We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
118
131
76
35
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
131
76
35
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area nice hotel breakfast was amazing hot breakfast bed was comfortable five nights mini break hotel grounds room was large location was perfect plenty of sunbeds relaxing break special thanks standard room air con every morning long weekend
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2018

stayed here on the 19th September for 5 nights staff were friendly on reception, our room was lovely and spacious with a large shower and bath with nice views.

breakfast was amazing there was something for everyone i personally loved the chocolate donuts fresh fruit and English breakfast, there was apple juice, pineapple juice, orange juice, water and a coffee machine included with the breakfast.
Pool area was lovely and clean i really loved the bean bag loungers they are so comfy! i think they could do with a few moor on the other side of the pool. You can hire a bed around the pool but i found this to pricey it was around 50 euros didn't see anyone on them so it was a bit of a waste.

There is a park right next to the pool which is good for the kids to keep them entertained!

Pool bar prices are over priced, I had a cocktail which was like water and i paid 14 euros for it. Best option would be to order a litre of sangria which was about 17 euros and you get about 5 glasses out of it. I thought it was bad that they charge 5 euro's for water which is the same price as a beer so found that a bit odd. Also a a can of fanta is 5 euros. Your better of bringing your own water etc to keep in your fridge.

Big Tip - Dont take drinks out of your hotel room fridge as they charge you we only had a fanta and bottle of water and was charged 18 euros. Use the fridge for your own supplies ONLY as you will be charged on check out.

Beach was around 10 15 minutes walk it was a stoney beach not proper sand but still nice enough. Turn right out of the hotel and keep walking you'll find plenty of shops and restaurants that are open till late and are cheap and cheerful.

We went on a day trip to Marineland which is also great for the kids only about 15 minutes drive, they have a water park there and we did swimming with dolphins and had pictures with them. We also watched a dolphin and seal show.

Thank you for a lovely stay! overall we had a brilliant time, a holiday we will always remember :) X

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissaforrester94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mperez396, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Monterrey, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Dear Melissaforrester94,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We are glad to kow you had a good experience with us.

Concerning the drinks we will take note about the pricing considerations.

Every comment is constructive and help us to improve every day.

We sincerely hope to see you again in the future.

Very best regards

Miguel Ángel Racionero
General Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

The hotel grounds /restaurants etc were lovely. Akin to 5 star. However the room was 3 star at best. The view was of the reception area roof and car park. The bathroom walls weren’t tiled and although the walls weren’t dirty they were marked all over where things had knocked them. Part of the shower had also come off. The tv kept saying it had no signal and there was only one English language channel.
The breakfast had a very simple hot selection but it wasn’t kept on warming plates so was quite cold.
And lastly the pool area... 50euros to lay on one of the four poster sunbeds!!! Seriously!? It wasn’t even peak season. They were all vacant. I’ve stayed in real 5 star hotels and although yes they also charge for their luxury sunbeds it’s only been 20 euros or so. Something which you would happily splash out on on your luxury holiday.

On the plus side: lovely staff. Big bath towels. Lots of hot water. Comfortable beds. Quiet. A nice walk through the lanes to get down to the beach.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank julie132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mperez396, Departamento de Reservas at Gran Hotel Monterrey, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Apreciada Julie132,

Thanks for your honest opinion. We regret that your recent stay did not respond to their expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share them with our team to continue improving our services. We hope to have the opportunity to see you again in the future to offer them a better experience.

Sonia Martín -
Gran Hotel Monterrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel is located around a 10 minute walk away from the beach, yet still central and close to all amenities. Reception staff were very helpful, attentive and knowledgeable in various languages. Rooms are large and modernly decorated, whilst the breakfast selection was ample. Also recommended is the pool area with ample open space, large pool and plenty of deckchairs to unwind on.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank dre109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mperez396, Departamento de Reservas at Gran Hotel Monterrey, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Mr Andrew-MLT,
First of all, we would like to thank you for the confidence in our hotel Gran Hotel Monterrey and for taking time to send us your valuable feedback. I shall pass on your comment to our staff and at the same time assure you that we take note about your mentions. We will be delighted to welcome you again in our establishment.

Sonia Martín - Gran Hotel Monterrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Arrived very late last night! Farhat at reception couldn’t of been more helpful and friendly! Beautiful hotel and great breakfast this morning! Coffee is amazing #weloveyouFarhat #bestreceptionistever

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Aoife F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

My partner and l loved this hotel, the staff were first class and were very friendly/helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable with good quality beds and decor with a spacious balcony. The pool area was excellent with plenty of sunbeds and a nice relaxing atmosphere.
The food in the hotel was excellent with plenty of choice and myself and my partner enjoyed the first class service provided at breakfast/lunch/dinner times. In all I would strongly recommend this hotel.

Smart rm 336

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mperez396, Departamento de Reservas at Gran Hotel Monterrey, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Kenneth S,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor community, it is really helpful to know the experiences of our customers in order to improve our service every day. We are pleased that you found our hotel perfect.
We appreciate the confidence placed in us and hope to welcome you again.

Sonia Martín - Gran Hotel Monterrey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews