We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The charming Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs...”
other travellers have booked this property
Broughton Bank Cottage in its own woodland garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Broughton Bank Cottage in its own woodland garden
View from the garden at Broughton Bank Cottage Living room and fire at Broughton Bank Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Broughton Bank Cottage in its own woodland garden
View from the garden at Broughton Bank Cottage
Living room and fire at Broughton Bank Cottage
Broughton Bank Cottage
Dresser in Living room at Broughton bank Cottage
Kitchen are at Broughton Bank Cottage
Single bedroom at Broughton Bank Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kuencho
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The charming Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs cottage in Cumbria”
Reviewed 5 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We spent the Easter weekend in this really charming cottage. It was perfect for our family of four (2 adults and two teenagers). The cottage is ideally located in the forest (very quiet), near Cartmel (where we had all our dinners in some fantastic restaurants), near the Lake District where we did very long and beautiful walks. We had initially searched for an accommodation in Ambleside or Windermere but then realised how lucky we were to have chosen to go to another place (much less crowded...). The cottage is really well equipped, the beds are very comfy, and we were delighted to use the wood burner after our long days outside. I strongly recommend this place and the owners are lovely hosts too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2018
Thanks so much, we're so glad you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cassie w
1 review
“Peaceful honeymoon hideaway”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed 4 nights for our honeymoon and Broughton Bank Cottage exceeded expextations! The interior was warm, cosy and full of character. Lovely comfortable bed! The setting was beautiful, secluded and peaceful. The location is great for exploring the Lake District. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Thanks so much, Cassie. It's really kind of you, we're pleased you enjoyed the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler186...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very disappointing cottage, not just because of the expensive cost”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage may have an English Tourism award but it is for ecology, not for luxury or high standards. We left a list of suggested improvements . The welcome pack of a very small carton of milk said it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing
Liked least: Sad atmosphere
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2017
I don't know who this guest was and I can't remember anyone indicating they were unhappy when they stayed during that time. I always welcome guests and check everything is alright for them. The cottage is in a lovely location, we keep it very clean and the sofas are newly bought and comfortable. All the mattresses are from Hypnos, which has a Royal Warrant and sustainable business practices. The interior features rich wood finsihes of walnut floors and pine that came from ouir own land. We have rugs not carpets so we can assure ourselves of its cleanliness, maybe that didn't suit this guest. As for the small bottle of milk, this is a *self* catering cottage. We tell guests in our confirmation letter: "You will find a little fresh milk, tea bags and coffee etc. for refreshment on arrival. Wood is provided in case you feel like using the woodburning stove". I'm just sorry these people were disappointed and didn't give me a chance to sort things out. Welcoming hospitality is the core of our business.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn C
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not for the disabled”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Great place to stay but did make my satnav go mad.only bad thing was having no lights up the very steep drive.I only drove up in the dark once and hit a large rock on the left near the bend and caused £500 worth of damage to my new car.solar lights on the side of the drive would be great for other drivers.apart from that it was nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: going home
Liked least: the drive up to the cottage
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2016
Glad you enjoyed the place Lynn, thanks for that. The headline 'Not for the Disabled' seems a little odd as you haven't explained what you mean by that: we do not recommend Broughton Bank Cottage for people with disability at all as the cottage is on three floors, and you can see that in all our listings. Woodland Cottage, our other cottage 400 yards away, is all on one floor and much more suitable. Surprised about the rock though: I'm really sorry about the damage to your car. In the visitors' book you wrote "the only bad thing was the big rock near the top left next to the bent tree which I hit on Saturday night coming back from a night out". Surely you must have seen the rock in your car headlights, especially as it is directly behind the 'bent tree' trunk (as it stands when you are returning to the cottage)? The rock is to one side of a drive which is at least 2.6 metres wide. One of the points of being deep in the countryside, and especially staying at one of our cottages is that they are off the beaten track, which by its nature is not lit up everywhere as in town, though there are PIR lights on the outside of both the cottages to see you indoors when you have parked your car. By the way, there’s even a rechargeable torch inside each cottage for guests' use and always ready in case of power failure.
Many thanks for your comments,
John Hibbert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookiehan...
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely wooded cottage.”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Lovely little cottage in a perfect situation a mile from Cartmel village. The sky lights with clear skies really made the stay; star gazing at night and bird watching during the day whilst lying in bed. The only small issue is the temperamental wood burner. The owners live next door and were very welcoming and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
We take these issues seriously, have taken advice and altered the instructions for the woodburner letter slightly. Because the cottage is fairly draught-free the fire needs ventilation and, most importantly, the external flue must be warmed before use by burning a piece of newspaper before setting the fire. More detailed instructions have now been added to the welcome letter, although many people have used the woodburner without problem in the past. Thank you cookiehank for your kind compliments otherwise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing