We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Splendid Isolation”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa del Cielo de las Estrellas. Spacious balcony and terrace face the beach.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa del Cielo de las Estrellas. Spacious balcony and terrace face the beach.
Downstairs kitchen area. Equipped with all necessary cooking utensils. Dining area. Custom made arched windows for optimal ventilation and beachview.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Casa del Cielo de las Estrellas. Spacious balcony and terrace face the beach.
Downstairs kitchen area. Equipped with all necessary cooking utensils.
Dining area. Custom made arched windows for optimal ventilation and beachview.
Downstairs living area extends from the dining area.
Downstairs bathroom with Talavera sink. This is a complete bathroom with hot shower.
Upstairs bedroom #1. Fresh sea breeze or ceiling fan for comfortable sleep.
Bedroom #2. Both bedrooms with queen beds. Below beds roll-out bed for 1 person.
Sunrise over the Caribbean Sea from bed. 6 am. No wakeup call needed...
The spectacular sunrise over the Caribbean Sea can be enjoyed from our spacious balcony.
Roof-top patio. Ideal for private tanning and stargazing during the night.
Ground level terrace. Our favored breakfast spot.
Morning view from the water line. Our landscaped beach integrates salt-tolerant native plants.
Grill on the beach. Foreground: Fresh coconuts are available year-roundin abundance.
String up a hammock on the beach- a great way to relax after a day of snorkeling.
Our reef-protected waters have no currents and provide safe kayaking conditions.
The barrier reef in our area is arguably the finest snorkeling site in the Mahahual region.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mahahual, Costa Maya, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Redhog98
Merida, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Splendid Isolation”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The coastal town of Mahahaul has grown over the past couple of years from an isolated wide spot in the road to a quaint village with excellent beaches, hotels, restaurants and skin/scuba diving. Plenty to do but not overrun with tourists and at a fraction of the cost of Cancun/Playa del Carmen.

Casa del Cielo de las Estrellas puts you within 10 minutes of the town yet offers a serene and tranquil respite from civilization if you just want to lie on the beach and read. The property itself is beautiful and well-maintained by the friendly and responsive caretaker. The house offers three levels of terraces and balconies from which one can see the ocean and enjoy the soothing sound of the surf. The main level offers ample living space and the upstairs bedrooms are large and well-appointed. (Caution: The narrow spiral staircase presents a challenge for larger bodies. I'm 6'4", weigh 250 lbs, and made it without difficulty, albeit slowly and ducking to avoid kabonging my head. It terrified our Labrador.) The kitchen offers only two burners, no stove, but the two outside grills compensate.

In short, it's a wonderful place, we (two adults, 14 year old daughter) enjoyed ourselves tremendously, will return and can recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy the Mexican Riviera without Cancun's congestion, loud bars and high prices.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serenity
Liked least: The heat
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate NY
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colorado
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Can_we_go
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Tranquility by the sea”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We rented this lovely ocean side house with another couple for a weekend of snorkeling and relaxing. We were promptly greeted upon our arrival by Darby, the caretaker. We instantly fell in love with the house and location. Darby showed us all of the peculiarities that go along with a house that's "off grid" and his instructions were easy to understand and execute.

The kitchen was fairly well equipped, especially as we realize how hard it can be to eept things up in this climate. Our only recommendations for the kitchen would be to include dish soap and a lighter for the grill. (the kitchen has a flint to light the stove...but does not light charcoal).

We stayed cool throughout the day in the house as it's well shaded and the breeze off the ocean was constant. No problems sleeping either..nice breeze all night.

The beach was groomed by Darby. The beaches in this area collect sea grass as well as debris coming in from the ocean, but the beach in front of the house was kept very well. The two dogs were delightful, got along with our pet and we enjoyed their company.

We bought our groceries in Playa Del Carmen (we live there) and planned to cook a few meals at the house and eat a few meals out. It is highly recommended you bring your own food and supplies as it's limited in Mahahual. There is a two burner gas stove to cook on. No oven. We did our cooking on the grill outside.

We used the kayaks and snorkeled, but the wind was whipping the days we were there so snorkeling was not at it's best during our visit. The area is very quiet and we enjoyed that immensely. Don't forget to look up at the stars....it was gorgeous.

Do bring insect repellant! We did not encounter mosquitoes, but there were some biting flies and some kind of yellow flies that were pesky.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We do recommend lighter, soap and extra towels to make the amenities more complete. Bottom line is we would definitely return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and tranquility
Liked least: needed a few more amenities (like dishsoap, lighter, beach towels)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plueAlber...
alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay on the beach!”
Reviewed 30 April 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful place to stay if you are looking for a quiet getaway, without the hustle and bustle of anyone else. The house is gorgeous, and the sea just outside of your door is even more beautiful. We spent a week here snorkeling and lazying around, trying to warm up midway through a Canadian winter.

The snorkeling here is great, although you need to get out to the reef to really enjoy it. The sea floor is littered with giant conches, while around you swim giant rays and colorful fishes. All of this in warm, turquoise waters just outside of your front door.

It should be noted, that the last couple of kilometers are a bit rough in a tiny rental car, but the slow drive really sets the pace your upcoming stay. You wind your way through a tiny village and then follow the coast with amazing views of the Caribbean, while freshly fallen coconuts litter the sides of the road. I think it just adds to the charm of the place, a truly quiet and remote getaway on the Caribbean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Getting away from it all, completely. (Also, snorkeling.)
Liked least: Didn't have a thing to complain about.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2013
Dear Tanya and Anthony,
Thanks for your kind review.
Just one update: The beach road south of Mahahual has been repaired in February and driving conditions between Mahahual and our property have vastly improved. We hope it will remain in good condition until the next maintenance is scheduled.
Rudolf
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing