We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just lovely”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Scafell Cottage

Scafell Cottage Pink Granite exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Scafell Cottage Pink Granite exterior
View of the fells from the kitchen Upstairs double bedroom with ensuite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Scafell Cottage Pink Granite exterior
View of the fells from the kitchen
Upstairs double bedroom with ensuite
Upstairs twin bedroom
Swim in the crystal clear waters of the River Esk!
Nearby Wastwater, England's deepest lake
Breakfast in our glorious gardens beneath the fells
Boot village beneath Scafell
Wastwater, England's deepest lake, a pleasant walk away!
Greg out hiking in the Upper Esk
Eskdale bluebell woods
Lingcove Bridge in the Upper Esk
Eskdale and Ravenglass Narrow Gauge Steam Railway - 5 minutes' walk from the cottages!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Boot, Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joobes300...
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just lovely ”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The photos of the cottage don't do it justice. It's spacious and homely, plenty of room for our party of 9, and in a lovely rural location.

The cottage has modern new heating and gets lovely and cosy.

Some in our party were very pleased to find they had sky sports!

There's a lovely garden with seating right by the stream.

We only saw the care taker briefly, but we arrived a couple of hours early and he showed us in to the already warm and clean cottage.

If you have a big car be warned the drive way/parking is tight (as are many of the roads in the Lake District).

The only points for improvement id give are the double bed downstairs was much harder than we like, and the water was not very hot in the bath/showers.

We'd definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice being right in the country with a beck running near to the cottages.
Liked least: Noithing really.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lee E
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay owner very helpful”
Reviewed 5 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed in this cottage with 10 other friends,very clean,some nice little touches with tea on arrival.
Owner very accommodating with our requirements.
Situated in perfect location for fells, even walking from the front door.
Also nice local Inn 's close by.
Would recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
af_robb
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well equipped cottage but not suitable for small children”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Just returned from a week in Scafell cottage, 5 adults and a 20 month old. Firstly, the cottage was lovely, well equipped and cosy, the horlicks and hot chocolate sachets were a lovely bonus. Everything was spotless. The downstairs area was slightly different than expected from the pictures but there was plenty of space. There is a double room on the ground floor which suited the elderly couple as they could not manage the stairs. Up one set of stairs is a triple room and a twin room. Take note, the twin room is open to the main living space so not great for young kids due to noise.
Up the 2nd set of stairs is another double room on one side and a bathroom and small landing with cot up a seperate set of stairs on the other side. This is where we had some issues in the house. The cot was situated on the small landing outside the toilet which made access quite tricky, it is also open plan with the double room so this for us was a slight issue as it meant creeping around in the dark at bed time, all the steps made it difficult when carrying the child in the middle fo the night to change nappies, etc. The biggest problem was the cot, for a cottage of this standard I would have expected a quality product, however the screws were falling out and at one point the end fell off in the night with our child moving around. Owners should replace ASAP as this is not safe even after we tightened everything up.
We found the high chair provided too reclined and the stair gates were not particularly effective. The toys were a nice touch though.
The outdoor space was lovely but again not suitable for a small child as it was open to the river and quite a high drop in some places. a gated fence or wall would resolve this. Parking was a little confusing but once everyone in the cottages worked it out it was fine.
Overall this is a beautiful property in a beautiful area but could do with a few alterations to make it family friendly.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2015
Thank you for your very helpful comments. We are sorry we had not noticed the cot screws had worked themselves loose. The cot and high chair have been replaced and we could not find any problem with the stair gates.

Scafell Cottage is over 400 years old and a Grade 2 Listed building of historic importance. The beams are part of the listing and cannot be altered, they are an integral part of this historic building so we have had to put in two sets of stairs.

The stairs and galleried bedroom do of course conform to building regulations. The galleried bedroom is a popular feature of the cottage, it has a regulation balustrade and full length heavy curtain for privacy.

Our paddock is large and walled on all sides apart from the stream which has our picnic spot besides it. In our advertising literature we mention that the stream runs through our grounds and that we have a picnic spot beside it, so that parents with young children know this in advance of their visit and can then take due care and attention of their little ones. The Lake District National Park authority specifically requested there be no formal gardens or fencing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
51Kelly
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great location, great cottage”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was well equipped , it had everything we needed including a b-b-q and fuel. There is a free to use laundry area including laundry tablets. It was spotlessly clean and it was a good size for our family of 7. The scenery was amazing, Scafell in your garden. There is a beck that runs at the back of the cottage that the children loved to paddle in.
Despite the weather, a lovely time had by all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage situation and local pubs in walking distance
Liked least: the weather !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing