We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
64
52
19
10
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
52
19
10
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub right next door kitchen unit small bedroom would stay again queen bed view of the lake towels hotsprings robbie bc canada retreat caves
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Love, love, love them! By far our favourite get away. Wholeheartedly welcomed with two young children plus our hyper dog ( very rare for us ) had every extra small item we forgot and totally left us alone when needed. Totally at home in this clean friendly 'homey' place xxxxoooo

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Alyshia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidMotel, Owner at Mermaid Lodge & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

We appreciate your wonderful review and are very fortunate to be able to welcome such wonderful people like yourselves, to share our little piece of heaven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

My husband And I just spent 2 nights at the Mermaid Lodge. If you are looking for the resort experience, by all means stay at The Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort. On the other hand, if you are looking for a warm, welcoming, personal lodge, stay at the Mermaid. It is dated, but that is part of its charm. Marcia and her Scottish husband, along with Robbie the Border Collie are also part of the charm. Robbie even came to our room and scratched to ask our Jack come out to play. We had a kitchen unit with everything we needed and a wonderfully comfortable bed. We will be back! The Hot Springs are so close! Just the length of a drive way. Not a negative in the 3 Days.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidMotel, Owner at Mermaid Lodge & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

What a wonderful review, we can't thank you enough and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Robbie loves to meet & greet everyone and every pet. We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We stayed here for one night in October 2017 and received a very warm welcome. The motel seems slightly run down compared to the neighbouring one but the room was clean and comfortable with a small balcony looking across the road to the lake.

Ainsworth Hot Springs is a very small community and options for eating out or buying groceries are very limited. There are store's in Kaslo and Balfour.

We were not particularly impressed with the look of the Hot Springs (which are next door) but our host was so enthusiastic about them we decided to give it a try, and were pleased that we did. Not crowded at this time of year.

I am pleased to say that the patio doors did lock fine for me!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

A party of four of us arrived and requested a room for the night. The hosts were extremely friendly, welcoming and accommodating. The rooms and bathroom were very clean and comfortable and our room had a view of the lake which is absolutely stunning. The beds were clean and just what we needed to sink into after a visit to the hot springs which are right next door. The gentleman even gave us towels to use at the hot springs. Should you find yourself in that part of Canada and need a bed for the night then don't hesitate to call in and keep your fingers crossed that they have space for you.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GrannyMBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidMotel, Owner at Mermaid Lodge & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

We thank you for your very kind review and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are fortunate to have very conscientous staff that take pride in their work and we appreciate their efforts every day. Have a great day and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Myself and my 2 teenagers booked the Mermaid Motel on August 29, 2017. Upon arrival we were greeted by a man who was obviously drunk as evidenced by odor and gait. After getting into our room were discovered that the balcony door on the first floor was so badly damaged that you could not close the door and could not lock it. After pointing this out we poorly treated and told that "we have never had even an ashtray stolen from a room." I said that we would not be staying in this room and was told that we would still be charged for the room.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mkodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidMotel, Owner at Mermaid Lodge & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We are sincerely sorry for the bad experience you had after checking in. The manager had obviously been drinking a bit too much at a golf tournament earlier that day which is no excuse and will not be tolerated in future. When I returned home that evening and called you to apologize, I had reassured you that you would not be charged for the room and the small deposit you had paid would be credited back to you, which has been done.
The lock for the patio door on this unit has since been replaced, which prompted an inspection of the remaining patio doors and preventative maintenance.

We cannot take back your experience but we hope you will consider a return visit one day. If you do, please call us directly as we would like to offer you 1 complimentary night's stay to make up for this unfortunate experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews