We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great retreat for a fabulous friend's reunion”
other travellers have booked this property
The view from the front door at The Mangroves AKA 'Kos'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from the front door at The Mangroves AKA 'Kos'
The view of the cottage from the water. The view from the side of the cottage!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The view from the front door at The Mangroves AKA 'Kos'
The view of the cottage from the water.
The view from the side of the cottage!
View from the front in the evening
The veranda!
The cottage at night.
Art on the wall
Our little collection of books.
The Master Bedroom
Th 2nd Bedroom - with a 'Tibetan' double bed.
#3 - two single beds
The Master Bedroom shower
The shared bathroom.
The 'waterspout' shower - emulating the 'pii le', a traditional roadside bathing spot!
The 'Zen' Kermit
The 'Yellow Banana' ready to be taken out!
Out on the lagoon, heading East.
Shisha Pipes for a quiet evening.
The best place for an afternoon snooze!
Part of the 'fleet'.
The five man row boat
One of our roaming neighbours.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kosgoda, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Kalana D
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great retreat for a fabulous friend's reunion”
Reviewed 20 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Superb location for a peaceful gathering. Big rooms, but 2 rooms had to share a washroom. Better to have small pedestal fans, than the industrial fans. Caretaker "Wasantha" was giving us a great service. Canoeing in the bay was super fun. Will surely visit again.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2016
Thank you for the review - that your stay was a positive experience means a lot to us. Points noted, will certainly act upon them. Till the next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NarenG
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Favourite piece of paradise”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What can I say about Kos apart from the fact that out of the hundreds of places I have visited in sri Lanka, Kos is my favourite. This was my second home from home while I lived in SL. Peaceful and quiet, a few minutes to the beach and the awesome seafood restaurant mallis in bentota, the lagoon to paddle on, beautiful decor, extensive library, eclectic music and a comfy hammock. Also one of the most cost effective little villas I know.

Wasantha the current caretaker is great as well. I will miss Kos greatly and hope I will be able to visit again sometime soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
And you are one of our favourite guests, someone we look forward to seeing again and again - thank you for the great review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinushi P
2 reviews
““Silence and Peacefulness””
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

It is something special with this place. The tranquility, the birds, the beautiful view over the lake... I definitely recommend "The Mangroves AKA 'Kos "to anyone who likes nature and
we found it very clean, good food, and Wonderful view. I'll definitely visit again for couple of nights. Ideal place to be for relaxing holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2016
Thank you; that your stay got us 5 stars says it all - we hope to see you all again and certainly for a longer stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajith S
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
“Best view to have fun time”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed with friends and had a great weekend with BBQ, boating and etc. We loved the place, view and the great service provided by Wasantha. There is no words to describe place unless you stay and feel it :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thank you for the positive comments - that your stay was a pleasent one is what matters to us. Hope we see you all again, soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iroshan P
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Awesome Place to Chill out With family and friends”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is my first visit to Kos and I loved it in everyway. Really apreciated the rustic appearance of the place. It was calm and quite and we were able to enjoy the beautiful environment surrounding the place to the fullest.


Special thank goes to Sumudu(the owner) for his understanding and polite nature towards guests. And Wasantha ( the caretaker) for providing tasty meals and arranging a fabulous boat ride.

I recommend this place for family gatherings or to just chill out with friends.

I will definitely visit this place again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2016
A 5 star review, thank you! We are extremely pleased to hear that your stay was indeed a pleasent one and that we did meet expectation. Your comment about the Man@Kos is appreciated and it will be conveyed to him. Looking forward to your next stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing