners. The breakfasts are very good though.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Arrki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2021

Just returned from a 5 night stay; four of us including 2 children and our small dog.

We stayed in the end self contained wing of the hotel (called the country house) in room 412 which allows a dog although he was understandably not allowed in the main hotel. The room was excellent and great for the dog with its own entrance and garden nearby.

Overall we had a fantastic time; location is superb and the pool is great. The introduction of a grazing buffet a couple of times a week is a good addition as the main menu is quite limited for more than, say, 2 evenings during your stay. We ate out at a couple of country pubs within a 15 minute drive which were recommended to us by the hotel.

That said I can understand a few of the niggles that other reviewers have raised.

- Service outside of breakfast and dinner can be sluggish, for example for drinks during the day.

- The vast majority of staff were brilliant but a handful seemed less than thrilled to be serving us.

- Room service is very limited

The question is are these niggles sufficient to justify the criticisms from other reviewers? In our opinion, no. We think it’s a great hotel, with the vast majority of staff doing their best to please guests, set in a fabulous location and we’ll be back.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Cymro-in-Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2021 via mobile

We can't praise the hotel and staff enough. We finally stayed 2 nights for our "Just the two of us" wedding after it was rescheduled 4 times due to Covid. The experience was exceptional. The staff were attentive, professional and so friendly. Our lodge was perfect and we were kept up to date with arrangements for the wedding, regularly. There were lots of little extras the staff did for us that were just lovely. It feels wrong to name anyone specifically as everyone was great but I wanted to give a special mention to Isabelle who was a witness at our wedding and took photos for us. What a lovely young lady you are. A credit to the the hotel and yourself.
The hotel are lucky to have you. This setting was perfect and we couldn't have had a more perfect 2 days to become husband and wife. Thank you Lakeside, and all your lovely staff.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JeanieMag75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2021 via mobile

To begin with, the positive:
-Location - amazing- right on the shore of Lets start Lets start with the positives:

- Location - the very best description of this hotel is its magical location! Right on the southern shores of Lake Windermere, where we could sit on the hotel’s lawn enjoying a drink, overlooking the fabulous lake and watching the ferries go by

-Staff - we found most of the staff well trained, professional and very friendly. The service did seem slow at times (25 mins to be served 2 drinks etc) but the pace of the hotel was very relaxing. Duty managers were always visible in each area and were overseeing their staff and the service on offer. Any problems were immediately rectified (like our bedroom had not been serviced for 3 days - even though we had requested frequent servicing upon check in). There was always plenty
of staff on duty so no apparent shortness of staff. The ladies on reception were always helpful.

-SPA - the indoor pool was magic and ideal for both children and adults. The therapists were knowledgable and experienced although their choice of brand product (AVEDA) was not very luxurious. There was minimal pool restriction times for children, in comparison to many other hotels.

Now for the not so goods!

- Bedroom and hotel interior - The hotel’s interior is extremely dated. We booked a junior suite and with its floral wallpaper, curtains and heavy fabricated pelmet - it could easily have resembled a ‘Laura Ashley’ inspired design of the 1970’s. The carpets were heavily stained in areas and needed replacing and there was strong evidence of badly worn ‘wear and tear’ throughout the hotel. It needed a complete overall and re-furbishment - not in certain areas but throughout. Many guests were heard complaining about the state of the hotel therefore we were not alone in our observations. Our bedroom felt very ‘stuffy’ and unfortunately the windows only opened a fraction therefore there was constantly stale air. Air con would be a fabulous asset to the facilities and appreciated by guests.

- Food - we found the food very disappointing and was very poor. Like many other reviews, the dinner menu was repetitive with the same choices for all of the four nights we eat there. It felt like the meat and fish had been pre-cooked, then finished off just before service. Many guests were seen complaining as wanting their steak cooked rare but all were presented in the same format. The choice of meals were very limited - around 4-5 starters and the same for main meal and dessert. The fish was served with cold hollandaise sauce. When asked to warm we were told that this sauce was always served cold since was pre-prepared and would ‘split’ if attempts were made to try and re-heat!!! It seemed that all of the meals had been cooked some hours prior to service. The selection of vegetables was poor and the only enjoyable part of each meal was the ‘triple cooked chips’. The breakfast was the same - nothing seemed to be cooked to order. There is a desperate need here to complete a total overhaul of the one menu on offer and also to employ quality trained Chefs that can cook meals to order.

Would we stay there again? Probably not unless the hotel receives a massive re-furb investment and started serving quality meals.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Meryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews