We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Running Bear Cabin

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Murphy, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hobbky
Lexington, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon Cabin, not for seniors”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It is a very pretty cabin, beautifully decorated in a neighborhood setting in the woods. I think the ideal guests for this cabin would be young, honeymooners. There is a large jacuzzi/ whirlpool bath in the master bedroom. Throughout the cabin, it is very tastefully, mountain themed decorated. I really liked the beautiful bear painting on the wall in the living area. The master bedroom bed is a very comfortable bed once you take the loud, worn out crinkly waterproof mattress cover off the bed. New sheets are overdue for that bed as well. I believe this will be addressed by mgmnt.

The shower in the second bathroom is very small and the water flow from the shower head is not very strong. It took me forever to take a shower and I never felt rinsed off! I found it a real turn off to see used, opened complimentary bottles of shampoo, lotions, in a basket in that bathroom. Bring your own soap because they don't have it. The toilets in both bathrooms are about a foot off the ground which is tough for people with bad knees. The bolts for the master toilet need to be tightened; it is not securely bolted down so it rattles when you......

The ice machine does not work, hard water issue, but there is a store close by where you can buy ice. There were broken ice trays there, but I think new ones will be supplied.

The HD TV and WiFi work great. There is a nice CD stereo system in the second bedroom that really has a nice sound to it, so bring your CD's if you book here.

It really is a very nice, mt. cabin that just has some minor issues to straighten out, which I believe will be. It is perfect for the younger group, but I can not recommend it for seniors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Comfortable master bed mattress....really nice!
Liked least: Low toilets, sinking cushions on furniture, no ice, noisy neighborhood, low water pressure shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
Thanks for the review. I think they are referring to the Jacuzzi is hard for seniors to navigate. This is the only true log cabin we have on our site.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Oct 2014
Thanks for the very nice review. We are always pleased to hear guests enjoy the cabin. Yes, the clear skies in Murphy reveal so many stars and appear very close, it seems you could possibly reach out and touch them.
Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Oct 2014
Thanks for the nice review! We have 3 cabins that are on one floor,great for those who are not able to navigate stairs.We have decided to keep our prices reasonable so folks can afford a wonderful vacation in the beautiful Smokys.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sgrogan1
Tobaccoville, North Carolina
1 review
“The Getaway”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Wonderful cabin out in the woods. We really enjoyed the quiet area. Everything was excellent, Clean and beautiful. The Cabin has been well taken care of and my wife really loved the candle gift upon arrival. Overall I would rate this a 10. Hope to go back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The deck outside.
Liked least: The cushions on the couch were worn out
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2014
We have different venues for our cabins. Some are in the woods and others have fabulous mountain views!! Every visit brings you your welcoming gift.Our cleaning folks take great pride in their craft.Thanks for the wonderful review!
Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Sep 2014
What a great place to connect with family in the beautiful Smoky Mountains!
Thanks for the great review! All our cabins are kept clean by our fabulous cleaning folks. Murphy is a great location for seeing all the fun things in the mountains.
Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing