We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”

Review of Ganavan Sands

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Emerald Isle, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Passenger...
1 review
“Wouldn’t recommend to anyone with allergies”
Reviewed 4 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We just returned hone from another vacation on Emerald Isle. We have used Emerald Isle Realty for several years now in booking site-built homes for our stay with my sister and her family and have been very pleased with the homes we have stayed in. We were late in booking this year, but came across this property which was rated “gold” on their website. Emerald Isle Realty is wonderful and we have never had problems with them or their houses. So, here’s the good: The house is laid out very nice. The updates and remodeling they have done is fantastic. There are ample bedrooms and baths for 2 families to stay comfortably. The beds were comfortable as was the furniture. It has an outdoor shower as well as a hose for spraying down after a day on the beach. Plenty of parking. They had several tv’s, board games and puzzles, plenty of cookware, and the property sits right across the street from beach path. The cleaning crew was EXTREMELY nice and wanted to make sure that we were happy with the cleanliness of the home. The Not-So-Good: When we checked into the home we immediately smelled a strong musty/mildew smell in the finished basement portion of the home where 3 bedrooms were located. It was so strong that we immediately called the rental company. They sent out a commercial dehumidifier. In addition, we purchased about $20 in air fresheners. We had to call again on Monday morning because of the smell. They sent a rude lady who told us the smell was the beach and sprayed something in the downstairs portion of the house. We had 3 people staying with us with allergies and had to bring mattresses upstairs for them to sleep. The people who don’t have allergies were still affected by the smell. On Thursday, we had to call maintenance again to come out and spray for ants in one of the basement bedrooms (no food was in there). By Friday evening we had bugs (some call them Palmetto Bugs, others call them cockroaches, either way they freaked everyone out. There were 3, one dead and 2 that we killed) appearing in the home.(figured it may have been for spraying for ants because that was the only time we saw them). The smell was down to a minimum by Friday. The internet was slow and we wound up using my husbands hot spot and our phones for personal hot spots for some devices. Although, the realty company sent someone out almost every time we called, there was no follow ups and they made us feel like our calling was a neusance. It is not our habit to post bad reviews. We are not picky people and we love posting great reviews when warranted. But when you spend this kind of money for a week’s stay somewhere that is ranked “gold” out of bronze, silver, gold, and platinum, we just expected better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at Ganavan Sands. It pleases us to know that you found the recent updates to Ganavan Sands to be both appealing and accommodating. The owners of this home have worked hard to create a modern space for families to gather, and we hope that you and your family enjoyed your time together in Emerald Isle.

We are very sorry that you were made to feel like you were a nuisance when reporting concerns to us. We are here to serve the many families who vacation with us by doing all that we can to ensure a worry-free vacation so we welcome your feedback and prefer that you let us know when something could be better as you did. It is true that lower levels of homes on our island can occasionally have a bit of a musty odor because of the damp ocean breezes that bring humidity into the home. While this is not usually overwhelming, we do provide dehumidifiers to draw out some of the dampness and remedy the odor that can go with it. As for the bugs you described and the internet service, both of those things are an issue of our location. As unsightly as they are, palmetto bugs are prevalent in our area and tend to make their way indoors during heavy rains like we had last week. We are sorry that they were part of your stay, and we will investigate to ensure there is no persisting problem.

Thank you again for your review. We have been honored to host so many of your family’s vacations, and we hope to continue to enjoy greeting you in Emerald Isle each year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sperkinso...
Smithfield, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Perfect! Loved the location (felt ocean front) and decor. Plenty of room and well equipped. We have two new grandchildren on the way, so we've outgrown it. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elmira NY
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VA
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing