We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much needed quality local pub”
Review of The Suffield Arms

The Suffield Arms
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 October 2021

The Gunton Arms has always been one of my favourite pubs in North Norfolk however I rarely get to enjoy it due to not living within walking or cycling distance; I was overjoyed when I heard Ivor Braka was opening The Suffield Arms as it's just a 15 minute cycle from my house, and, as always, Mr. Braka hasn't dissapointed.

I can't speak for the food as tapas is not really my thing, but I've heard from friends and family it's of good quality. They have some great lagers on tap (like Beavertown Neck Oil) and fantastic cocktails upstairs in the cocktail bar. The pool table is brand new and a treat to use. The art in the place, just like The Gunton, is sublime and creates a really unique atmosphere. As expected, the prices are pretty dear (you're talking £5 a pint and £9 a cocktail) but it is worth it. The staff are all really friendly, helpful, and welcoming too, especially George.

Keep it up guys! Looking forward to being back soon.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank drakeg97
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2021 via mobile

Have just had a very lovely lunch at the third attempt! But well worth persevering. The venue is lovely directly opposite Gunton train station. Like their sister location the Gunton Arms the art is eclectic and well worth a visit and just a drink. The service is top notch and very friendly and professional from the manager Tracey, Kate our lovely waitress to the exceptional Sam (front of house) who made us feel very special by remembering our drink order from a previous visit (when we arrived too late for food :-( and went above and beyond helpfulness in recommending schools as we were discussing our plan to move to the area. We ordered a lovely meal of various tapas. Boquerones Viangre were delicious, Pulpo Gallega (lamb was succulent, pink with a delicious pesto), Artichoke Tempura (thoroughly recommend), Pickle Beetroot salad with Mozzarella was refreshing and delicately flavoured and not overpowering, Calamares with Aioli was excellently cooked and succulent and the Chorizo poached in cider was melt in your mouth. A bottle of the Il Carretto Rosso di Puglia (house red) very reasonably priced and a great accompaniment to lunch. Unfortunately, you cannot book so make sure you get here in plenty of time to get a table. Would definitely recommend and be coming again on our return to Norfolk over October Half Term. If you have been to The Gunton Arms, a very different dining experience, but well worth the trip if you are staying in the area for a few days. Keep up the good work and look forward to returning soon. Terence & Anouska

Date of visit: October 2021
1  Thank 344terencec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 October 2021

Ivor, as always, has brought his very special brand to this place and nothing can detract from the gift this man has to make specular and very sensitive refurbishment of run down property. I loved the Gunton, especially the controversy over the artwork. The refurbishment of the old hotel was a work of art. His problem though is, of course, expectation. Anyone who has been to the Gunton from its early days will expect the same or something equally enjoyable at the Suffield which, I am afraid, simply does not happen. The building is of course a triumph. That was to be expected but the whole set up as regards food and drink is lack lustre. Cocktails bar in deepest norfolk - I think not. Great pub food always on tap a must. Forget the Tapas and the billiard table. Waiting for a table to come free is not on. Bookable tables please and never serve up tomato juice from a supermarket bottle of something quite different. Come on, you can do better than this!

I cannot comment on the food. There was none available at lunch time. The restaurant also must be allowed to settle down after only five months.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank iangK1252SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2021 via mobile

Lovely staff, so attentive, charming and knowledgable. Nothing was too much trouble . The Sunday Roast dinner which had a Mediterranean twist was amazing . The meat was tender and the vegetables were simply gorgeous. This is an absolute Gem. We’re definitely going back.

Date of visit: October 2021
1  Thank STEPHANIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2021 via mobile

Firstly what a lovely renovation the owner has done to this rail side pub, but unfortunately that's where it ends.
Like so many other locals we have waited for the new addition to the Gunton arms brand to open to offer something a little different to your run of the mill pub grub.
However the business needs a serious shakeup unless they are hoping that the Gunton will carry them through as SERVICE IS SHOCKING. We waited 40 mins at our table for one of the service staff to take our order. We viewed staff walking back and forth with no sense of purpose, congregate around the entrance and look completely lost and out of depth.
In fact we got up and walked out and went to the VERNON ARMS is the village of Southrepps.
MUST TRY HARDER very disappointed.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Alihfs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Suffield Arms also viewed

Thorpe Market, Norfolk

Been to The Suffield Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.