We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pretty close to heaven on earth”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ocean side Casa del Mar and our sister villa Nicte Ha
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Ocean side Casa del Mar and our sister villa Nicte Ha
Akumal Sunrise!
4 Sun loungers pool side.
Sun loungers ocean side.  Morning sun, late afternoon shade.
Outdoor dining table for 4.
View from rooftop observatory.
Dawn at Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar ocean side.
Splash!
Sunrise
Your housekeeper at Casa del Mar. Mary Cat Dzul.
Casa del Mar entry buffet
Living area
Casa del Mar living room
Casa del Mar Dining and Living Area
Comfortable and new seating
Dining area at dawn.
Dining area seating 6 guests.
Fully equipped kitchen.  Purified water provided.
Full kitchen
Full kitchen, gas stove/oven with microwave.  New, sharp knives
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Cheers!
Kitchen bar seating 3.
Main level King Bedroom opening to the pool deck.
Main living area bathroom with shower
Main level king bedroom with brand new Sealy pillow top mattress
Main level kin bedroom with A/C.
Welcome to Akumal!
Master bedroom with private bath and balcony with hammock.
Casa del Mar master bedroom
Casa del Mar master bedroom
Master bedroom balcony.
Master bedroom with sunrise oriented ocean view.
Lending library and en suite master bath with shower.
Beach towels are provided.
Please take a book home if you are reading it before departure.
Upper Third bedroom with double, single bed and large private ba
Upper guest bedroom with double and single bed.  A/C and large s
Upper level guest bath.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kay M
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretty close to heaven on earth”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Yes, that does sound like an exaggeration, but lounging on one of the comfortable chairs at Casa del Mar with a perfect view of the beautiful bay, one can forget one's troubles for a while. This place is comfortable in every aspect. The decor is charming, the kitchen is large enough to actually do some cooking and the seating arrangement is perfect. The formal dining table makes it possible to serve a special dinner while viewing that beautiful blue water. The bedrooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. The bathrooms are quite adequate with some really good hot water to relax you even more.
To add to all that, there is a fine pool which is deep enough to actually do some swimming. Or, if you don't feel athletic, you can just relax in one of the beach chairs and enjoy the view of the coconut palms and surrounding vegetation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2016
We are delighted that you had such a lovely time at Casa del Mar, Kay! Thank you so much for staying with us here at Akumal Direct Reservations, and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beto N
Seaside, California
1 review
“Great house in center of Akumal”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Casa del Mar is a very colorful and comfortable house in the middle of Akumal. It offers great view of the ocean, and the pool is very cute with turtles on the floor and view of the sunset. Very nice to jump in during the day to refresh and at night.

The room are comfortable with the master bedroom with a great view of the ocean, and with nice hammock to hand around and relax.

The chicken is great with plenty of supplies for cooking and the A/C are working well.

Very close to restaurant like Akumal Bakery, Buena Vida, and short distance to the more local restaurant on the other side of the road.

All in all a great place to stay, and enjoy what Akumal has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing view of the ocean and the pool.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K B
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Would never stay here again”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

While it unfortunately rained for 3 of the 6 days we were there, we experienced pretty significant flooding in this home. When we tried to contact the property manager and the home owners, they did not respond via email or phone. I'm not sure what the cleaning person cleaned when they came b/c things still were dirty after they left.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: The lack or response from the property manager and home owners in regards to the consistent flooding we had.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
We are so sorry to hear that your vacation did not go as expected. We received your first email of complaint 2 days after you had departed, and although we were not given the opportunity to address your issues while you were here, we immediately investigated your problems. As you mentioned, we experienced unseasonably heavy rains during your stay, with weather fronts blowing in at speed right off the ocean. The property manager and the maid informed us that every day they did their best to clean up any rain that was being forced by the wind through the ocean side terrace door runners on the lower floor. They also left additional towels each day should you need them. The Casa del Mar team works diligently to help guests have the best vacation ever. On this occasion, severe weather conditions hindered the staff's best efforts, and for that we sincerely apologize. Akumal Direct Reservations represents a wide range of properties, and had we know during your stay that you were having problems, we would have offered you alternative accommodations to choose from. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will return to Akumal, and we hope that the sun will shine for you on your next trip. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CivicDriv...
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Awesome 2nd trip back”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Back here for year #2 and as I mentioned last time, we bumped up our stay to two weeks. Not much has changed with the house so I won't go into the same details again. The grounds are still beautiful, the house is still the perfect size for a small group or family. Having our own pool is such a huge plus. Mari the maid was friendly as ever and did a great job keeping the house tidy. I believe sheets were changed twice a week and towels were changed out whenever we left them on the floor. We took her up on the offer to do laundry this year, which was great. We could have got by with packing much less. We left a note and some Pesos next to the laundry basket in the morning and both loads were washing, dried, and folded when we returned in the afternoon.

The location is ideal for getting to either beach, it is close to restaurants, and attractions, and if you're able-bodied, it's an easy walk to the Pueblo for a meal or to the highway to catch a colectivo. If you decide to rent a car, there is a nice covered carport so you don't have to worry about it sitting in the hot sun or catching a falling coconut.

One thing we really enjoyed was shutting off all of the air conditioners and opening up every single window. That's how paradise is supposed to be enjoyed, not with the windows closed and A/C cranked up. Booking with Marcia at Akumal Direct Reservations was smooth and she is extremely easy to reach if you have any questions.

We would definitely stay here again when we return to Akumal next.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location, pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandytoes
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous 2 weeks at Casa del Mar”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa del Mar this November. The house was kept spotless (inside and out) and was very well-equipped. All the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. The beds were comfortable and the view was spectacular.

We also thought the location was great-a 10 min walk to Akumal beach/town and the same to Half Moon. La Buena Vida and Turtle Bay bakery/cafe were two of our favorite restaurants. It was very useful to have a car to explore and to get to bigger and less expensive supermarkets.

Only negative (other than the fact that we're not there right now) would be that some of the screened sliders were a bit worse for wear. We will hopefully return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing