We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$405
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Itour Akumal Villa Las Tortugas(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Akumal Natura Glamping(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camp Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
US$402
US$335
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Bahia Principe Coba(Akumal)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveller rating
241
168
55
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
168
55
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslol ha restaurantdive shopcontinental breakfastcannon housewater coolerturtle bay bakerysnack barfishreserved for hotel guestssea turtlessmall fridgerestaurants within walking distancehotel buildingsmall hotelyal ku lagoonnice poolla buena vida
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 479 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This is it. I need look no further. The setting is the most ideal you can imagine. There are so many shades of blue in the bay and it’s footsteps from your door. We stayed beachfront and the breeze is constant, wrapping you in a comforting, relaxing embrace. Rooms are spacious, clean and the views from the balcony are perfect. Breakfast, lunch and dinner options are plentiful. The jugo verde and delicious coffee at breakfast gave me life every morning. We truly enjoyed Lol-Ha’s offerings for breakfast, lunch and dinner.. the whole fried grouper was ridiculously good and served with pickled onions, hot salsa verde and fresh corn tortillas. The totopos, guacamole and pico was the perfect snack while enjoying our own palapa and hammock among the towering coconut palms that line the shore. I was able to schedule a fishing trip by simply walking up to a boat anchored on the beach no more than 50 feet from my door. We snorkeled literally right off the beach every day and saw huge green sea turtles, large coral formations and many fish in the warm, shallow bay. I watched bonefish and jacks play along the crystal clear shoreline in mere inches of water every time I stepped onto the beach. The bay was always calm and we saw small children playing safely and happily in the shallows. The staff are very attentive and work hard to ensure a safe, clean and fun
Environment. There are great dining options within walking distance from the hotel at all price points. Last but not least the pricing is so affordable and such a great value for the truly magical experience this place provides. Many thanks and
Kudos to the owner of this place. I learned a lot about your father’s story before coming here and I truly respect your efforts to keep the essence and magic of this place intact. We have found our paradise and we cannot wait to return!

Stayed: April 2018
6  Thank jero360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Located about two hours South of Cancun, you can find a beautiful half moon bay. And on that Bay you can find the Hotel Akumal Caribe ! We rented a bungalow, they have other rental options. Our bungalow was clean and our fine maid helped us keep it that way ! We had the continental breakfast option. The food was great ! The restaurant is right on the Half-Moon Bay. The view is fantastic. The pool is very nice ! Many other good restaurants are within walking distance. Their Mercado offers a variety of hand made souvenirs ! Enjoy swimming or walking the beach or taking a scuba adventure. We rented a golf cart, and visited and swam at Yal-ku Lagoon Park. It was a perfect week. Enjoy ! Skippyfrizz

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Skippyfrizz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

We have been coming here for years and have recommended it countless times. Not sure if we’ll come back as the entire bay is buoyed off. The dive shop controls one lane and that is for paying customers. You are not allowed to go out more than a few feet from shore and can snorkel in the far southern area of the bay. I recognize the need to protect the wildlife and support this, but if you’re coming here to snorkel now just realize that you won’t see much.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank PeteAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akumal2u, Owner at Hotel Akumal Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

We are sorry your snorkeling experience is not the same anymore. The government declared the bay a Marine Protected area and they put in the buoys. It is not under the control of any dive shop. These buoyed areas are for those that hold permits to conduct guided snorkel tours. Only someone on a tour with a permitted guide are allowed in these circuits. The middle area is now a protected area where the turtles feed on the sea grass. No one is allowed in that area. The zones are shown in signage the government has put up.

All the shoreline and the first 50 meters out approximately are for free swimming and recreational use.

The good news is that you do not have to take a tour, and you do not have to go on a tour to see the turtles and marine life. The snorkeling to the south of the circuits is pristine and beautiful. Life jackets are not mandatory if snorkeling on your own, but are recommended. Responsible snorkeling practices include not diving down to touch sea life or coral, staying horizontal, respecting your distance to the turtles to allow them to come up for air unhindered and unstressed.

There are changes, and the government has a long way to go towards ensuring the tour operators comply with the rules they have, but snorkeling can still be enjoyed. You can ask the local dive shops for tips on where to go to get a good experience. Thank you

Sincerely
Laura B Wolfe
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Spent 2 nights in February and enjoyed our stay. Bungalow was clean but simple and it had everything we needed. Property was lovely and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Outdoor restaurant had good food and accomodated vegetarians quite well. The price was far better than the all inclusive resorts which are not our style anyway. And the peace and quiet was great.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CRHummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Travelled with my husband February 6, 2018 for 7 days. We stayed in one of the bungalows and really loved it. It was kept very clean, it was quiet and so close to the beach. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The beach was beautiful and we saw turtles and fish each time we went snorkelling. The food at the restaurant and snack bar was very tasty and there were several other good restaurants within walking distance. The pool area looked lovely but we did not use the pool. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Pazuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews