We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay close to the beach!”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Tree Spirit Retreat!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Tree Spirit Retreat!
Walk about 200 yards to the Beach and our private neighborhood access. View Off of East Deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Welcome to Tree Spirit Retreat!
Walk about 200 yards to the Beach and our private neighborhood access.
View Off of East Deck.
The Master Bedroom Contains a Queen Bed.
The Second Bedroom Contains a Full Bed.
In Addition to the Interior Bathroom, A Funky Outdoor Bath House Highlights Bathing Facilities.
No tv, no phone, no clock- come to 'be there.'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Surf City, Topsail Island, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay close to the beach!”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Tree Spirit was close to the beach and had all the amenities of home. The owner, Chris, was easy to get a hold of and very nice! We will be coming back soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry P
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is a true beach bungalow! If you are looking for a nice quite relaxing time then this romantic rustic place is it. The moment I step onto the property I felt all the wonderful Reiki energy and I felt wonderful. There is No TV or Internet. However you I did get LTE coverage on my phone just in case.
The kitchen has everything you need to cook all your meals. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is spacious. The couch is perfect for layout g around and reading a book. The private beach is just a hop skip and a jump away and you're less than 4 miles to surf city main area. Island Delights is a great place for burgers.
We plan to book another stay at the end of summer. Can't wait!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phyllis B
Bristol, Tennessee
1 review
“Tree Spirit Retreat is a relaxing, rustic bungalow.”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My sister and I really enjoyed the unique and rustic Tree Spirit Retreat. Booking was easy and Chris sent the discount to me that Trip Adviser didn't take off of the rate in a timely manner. I was slightly disappointed that the outside property was rundown...it made me want to get out there and do some work! The beds are very comfortable, the AC is awesome . We had everything to cook some great meals. Very nice and friendly neighbors next door. Short walk to the beach. We loved relaxing on the screened-in porch. The only thing that was bothersome was some rugs in the closet that were musty smelling. We couldn't hang our clothes in there. They really need to be removed. All in all a very enjoyable vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Screened-in porch, comfortable beds, short walk to the beach.
Liked least: musty smell when we first arrived. Musty rugs in closet.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
*Thanks again to everyone for the lovely reviews!*

--Guests receive owner contact information upon booking, and are encouraged to communicate any issues for immediate resolution during a visit, or, of course, after if preferred.--

(Note: The rugs were removed and yard work scheduled.)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica N
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Spirit Destressing Retreat!”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Tree Spirit was very relaxing and quiet. We enjoyed the easy 100 yard walk to the beach up the thick live oak lined street. The cottage was charming and rustic. Little frills and few modern day distractions, not even a microwave. A true relaxing beach shack. Exactly what we wanted. We loved that it was pet friendly and offered basic accomodations. If you're looking for a rental that offers a full range kitchen, this is not it. It's best for simple meal preparation. We cooked breakfast but ate out at some terrific island restaurants every evening. There are no dressers to put away clothing but the closets had adequate space to hang our things. I would suggest you bring enough clothes for your entire vacation as there is not a washer or dryer which also lends to some smelly previously used blankets and bed coverings. We were glad we brought all linens, blankets and pillows for our stay. The cottage air conditioner was superbly efficient. There is little bathroom privacy with just a louvered folding door to close off. This is best as a 2 person (couples) getaway. There is only a shower in the bathroom, so not the best if you have very small children. The best part of our stay was undoubtedly the ease of beach access and the quiet solitude the cottage allowed us. We were able to unwind and destress from our chaotic city life and truly enjoy the beauty of island life. A great place for a simple vacation on a budget. We look forward to going back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
*Thanks to everyone for your positive comments on Tree Spirit Retreat!*

--To Prospective Guests:
You will receive an information letter at the time of booking including directions, key information, check-in time and linen needs. Guests bring their own linens, and laundry facilities are not included among cottage amenities. Although in the past we kept a few community items in the cottage "just in case," in future information on local laundry facilities and linen service will be made available upon request. --

(And thanks for your note on the bathroom door as an issue - we will address it promptly.)

*We are always looking for ways to improve the Tree Spirit experience!*
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sm47
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Close to the beach, laid-back and casual”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at the Tree Spirit Retreat. It's nothing fancy, but the beds are comfortable, and the kitchen is furnished enough to cook basic meals. The cottage is on a side street less than a block to the beach. Topsail island is a nice quieter, less developed beach location. We were glad to find a cottage where we could bring our dog. For the low price, this was a good place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;