We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Broadmea Barn

Lower Gallery seating area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lower Gallery seating area.
Large well equipped kitchen. Comfortable dining for large groups
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Lower Gallery seating area.
Large well equipped kitchen.
Comfortable dining for large groups
Lovely oak table extends to seat 12 - 16
Upper gallery sitting area
Comfy rattan garden furniture for relaxed dining outside
Quality white towels and linens provided
Ensuite family bedroom 1
Double bedroom 2
Twin bedroom 3
Ensuite family bedroom 4
Double bedroom 5
Relax and unwind in the sauna
Soak in the luxurious double ended bath
Come together outdoors - Barn and Stable garden area
Scenic walks right from the door
Summertime at Broadmea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Alston, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Thanks very much for your comments. I'm pleased you liked the accommodation and found the guestbook information useful with its many local maps and comments to guide guests along beautiful country walks right from the door. It would be a pleasure to see you all again. .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LTID74
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Barn Stay, 60th Birthday Celebrations.”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed here for three nights over the weekend of 7th October with 10 others. What a beautiful barn conversion this is and it has everything you'll need for a perfect stay. I would suggest trying to arrange for a later checkout as 10.00 creates a rush on the day of departure, however the lady that owns it is more than flexible and will accommodate if possible. Tesco shop had arrived a little earlier than ordered and the owner and tesco driver were kind enough to put the fridge and freezer stuff away for us. The pub just over a mile away served lovely food if you want to eat out. Would stay here again without hesitation, the owner is very friendly and happy to help.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Many thanks for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you and your family at Broadmea and I'm happy to have helped in making your stay a pleasant one. Do hope you can return sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindseyol...
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing beautiful fabulous place”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I cant say enough about this place, stayed here at the weekend with a group on ten ladies on a surprise 40th birthday. The barn itself is 5 star plus its equipped with every single thing you could possibly need (we made a three course meal for 10) and everything was there to do this. The place is amazing all the girls were blown away by how beautiful it is. Gorgeous little garden to sit in, amazing bedrooms with lovely bathrooms, lots of little snugs to sit in and enjoy a glass of wine. On the night of our party we had a disco with very loud music and disco lights we just kept the windows closed to keep the noise in and we had no problems at all. Trish who is the owner is a lovely American lady who is so friendly and so non intrusive she welcomed us when we arrived and we didn't see her until we checked out on the Monday although she is on site if you did need anything, Anyone looking to hold a large group weekend look no further you will not be disappointed it truly is a beautiful place xx

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: every single thing
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Thank you very much, this is a glowing review. Your comments are lovely and I'm so pleased you all enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure having you and I do hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake_MD
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic property and super location”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed in the Barn with our large extended family and 2yr old. It is a beautiful barn conversion done to a 5* standard. It is extremely well kitted out, especially the kitchen and our stay was very comfortable. The split levels with upper maisonette and then upper lounge actually worked really well (even with a toddler on the stairs -stair gates provided if needed) meaning that those who wanted their own space at times could sneak away for a quiet moment but still feel part of the group due to the open plan layout. The lounge was huge with comfy sofas and armchairs. Lovely outdoor seating area with BBQ and big hallway fir all the coays and boots. Grandad enjoyed fishing on the privately owned stretcg of the river. Daddy went out on his bike lots (storage for bikes was arranged at the priperty) as many great cycle paths and walks right from the door which the dogs enjoyed. Lovely local pub with great food (kirkstyle inn). Hope to go back in the future and perhaps also hire the stables adjoining the barn as this has lower level lounge and disabled access suitable for great grandparents!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Thanks for leaving such an excellent review of Broadmea Barn. Future guests will benefit from your description and lovely comments of not only the accommodation but also the many outdoor activities to enjoy as well.
Wonderful to hear that you would like to return and rent The Stable as well. It would be a pleasure to have you stay again. If I can help with dates do let me know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fisherrrr
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic accommodation.”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Hired both the barn and stable with 15 friends to celebrate a couple of birthdays this weekend. Upon arrival the owner was extremely helpful and welcoming. Both buildings are to an exceptional standard, we were blown away by the stunning condition and attention to detail. Very spacious, comfortable beds, brilliant kitchen and dining area, very nice bathrooms, plenty bedding and towels! Also quality living areas for chilling and having food and drinks. Unfortunately the weather was freezing so we couldn't take advantage of the outdoor seating area and bbq. The kitchen was a pleasure to cook in, quality cooker and hob, two fridges, dishwasher, freezer, wine cooler etc etc. Really good sound system we hope we didn't take too much advantage of later on in the day (haha). Will definitely be coming back, all 15 of us had a memorable weekend, will recommend to anyone. Thanks very much, see you again Trish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Thank you! Really kind of you to leave such a glowing review. I'm pleased you had a great weekend and everyone enjoyed their stay. Do come back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$223
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing