We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice Cottage to relax”
other traveller has booked this property
Front entranceway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front entranceway
Cedar soak tub and mountain view Exterior view with mountains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Front entranceway
Cedar soak tub and mountain view
Exterior view with mountains
Dining area with cork and tile wall
Kitchen with homemade pottery and stainless steel countertops
Living room
Kitchen with stainless steel countertops, handmade pottery dishes and phenomenal view
The gardens around the cedar soaking tub
Cedar soaking tub with mountain view
Cedar soaking tub with view of the mountains
Sitting room
Patio view of the cottage with weber grill, outdoor fire pit and picnic table
Master bedroom with king bed
Front entrance
Second bedroom with queen bed
Upstairs full bathroom with stainless countertops and pottery collage decoration
Stacked washer / drivery
Guest book
The back of the cottage
Front of cottage from the road
Cedar soak tub and mountain view
The gristmill at East Fork Farm
Misty - our farm cat
Laying hens perusing for bugs
Lamb playing in the pasture
Buddy - our miniature Sicilian donkey
Turkeys ranging in the pasture
Rabbits eating some treats
Gathering eggs
A view of the pasture
The gristmill
The grain barn
Sheep grazing in the pasture behind the cottage
Snowy picture of the farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Marshall, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CraigLaws...
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
“Nice Cottage to relax”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is a great place to stay. There was a group of 4 guys who went skiing at Wolf Ridge and it was only 30 minutes away. This cottage has everything you need (dishes, washer/dryer, hot tub, etc.) It was nice and quiet but still close enough to everything you need - food, groceries, activities.....
I will be staying here again next time we come skiing or might bring my kids and wife and have a fun vacation.
There are lots of things to do for kids there on the farm (we didn't do any of it this time since it was 4 guys on a ski trip) but looking at what the cottage offers this will be a fun place for kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decorations, close to everything in Marshall and Mars Hill, amenities (washer, dryer, hot tub, dishes, fire pit, grill etc.)
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed B
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An Awesome Week at "The Farm"”
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Our family of four (girls age 13 & 11) spent a week at East Fork Farm in early August 2015 and had a wonderful time. Collected eggs in the morning, loved on the farm dogs, fed the trout and took in the warmth and hospitality of the owners. The Cottage was a dream- cute, quaint but two story so plenty of room. Loved basking in the soaking tub in the star-lit evenings, listening to the sheep braying around us. Enjoyed long walks along the stream, great weather and a wonderful pastoral environment. But we also went white water rafting, horseback riding, tubing down a river, and zip-lining. So a great balance of relaxation at the farm cottage and more high energy activities. And Asheville was just 30 minutes away. Cottage is great for 4-5 people. This was an ideal getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage was perfect for us, immaculate, very clean, didn't need a thing.
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAF373
North Conway, New Hampshire
1 review
“Slice of N Carolina Heaven!”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Super clean and very comfortable. Great communication with owners and very pleasant to work with. If you like peace and quiet after a day on the go this location is perfect. Close enough to Asheville and surrounding towns for day trips but far enough away to be out of the hustle and bustle of the city. Our daughter loved watching the sheep and helping on the farm. Only complaint was that we didn't stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favorite little get away-- ever!”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second time staying at East Fork Cottage. (Aug 2014 and Oct 2014). We stayed for a long weekend in August when we picked up our daughter from Girl Scout camp. We are serial vacation rental renters, and my husband has proclaimed this is our best find yet! Great decor, very clean, super charming, updated appliances, great gas grill, fire pit all nestled in a beautiful little valley below the farm.

The host farm is a quick and pleasant walk. dawn and Steve's daughter gave out kids a tour around the farm. They got to hold baby bunnies, see a baby cow, and collect eggs. A huge highlight for both of the kids.

We loved it here so much, we booked a quick little 2 night "grown up vacation" during the peak leaf changing season. (Beautiful!!). It completed exceeded our expectations, again!

Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe S
Wellington, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great location only 25 minuted to Asheville. The home is a perfect getaway location for peace and quite and downtime. We stayed there with our 4 year old son - Two rooms were perfectly accommodated with comfortable mattresses, high quality sheets, and plenty of warm blankets. Central A/C and heat upstairs and a smaller wall unit downstairs coupled with the gas fireplace provided plenty of warmth during our rather cold stay. They have thought of everything for a family - baby gate for the stairs, plenty of toys (cars truck dolls games puzzles) for all ages. A hot tub for the adults that was great on the cold nights. We toured the hosts farm (next door) and met the cows, donkey, rabbits, chickens, lambs, dogs and a cat. All very friendly. If you don't enjoy the fresh smell of a working farm this may not be for you - inside the house there were no noticeable smells - just in the wind outside... Highly recommended rental property - very affordable, clean and newly updated. Including a complete kitchen (gas stove, full size refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee pot, washer dryer anything you could need. They also supply fresh eggs right from the farm, honey, jam and coffee... We would return if we decide to return to Asheville.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful inviting
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing