We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“With a few tweaks - it would be perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Lodges by the rafting pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodges by the rafting pool
BarnGarth Lodge Lodges in Autumn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Lodges by the rafting pool
BarnGarth Lodge
Lodges in Autumn
Rafting
Field End Lodge
WoodBank Lodge
Living Room and Kitchen
Living room
Double Room
Twin Room
Rafting pool
Sunset on the Veranda
One of many fabulous clear swimming pools
View from Woodbank Veranda
Rafting on the pond
Wastwater
Lodges toasty and warm in winter.
Play Area
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tinkerbel...
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“With a few tweaks - it would be perfect”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We usually stay in Keswick on our yearly trip to the Lakes, but our usual place was booked, so we thought we'd try somewhere new. We chose Fisherground Lodges as it was dog friendly, had a rafting pond for the kids and was close to the Ratty railway and local pubs.

Overall the lodge was great - but there were a few things we were getting irritated with by the time we left.
Kitchen: lack of non stick pans (there was only one, and that was in a terrible state) so scrambled egg in the morning wasn't an option! No spatter guard - the kitchen is totally open plan and has a small lino floor that was like an ice (read grease) rink by the time you'd finished your sausage and bacon. I wasn't expecting the have to clean the kitchen floor whilst on holiday! General layout isn't great - could do with a breakfast bar/extra work surface between the dining table and kitchen (you'll understand if you go).
Beds: mattresses were very hard and jolly uncomfortable.
WIFI: virtually non existent. My husband and I run a small company and we have to be able to log on to make payments etc. We found ourselves huddled in the strangest places to get 1 bar!
No recycling facilities - when you come from Surrey, it comes as a bit of a shock that there are no different coloured buckets for paper, plastics, glass etc. We had to create our own and take it up to the banks by the village shop (a good 20 minute walk, up a hill - not great with kids). Something the owners really should get onto the local council about, although I appreciate it's not that easy.

BUT aside all that, we had the best week. The lodges are well located for good walking. My husband disappeared up the side of a big hill with the dog one morning! The rafting pond was my elder boy's favourite thing - he was even out there in the rain. It was very clean and we only lost electric once because we'd forgotten about the meter. The kids "play area" really is for tiny tots (my boys are 6 and 7). We didn't use the pool table/table tennis in the barn. The ratty stop is just through the campsite next door.
It would have been nice to have had some kind of acknowledgement from the site owners in person but I understand they themselves were on holiday that week (their friend was sorting the rubbish out on check out).

Must visits - go on the ratty to Boot and visit the Eskdale Mill. There's a great pub next door - we went twice! Local pub George IV also good - does a great lasagne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location and rafting pond
Liked least: The kitchen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2015
Hi,

Thanks for your feedback, much appreciated and nice to hear you had a good time in Eskdale.

It’s unfortunate that you didn’t contact us while you were here, although we were on holiday at the time we always have someone available to sort out any issues.
Mattresses are a very personal thing some people like them firm and some like them softer, we have had had many positive comments on the beds, however following your review we have now fitted mattress toppers to the firmer double beds in Woodbank and BarnGarth.
Non stick pans often get damaged, we have a stock and have now replaced the Frying pan in Woodbank, we will also give splatter guards a try.
The Wifi is distributed from a single point on site, we have WiFi extenders in different lodges to improve the range, its possible one of the extenders had been switched off during your stay, if you had given us a call we may have been able to resolve the issue.
The recycling point is only a couple of minutes away in the car and we are happy to deal with any that is left after your stay.

Thanks again for the feedback.

Kind Regards

Pete & Kathryn
Fisherground lodges
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin b
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Site”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great time at the Fisherground Site. Stopped for 4 nights in a 6 man tent. Nothing was an issue, staff were great, toilets clean etc. Thought the tent spacing was good and my 7 yr old boy loved it. The waterfalls are well worth the walk as is the climb to top of the hill over the railway. We also travelled to the zoo (under 1 hr) and Windermere (75 mins) once for horse riding and once to hire a boat. There is so much to do. We will definitely book again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltdog89
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning accommodation in a stunning area”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My partner and I are just returning from the Crag View lodge in Fisherground. What can I say other than perfect. The lodge is very modern and well kept, as if it we were the first people to stay in there. The lodge is very warm when needed and the log burner just adds that cosy feeling. We only had a party of 2 but are already looking to come back with family as more than spacious enough for 6 with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The huge kitchen with table for 6 looking out onto one side of the Eskdale valley is amazing. You are surrounded by beautiful views wherever you look and plenty of fantastic walks from your doorstep all around you. Adding to the quality of the lodge is the surrounding area. The beautiful walks leading to Boot, a local village with some lovely pubs and the train that runs from Boot to Ravenglass. With the Coast a short car journey as well, I would recommend anyone to come and visit this beautiful area and stay in one of these beautiful lodges. The long walk we did went through Mitedale Forest and along the to if the Wasdale Valley, along Wast Water. The walk took all day, but was more than worth the effort. Many thanks to Pete and Kathryn. We will be back as soon as we can.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillLiver...
Liverpool UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Arrived home yesterday from a five night stay in Woodbank Lodge, it was so beautiful. Hubby and I didn't want to come home. We took the dog and had some of the most beautiful scenic hikes then back to a lodge which was so cosy and had everything you need. Lighting the log fire and sitting in the evening listening to the fire crackle and pop was just so wonderful. Woodbank is right next to a stream so you can hear it of a night all adds to the lovely tranquil experience. Didn't meet owner through our own choice but he answered his message for more logs promptly when I rang. We will be booking the lodge again as it was just perfect.
Spotlessly clean and the beds were sooooo comfy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kvwebb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely setting and views. Really good stay.”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The lodge is lovely and well worth the money. Nice pub just down the road and local people so friendly

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing