We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YHA Borrowdale
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$237
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$274
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
158
73
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
73
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomdrying roomyouth hostelself catering kitchenbunk bedscamping podstop bunkcommon roomscafell piketable footballhostel groundsreal firelake districtbeautiful locationnight's sleepboard gamesreal ale
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and well resources. Meals we had were fine and well cooked.
Wifi a bit weak in reception but I think that is a problem in the rural areas.
Bed was a bit creeky but reception said an alan key could fix it.
More than happy to recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank Oldndangerous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys M, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review, we are pleased that you had a lovely stay with us. All of your feedback is very encouraging to hear, the wifi does cause us some issues but I think we make up for it with wonderful staff, food, beverage and our stunning location. Thank you very much for the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My two boys (aged 12 and 14) and I spent two nights in a private room in the hostel during the Easter holidays. The boys absolutely loved it! The setting by the river and the games room meant there was lots for them to do, even when we weren't out and about (we went to Go Ape at Whinlatter and the Keswick climbing wall). The hostel is very well kept, but the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. All in all a very enoyable stay and we shall certainly come back.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank Peterg120xs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys M, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review, it sounds like you had a splendid holiday, we have such lovely grounds for children to run around in, we couldn't ask for a better setting really. The Go Ape and Kong centres are both really popular activity places, I am pleased you and the boys made the most of them. We hope that you come and stay with us again, or discover some of the other wonderful hostels across the Lakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here to start a hostel-to-hostel tour of the Lakes and were pleasantly surprised by the facilities at this hostel. It was great value and we enjoyed our stay - we had tea, breakfast and a packed lunch from the hostel and sat in the cosy bar area in the evening. The only thing that could have been improved was our room location as we were in room 12 right next to the toilets and could hear flushing fairly frequently.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank joeldriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys M, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for a lovely review, it is much appreciated, I am pleased you were pleasantly surprised by the hostel and I hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable. We try to cater for everyone's needs so we can provide most things especially when it comes to food. Unfortunately one of our rooms does need to be next to the toilets (feel free to request to not be in that room next time), we hope you still managed to get a good night's sleep though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

This is great YHA, the staff are helpful and accommodating. There is a great dying room, pretty essential in the Lake District. The facilities are nice and clean. We were in room 12 - which gets some noise from the fans in the adjacent toilets but not major problem.

Room Tip: Perhaps not 12 - Fan noise from toilets
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Oakwardenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys M, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Many thanks for your glowing review, your feedback is certainly appreciated. I am pleased that you made use of our many facilities and our staff were very helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

This is another great YHA. You won't ever beat the price, and the staff are very pleasant and accommodating. Lovely bar/communal area. Toilets and showers always spotlessly clean. Only drawbacks were the pods need bigger heaters - like the ones at Hawkshead - they were ok but not as effective when it's snowing outside and way below zero. Also, the one evening meal I had wasn't that brilliant. Nice menu, but decidedly average cooking. Vegetables were like mush. The breakfasts were good though, the drying room extremely useful and all in all another fab YHA experience.

Room Tip: Get a pod in winter - super quiet and showers all to yourself!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseyjones1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhys M, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Many thanks for your review, it is much appreciated. Staff and cleanliness are two big areas for us and it seems that we ticked them both for you. Thank you for your feedback on the food, the menu has just changed and we are just getting to grips with it, so hopefully next time we can get your vegetables to you more al dente next time. The heaters in the pods are generally fine even on pretty chilly nights, we have had some particularly cold nights recently so I apologise that they didn't seem to do the job for you, it is certainly something we can discuss and look into so thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews