We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$190
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Derwentwater Independent Hostel(Borrowdale)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$61
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$225
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Borrowdale(Borrowdale)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Oak Hotel(Rosthwaite)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,357)
Filter reviews
2,359 results
Traveller rating
1,332
607
230
101
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,332
607
230
101
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslodore fallsa lake view roomon arrivalbuilding workfell viewtower suitecourse menulovely hotelafternoon teasconeslake districtspa facilitiesfirst classlounge barhigh standardevening mealmain course
Filter
Updating list...
722 - 727 of 2,359 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

We have just spent a great weekend here and left feeling reenergised. The location is superb, staff excellent, food sublime and on the whole the hotel despite its reputation is not overly pretentious so well suited to a number of tastes.

For our weekend we did a mix of hiking with a good dollop of pampering whilst over indulging in the hotel restaurant and bar - in all of these areas we were not at all disappointed.

Our only let down was that despite leaving early we did not arrive until late Friday due to horrendous traffic on our journey up - if only I could review the m4/m5/m6 corridor, not even one star would be given.

Back to the hotel, would recommend this to hikers looking for luxury, luxury lovers looking to hike and just about anyone else in between.

Highly recommended.



Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Darkartist703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

I've always dreamt about staying at this iconic hotel on the boarder of the lake, so I was amazed to be offered a one night "manager special" including dinner... a very good deal! We ended up with a really good large room, with a beautiful view out to the woods and a delicious dinner. Such an inspiring location: we had an amazing walk on the fells the following day. The only drawback is that its a big hotel and you don't feel 'individual', particularly if you have tea in the afternoon.

Room Tip: we had mountain view, but on upper level. Lovely view of the woods.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel. It's location is stunning. My pictures are from the hotel and a short walk from it. The staff cannot do enough. The facilities are excellent. Small pool but it's adequate. You can book outdoor jacuzzi times (20 mins).
The food is exceptional. I will definately be revisiting the Ladore Falls again.
Oh dog friendly too

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Toldyouso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016

My husband and I chose to go for a short break at this hotel arriving on Good Friday to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. Forty years ago we went to the same hotel for our honeymoon.
We arrived too early for check-in so decided to go for a boat trip on the lake until our room was ready. We couldn't believe it when we were told that the boats weren't running because there wasn't enough water in the lake (after all the floods!). However it didn't deter us. We walked over the road to the jetty where there was a sign saying the boat was unavailable from a couple of places but we realised that we'd be able to jump on the bus ( from just outside the hotel) and go into Keswick and board a boat there. We went right round the lake which takes about 50 minutes. The 'round the lake' trip on the boat costs £10.50 each. I think the bus into Keswick costs about £2.30 from the hotel. Of course if you are able, you can walk into Keswick along the lakeside.
We returned to the hotel which is in a gorgeous location and had lovely scones, fresh cream and jam plus a drink.
We had paid extra for a 'Lake-View' room but when we 'checked-in' we were 'over the moon' to be told that we had been upgraded to the Tower Suite. That really was the 'icing on the cake' for us and made our Anniversary even more special. I must state that the hotel did not know that it was our Anniversary. The room has beautiful views.
We had the three course evening meal. My husband is quite a 'fussy' eater but he found something for all three course that he liked. I chose steak which had a £5 supplement but was worth it. We had a carafe of red wine which we thought wasn't any more expensive than other hotels we have stayed in.
Breakfast in the hotel was good too. Good choices, both hot and cold and fresh juice (which is especially important to me as I don't drink tea or coffee). The cooked breakfast is freshly cooked to order and 'The Cumbrian Breakfast' has every breakfast item you can think of to set you up for the day ahead.
I also used the swimming pool whilst we were there. Went for a quick swim before breakfast and the pool was quiet then and also a nice temperature.
We found all the staff to be pleasant and helpful. We asked our waiter if he would take a photo of us and he was happy to oblige.
Would like to return to this hotel and won't leave it another 40 years!

Stayed: March 2016
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016

We chose to have our wedding at the Lodore Falls Hotel as it is our favourite hotel. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the food is amazing and the views are spectacular.
We cannot praise every single member of staff highly enough, from the waiting staff, the housekeeping staff to the amazing ladies that helped make our wedding the most perfect day ever.
Firstly we would like to say a huge thank you to Daryl for helping us to organise our special day. Nothing was too much trouble and her and Lynsey made sure every idea we had for our wedding turned into reality. Daryl even organised a photobooth for us at the last minute when we were let down by the company we had booked.
Our second special thank you is to Jeanette. She was so friendly and made sure our day ran perfectly even though it was pouring with rain and we couldn't take our guests on the lake cruise we had planned for them.
Last but definately not least we want t to say a huge thank you to Orsi. She looked after us and our guests so amazingly, making us feel so special. All day and night long she was there to help us with anything we needed and again, nothing was too much trouble. We were so lucky to have such wonderful ladies looking after us on our wedding day.
We had the most magical, incredible day and a wonderful 4 night stay at the hotel and will definately be back very soon. We will also be booking our 1st anniversary at the Lodore Falls. Thank you for everything. From Lex and Martin Reed xx

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LReed2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews