We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
10
15
17
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
15
17
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews place to stay service was great be careful bedroom cottage camping
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2016

While this hotel is clean and comfortable, it is badly in need of a refresh, both inside and out. The rooms are good size but look like they have not been updated in years. Our bathroom sink had a hole in it that had been glued back together and the tub and tile are old and the gout is dirty. The linens are poor quality and the bedding, again, just old. The lobby is stark and the outside is not as attractive as most others on the island. There is mildew growing on the outside of the building. The staff was nice and accommodating. While most hotels on the island offer free breakfast with your stay, this hotel charges $5.99. With so many other choices available, this property needs to take heed and update. While they offer tennis courts, there is grass growing up through the cracks and the net sags.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Betsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey H, General Manager at Cavendish Memotree Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Hi Betsy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your candid review of our property.

We are pleased that we could provide you with a clean and comfortable room.

We actively engage in refreshing and improving our property each year. We have taken note of the areas you'd like to see improvement in and hope to welcome you back for another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

The cottages are cozy and perfect for families - there's a bevy activities for children and the pool is often empty. Barbeques are provided on the deck of each cottage as well as two extras for the regular rooms. The location is great; quiet enough and in close proximity to Cavendish. I would like to note that housekeeping could be improved. With very little effort this place could be much better; upgraded furniture, linens, and better housekeeping staff.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Zoe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey H, General Manager at Cavendish Memotree Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Hi Zoe,

Thank you so much for taking time to review our property!

We are very happy that your kids enjoyed the amenities we provide. We are now very proud of our pool as it has been completely redone and re-equipped over the 2015 and 2016 seasons.

We are always looking for greater service improvements and new ways to make our guest's stay an even more enjoyable one and have made note of all your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is definitely reminiscent of a budget chain style from the 1990's. No upgrades or modernization seems to have taken place in quite some time. Inexplicably, lights were off all over the property and made it feel very dark and unwelcoming. Cleanliness was hit and miss. Our room was clean but friends traveling with us had a sloppy bed, and a wet bathroom that appeared as if someone had just gotten out of the shower. In room amenities were sub-par, we had a stained plastic ice bucket but no drinking glasses and a cheap poorly functioning coffee maker with coffee and sugar shoved into a ziplock bag.

Breakfast is not free. It's adequate but a little over valued at $6 a person. At the rate we paid, it could have easily been included.

Staff was a mixed bag. There was a very unprofessional Asian lady working the front desk who checked us in. It was extremely disorganized and took far too long and she answered the phone and took a reservation while we were in the process. She was unable to answer even basic questions we had about the area. Very bad first impression and immediately turned us off just minutes inside the door. Daily housekeeping was polite, accurate and timely. The manager, Keltsey, seems to be the heart of the whole property. We saw him there running around morning-noon-and night and always acknowledged us and would spend time to chat and answer our questions. He referred us to a superb restaurant in the area and gave us tips on where on the island is actually worth going (the views over Park Corner is one I definitely need to pass along to everyone now). The service he provided made our stay and made up for the lack thereof through the front desk person.

Property grounds are beautiful. Ample outdoor recreation activities. However some of the exterior structures and amenities are starting to decay and should be revamped to stay safe and modern.

We will be back next time we are on the island. I will be very interested to see how this property evolves.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JPF877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey H, General Manager at Cavendish Memotree Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Hi JPF,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a very thorough review of our resort.

Interestingly, we were originally built as a chain hotel. However, due to the seasonal nature of our business, it is more practical for us to be independent and focus on what really matters to the majority demographic of our guests.

I am disappointed to hear that your friend's travelling with you had a room that was not prepared for arrival to our standard. We would have been more than happy to correct this issue with a very short visit to our front desk.

We impose a nominal surcharge for our hot breakfast buffet so that we may continue to provide a premium product to our guests. We have found that many of our visitors appreciate taking the time to enjoy a more comprehensive, quality full breakfast before heading out to enjoy the sights and attractions the Island has to discover.

I'm very flatted by your comments about me. No matter what else might be going on, I always do my best to ensure our guests have the best stay possible with us. I definitely look forward to impressing you with our improvements on your return visit to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Our family of five stayed in a cottage for two nights. It was clean and the service was great with kind staff. We appreciated the new BBQ on the deck and the fire pit, and the kids enjoyed the pool, pool table, trampoline and swings/slide. We also liked the peace and quiet and lack of crowds.

However, it is basic lodging that requires some upgrades inside and out to sustain business and attract regular guests.

Good luck!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey H, General Manager at Cavendish Memotree Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Hi Amy,

Thank you so much for taking time to review our property!

We are very happy that your kids enjoyed the amenities we provide. We are proud of the serene grounds we have surrounding our resort. We are very glad to hear that you made use of the cottage BBQ's - one of our new improvements and additions for the 2016 season!

We are always looking for greater service improvements and new ways to make our guest's stay an even more enjoyable one and have made note of all your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

This porperty needs attention. The WIFI is terrible in all areas of this motel. The breakfast the offer is not worth the money they want. You can tell that they are closed all winter as the rooms smeel musty and are always damp feeling. The offer cottages as well. This is a BASIC property. Also, it is no longer part of choice hotels. The clarion name is blacked out on documents at front desk and room. I wonder why, didnt meet standards. Indoor pool is FREEEEEZING.

Room tip: I dont know what to tell you.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LifeOnTheOpenRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsey H, General Manager at Cavendish Memotree Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Hi SmilesOfSmiles,

Sorry for the delay in responding to your review. We have now updated our listing to reflect that we are no longer part of the ChoiceHotels brand.

Prior to the start of the 2016 season, we undertook a capital improvement project to improve our wireless network. As it just became available to us, our service provider has now equipped our resort with two dedicated fibre lines of internet - and we have completely rewired and re-equipped our hotel's network infrastructure. We can now boast blazing fast 'net for all of our guests!

Our pool is heated with a combination of solar energy and propane. In the 2015 season we did have intermittent problems with the auxiliary propane heater which is why we have now installed a new propane heater as well as replacing all the other components of our pool's mechanical system for 2016. We would love to invite you back anytime to come take a dip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews