We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”

Review of Self Penthouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Emerald Isle, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sunflower...
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
483 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Needs improvements.”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I rented Self Penthouse in Emerald Isle for 1 week in June 2015. I notice that no reviews have been posted since August 2013, so there have been changes (for the good and bad). First, for the good:
1. The realty company worked hard to change issues that were presented during our stay.
2. There is construction being done on the home to upgrade some current issues.
3. There is great lighting and ceiling fans throughout the rental (no harsh overhead lighting). We loved the Christmas lights over the bar area.
4. The views are great. You can see the sound and the ocean from the front and back of the unit.
5. The rental is pet friendly and near the beach and sound.
6. A/C worked great and there was plenty of hot water (unlike a downstairs unit who had no hot water for 3 days).
7. There is new decking and some new furniture.

Now for the not-so-good:
1. This is a very old unit and upgrades are being made. That being said, the Crow's Nest is closed, so there's no going up to your own deck to see both views at the same time.
2. There are lots of windows, but half of them are dirty or screens are ripped.
3. There was a huge construction dumpster parked at the bottom of our long flight of stairs for 5 days while we were there, full of smelly roofing and other construction items.
4. Parking can be an issue, especially with the nasty dumpster taking up space.
5. There were unsafe items in the grass and driveway due to the construction.
6. There are neighbors downstairs. We would not have had an issue had the West side of the rental not had so many people staying there.
7. No WiFi!! Even though there is a router, there is NO WiFi!! The rental company was nice enough to allow us to borrow a Hotspot.
8. Bedspreads are outdated and need to be replaced.
9. If you bring your pets, there is a long flight of stairs leading up and down to the unit, so you and they need to be very careful traversing the stairs, especially if you have a leash in hand that can get tangled.
10. Construction is going on next door (both sides), so it can get noisy.
11. No dishwasher! Even though the rental company said there was after I asked in advance.
12. Even with the new furniture, it would have been nice to have new carpet or flooring as well.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay and tried to ignore some of the noise and the giant ugly dumpster parked at the bottom of our stairs. We wore shoes outside that would be safe in case we stepped on a nail or sharp objects, and made sure our pets were safe. Hopefully the upgrades they are working on will make this place much better. Washing or replacing windows and screens would be a huge plus as the views are awesome! Adding WiFi and a dishwasher would be a plus as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the fact it was a pet friendly property.
Liked least: No Wifi and the dumpster at the bottom of our stairs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2017
Thank you for your review and for your suggestions. This quadraplex has recently had some renovations so please call our office for a detailed run down of all the work that has been done.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alamogordo NM
Reviewed 22 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jul 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Self Penthouse. It pleases me to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay here so much and I agree, the view from the Penthouse is amazing. Please call us when you're ready to begin making plans for your next Emerald Isle vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NC
Reviewed 19 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jul 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Self Penthouse. Your words sum this property up perfectly and I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your time here. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next Emerald Isle vacation or getaway - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NC
Reviewed 3 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing