We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere, great staff”
Review of Drake Devonshire

Drake Devonshire
Reserve with OpenTable
Drake Devonshire is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: US$15 - US$27
Cuisines: Canadian, Fusion, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Expect to find days at the Devonshire filled with great outdoor activities and The Drake’s celebrated cultural programming, featuring local musicians, artists and performers that’ll surely inspire you. We are here as your County concierge. We can help arrange a plethora of activities, including art, wine, sightseeing tours + excursions. The County boasts awesome biking and cross-country skiing, fly fishing, golf, yoga studios, and water sports at Sandbanks Provincial Park. We hope that you’ll enjoy everything the Drake Devonshire and our County community has to offer, and that you return season after season to see and experience the ever changing landscape. Consider our Wellington home yours and enjoy your County sleepover.
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Definitely the place to be if you're looking for a good meal and some tasty drinks in PEC. Of note, the hostess Alexa, was kind enough to drive us on her break when we couldn't get a taxi in a timely manner (that's a PEC issue). Alexa went well beyond her call of duty to make sure we had a great weekend and truly embodies what it means to be hospitable - thank you!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LoKal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2018

My husband and I stayed at the Drake Devonshire for two nights to celebrate a special occasion and we can't say enough about how fabulous it was -- everything exceeded our expectations, including our many meals at the restaurant. I know a lot of people say you should dine in the space because of the view -- which is true -- but the menu is packed with delicious, thoughtfully curated items that will appeal to anyone and everyone. Families with kids, bachelorette parties and mixed-generation families were all in the restaurant at the same time we were, and everyone was having a blast. Our servers went above and beyond with everything, and by the end of each meal we felt like they were our friends. I highly recommend checking this place out!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank skt0r0nt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla B, General Manager at Drake Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Hi Skt0r0nt0,
Fantastic! I am pleased you enjoyed our little INN and your dining experience. Thank you, we are humbled by your kind words!

X[OH]!
Karla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

We loved our stay in the county! Our “County-licious” dinner was incredible. Highly recommend escaping the city in spring to sit lakeside at the Dev. xo Rebecca

Thank rebeccaskyewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla B, General Manager at Drake Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Hi RebeccaSkyeWood,
Thank you for sharing! Countylicious is a great way to experience PEC and finally the sunshine has returned! We hope to see you again soon!
X[OH]!
Karla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

I have been to the Drake Devonshire before as a couple. The previous experience was okay but not great. I wanted to go back because I was bringing two new friends to the County and the location is so fantastic I thought it was worth giving it another try. We had a reservation for 5 (including 2 children) for 7:30. During the reservation process, the staff were helpful and accommodating as we were making changes. However, when we arrived, our table was not ready so we were asked to wait. We moved to an area out of the way and could see a table for six right by the window (premium table). We waited for a bit and then asked why we couldn't have that table. We were told it was being held for a large party of ten but that our table shouldn't be long. I pointed out that we had two children with us. We checked in at least one more time. Close to 8 p.m. we were told our table would be 5 to 10 more minutes. Shortly after this, we watched the premium table for six that was supposedly being held for a large party pulled apart and a couple seated at the table. Our table still wasn't ready. We asked to speak to the manager. She had previously walked past us multiple times. She introduced herself as Sabrina and then apologized saying that there had been a "miscommunication". We advised that it was hard to understand how there had been a miscommunication as we had checked in several times. We advised that we felt that we weren't really appreciated as customers. She offered to seat us immediately and provide free drinks but by this time we had had enough and left with the strong sense that perhaps three older females (all three professionals) with two kids were not the kind of clients the Drake wants to seat at a premium table. They preferred to make us wait over half an hour for a table off to the side while a premium table remained empty. After we left, they called us to offer us brunch the next day but again, none of us really wants to go back. We really were made to feel second class.

    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed the “Ice Storm” weekend and had fantastic dinner experiences and our breakfasts were great.

The view of the lake is beautiful and decor is original, comfortable and cool. Our real interest was the Creek with an art installation and walking path.

The staff were all friendly, fun and knowledgeable of both the food and the wine list.

The Duck Confit and Steak Frites were wonderful as dinner choices. We also had the charcuterie board on day two and loved the Commissary Mustard so much we left with a jar for our own pantry. The spaghetti was exceptional as well.

A solid selection of local and California wines and fun cocktails like a Gin Mule.

Drake Breakfast both mornings for my husband. Highly recommend for egg and bacon lovers. My favourite was the Steel Cut Oats with coconut and nut butter. Also enjoyed the house cured salmon and bagel. Sour dough toast and berry and rose jam is a treat too.

We will be back.

Loved dining at The Drake Devonshire in the Ice Storm.

1  Thank Fergleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla B, General Manager at Drake Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi Fergleton,
Thank you for the fabulous summary of your stay during the April ice storm! Your description of the food you enjoyed is delightful! We can’t wait to see you back in the sunshine!
X[OH]!
Karla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drake Devonshire also viewed

Wellington, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 
Wellington, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Wellington, Prince Edward County
Picton, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Drake Devonshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing