We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect summer vacation”
Log Chalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Log Chalet
Chalet kitchen area Chalet Loft
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Log Chalet
Chalet kitchen area
Chalet Loft
Spruce Cottage
Spruce Cottage
Spruce loft
Cozy A-Cabin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ColinH71
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect summer vacation”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had such an amazing stay at Big Hill Retreat. The Chalet cabin was perfect for our family of 5, with plenty of room to spare. The girls had the run of the loft and we enjoyed the pond and trails on the property. The view from the decks is amazing and the silence there was deafening. We had been to Cape Breton before and loved Baddeck, so wanted a place in the area to stay for this longer trip to the island. The cabins are remote, but still within 10 minutes of all the amenities in Baddeck. As well, nothing on the island was much more that a 90 minute drive, making day-trips very convenient.

Linda was made us feel very welcome to visit her pottery studio and we couldn't resist buying a piece to have as a special reminder of our stay at Big Hill.

Terry was tremendously helpful right from first contact through TripAdvisor to book the property all the way through the end of our stay. We had a long drive on the day of our arrival and I was able to keep him informed on our progress via e-mail and we made final arrangements up until a couple of hours before we actually arrived.

The Chalet cabin is extremely well-built, clean and has a very well designed layout. We never felt cramped. There are absolutely no complaints about our stay and we hope to stay again on the next trip that takes us to Cape Breton Island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of the surroundings and privacy.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anniky
Ottawa Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Would do it again in a heartbeat”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Fantastic stay in the most beautiful cabin. Very cozy and rustic. A bit of a trek on a not so great road to get in but worth it. You truly feel like you are living in the mountains. Hosts were great. Lent us movies to watch on the DVD player that is there. You will love it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnnorth...
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Idyllic, secluded chalet in a woodsy but accessible setting.”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Loved this property the minute we saw it, and have been back every year. It's a bit of a drive up a dirt road, but well worth it for the seclusion, quiet, and view North from the lower porch and upstairs balcony -- nothing except treetops as far as the eye can see. The roomy log chalet has a rustic feel, cozy enough for just the two of us on the first floor, but with upstairs beds enough for a crowd. We set up a badminton net on the large mowed area out front. The exceptionally nice and helpful owners are a short walk away, and wi-fi is available on their property. Baddeck is a 13-minute drive away, offering everything you might want in a small resort town, including a busy waterfront and nightly ceilidhs (usually fiddle and piano or guitar). Good central location on the Cabot Trail, affording day-trips north to the Cape Breton Highlands and west toward Inverness. Judging by what is written in the guest book, everyone feels the same way we do -- we hate to leave. Whether you're a hiker or a porch-potato, it makes for a wonderful vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy, quietness, friendly owners, and sweet trails right on the property.
Liked least: Bugs were bad this year -- no fault of the owners. Other years were fine. It was a wet spring.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitemoun...
Twin Mountain, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Very Peaceful”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed for 2 weeks and found Big Hill Retreat and the cabin just what I was looking for. It's off the main road and it's very peaceful. The cabins are solid, spotless, and very well equipped. The covered porch, with its gorgeous view of Cape Breton hills, is a treat. The trails on the 200-acre property are great for exploring and enjoying the forest, brooks, waterfalls, and birds, with benches scattered throughout. For anyone who loves the outdoors but also enjoys the comforts of home, Big Hill Retreat is perfect. Linda, Terry, and Richard are helpful, friendly, and generous. I sure hope I can return to Cape Breton, and when I do, I will definitely stay at Big Hill again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being off the beaten path, but close to services, in a wonderful cabin, with terrific "hosts."
Liked least: Nothing. I wouldn't want to change a thing.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Reviewed 13 April 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing