We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok.”

Rebecca's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Mahone Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At Rebecca’s Restaurant we strive to serve creative unique dishes that one can’t find anywhere else on the South Shore. Our menu is very diverse; satisfying the palates of seafood and meat lovers while also paying close attention to vegan, vegetarian, gluten free and common food restrictive allergies. More than 80% of our product is sourced locally from Nova Scotia farmers and everything we make is made from scratch! At Rebecca's you will experience a celebration of traditional as well as modern cooking styles. You won't be disappointed!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really disappointed after reading the reviews. Fish was fresh but otherwise our meals were underwhelming. Lobster Newburg was served on a big, overcooked, dry biscuit. We skipped dessert.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Stay66670381063
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Owner at Rebecca's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there,

I just want to say first off thank you for coming in and supporting local.

Can I inquire about your recent experience? Did you discuss your meal with your server while you were at the restaurant? We have trained the staff to give excellent service and if you had let them know about your experience they would have made a substitution for you to ensure you enjoyed your time with us. We take statements like this very very seriously and never want anyone to leave unhappy with their experience. Understandably, we missed the mark but we cannot fix what we do not know.

If you could please email us at info@rebeccasrestaurant.ca I would be more than happy to give you a gift certificate for when you come back and try a different menu item! We are in the process of a menu change for the fall/winter.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friends told me to give the restaurant a try and I was not disappointed. I ordered the Fun Guy pizza which was fantastic. Everyone else raves about their meals as well. They have a selection of vegetarian and vegan options which is fabulous. Definitely worth the try!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Tammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Owner at Rebecca's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Tammy, thanks so much for this review and recommending our restaurant. We loved that you took the time to do so as positive reviews really make our day as we are a small local business. Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are a group of 5 tourists from Ontario. A local recommended Rebeccas for dinner. We had a number of seafood dishes and all were superb but what was most impressive was our server, Laura. She was extremely helpful and very friendly and was honest with her recommendations for our choices of food. She also quite highly of Rebecca. Best service ever. Rebecca has a good one there.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank dennisbB8465AQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Owner at Rebecca's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and let us know about one of our long time servers. Laura has been with us for quite some time and we are so happy for someone to recognize her work ethic and love for the restaurant. Thank you! Will pass this along to Laura!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very interesting small restaurant that is well worth the effort to try. We were intrigued by the menu which included individual portion Mac and cheese skillets. We both tried different variations and they were absolutely delicious. If you are in the area and want to try something other than traditional pub style fare, this is an excellent option.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Owner at Rebecca's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi George, Thank you so much for this amazing review! We truly appreciate the kind words. Please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2021

I had the Hawaiin fish tacos. Not very flavourful. A disappointment and the service was slow. I have been to this location before but not impressed today.

Date of visit: July 2021
4  Thank nancyoV6516EI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca S, Owner at Rebecca's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Hi there,

First off I would like to say thank you for supporting a local business. We are all getting back into the swing of things with being closed during the Third Wave,

Truly sorry to hear about this experience that you had while dining with us. This weekend we were very busy and that can cause a little bit of a hold up in the kitchen but we called in reinforcements and worked hard to get out the dishes well prepared for your dining pleasure. We are dumbfounded to hear that your server didn't communicate the possible wait time as our staff go thru training with customer service at the heart of it. Understandably, this has soured your experience of us. We have only reopened 5 weeks ago from having to be shut down due to the pandemic. We reopened with new staff and set in motion training with all the covid protocols in place and to gauge customers comfort levels. It can be overwhelming for the staff at times, but we failed to hit the mark with your experience and we apologize.

While I have you, I would like to inquire about your recent experience that you felt compelled to write this review. First, can I ask, in the past did you write a review to say how fabulous your experience was? Positive reviews can make a kitchen’s day and let them know their work is appreciated! Or did you write a review only this time when you were dissatisfied? Understandably, we missed the mark to what you normally use too but we cannot fix what we do not know. Did you mention to your server when you visited that the Hawaiian Tacos were not up to par? I ask, only because maybe you didn’t think to but it is our policy to replace them or give something different off the menu at no cost to you. Our servers are there to make your time with us the most enjoyable.

If you have anything else you wish to discuss about your time with us please send us an email at info@rebeccasrestaurant.ca, and we'd happily give you a gift certificate for you to try us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Rebecca S.
Owner of Rebecca's Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rebecca's Restaurant also viewed

Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
Mahone Bay, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Rebecca's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.