We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Made our first experience staying at OBX our...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Smooth Sailing

Smooth Sailing
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Smooth Sailing
Kitchen Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Smooth Sailing
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Deck
High Tide
Storm Day At the Beach
Low Tide
Sunrise
Wild Horses
View from Deck
Horses
View from the Kitchen
Location to Turn off the Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Corolla, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KoriSiri
Farmville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Made our first experience staying at OBX our first of many!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was perfect for our little family. We spent a fantastic week together and this little beach house made us feel so at home. So many reasons to love this place like beautiful views, horses that came right up to our porch(!), all the accessories that we could have needed, and a lovely owner that made us feel like we were renting from friends rather than a corporation. We are booked again this summer and we are all so excited! I think we have a new tradition and this house and beach are a big part of it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the porch/access to the beach
Liked least: There was nothing to complain about!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollybava...
Sanford, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wild horses!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

What a location! Firstly we had to off-road across the beach and through sand dunes to get there - awesome! It felt really remote with an incredible view of the sea from the balcony. Also, we had the wild horses come to visit every night, and by visit I mean they graze under and around the deck! We felt so close to the ocean and to the wild here. It is fantastic.

The house itself is just perfect for a small family with kids. The bedrooms are set up as one queen and one bunk bed room for up to 4 individuals. The master bathroom has an ok shower but an amazingly large whirlpool bath! I wish we had stayed longer to give it a try! The kitchen is fully equipped. The lounge is very comfortable and the deck is just perfectly relaxing. We stayed with our dog and found the place very pet friendly. The dog had a great time too!

With a 2 minute walk onto the beach and only a 10 minute drive into the main town, the location is just ideal. I would stay here every weekend if I could! Just a couple of tips, make sure you let down the air pressure in your tyres (They aren't kidding when they tell you this.) and bring bug spray!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bringing our own bedding is a bit of a hassle
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Md
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nichelle2...
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Vacation Spot”
Reviewed 26 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
5
people found this review helpful

This house and it's location was fabulous. This was our first time driving on sand so that was quite an adventure! My family and I had the best experience at Smooth Sailing. The house was very clean and well stocked with everything we needed, from kitchen equipment all the way to beach toys, kites, and outside seating. The house is beautifully decorated and was just the right size for us. Each room had such quint charm and a personalized touch. We saw the wild mustangs from the deck on several days. They actually came up very close to the house so we were able to get great pictures. We also saw dolphins almost everyday. Great shelling after an overnight rain storm. We could see the nearby Currituck Lighthouse from our deck. My daughter took surfing lessons from a local business that actually came to us and picked her up. We loved that we were vacationing at a beach that was less populated. We cooked big family meals everynight and made memories that will last a lifetime.The owner of Smooth Sailing is very easy to get in contact with and was a joy to rent from. Smooth Sailing is pet friendly which was great for us! We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, the property, the owner, and the horses!
Liked least: We loved everything.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dani526
Marysville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Fun”
Reviewed 3 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The home is a perfect home for a couple & children. It is clean, well stocked with kitchen supplies and just enough room to be comfortable. The location is great because it is only a short walk to the beach & in a less populated location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The beach toys were all broke
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$125
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing