We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“CHRISTMAS VACATION”
other travellers have booked this property
Our mountain top cabin. Come enjoy the beautiful VIEWS, garden + hammock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our mountain top cabin. Come enjoy the beautiful VIEWS, garden + hammock
Have a glass of wine or cup of coffee on the porch and enjoy the VIEWS Living room with cathedral ceiling and handcrafted stone walls
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
93 reviews
Our mountain top cabin. Come enjoy the beautiful VIEWS, garden + hammock
Have a glass of wine or cup of coffee on the porch and enjoy the VIEWS
Living room with cathedral ceiling and handcrafted stone walls
Living room with stair to 2nd floor bedroom/bathroom and loft
View from our front porch
Spring red-bud in bloom
Misty view from our 700 sq ft covered wrap around porch. Come enjoy the porch rain or shine
Panoramic, 5 STAR, long range views from Living Room, Dining + Bedrooms
Come enjoy our hammock in the sky
Sea of Clouds - View from the deck
You dog will love Hawks View as much as you
Come make memories with you loved ones
View from porch -stunning fall colors
Come relax in the hammock
Summer time garden
Misty summer view from the porch
Living room - open plan kitchen, dining.
Kitchen and dining room adjacent to living room space. Easy access to covered porch
Dine with a VIEW
Kitchen is fully stocked with everything that you will need.
Misty Morning VIEW from our porch.
Fall colors + rainbow from the porch
Spectacular sunset..each one unique
Another incredible sunset
Majestic stormy views from the balcony
2nd floor bedroom with queen bed and private balcony
2nd floor bedroom
2nd floor private baloney
Long range views of the Black Mountain Range from 2nd floor balcony
2nd floor bathroom
Handmade sink by local ceramic artist
2nd floor bathroom
Fall Views from our porch
Misty sunset from the porch
Relax in our rocking chairs. Enjoy the FANTASTIC views, sound of running water from our fountain
SUMMER - our handcrafted iron teapot fountain. Enjoy the sound of running water with a VIEW
One of the many spectacular sunsets from our porch
Where does the rainbow end, in your soul or on the horizon?” Pablo Neruda
1st floor bedroom with queen size bed and view of mountains
1st floor bathroom Handmade sink by local ceramic artist
1st floor bathroom Handmade sink by local ceramic artist
Your pet pooch will love our porch too
2nd floor loft with game /computer table. Lots of games and books available for guests
Loft futon converts to full size bed
Loft that over looks living space below. Game/computer table. Games, puzzles and books provided
Misty sunset from the porch
Each sunset is unique
Firewood and kindling provided for your stay and enjoyment of wood stove
Zorro our fur baby enjoy the cozy wood stove.
Hummingbirds abound at the porch feeders
Our views are ancient...the experiences all new
Private and Secluded. Hawks Views in on 4 acres w/no adjacent houses or public road ways
Beautiful winter morning from our porch
Winter at Hawks View
Sky afire - winter sunset
Beautiful late March snow day
Snow day
Winter snow VIEW
Winter
Winter
Winter VIEW from the  porch
Zorro our fur baby enjoying the fresh snow
Sip your favorite beverage by our cozy Lopi woodstove. Firewood provided
As artists we love to collect and make unique  things. This a handmade  folk art flag that we made.
Stone wall by front door
Misty morning VIEW
Red Sky Sailors Delight
Fall VIEW of the Black Mountain Range from our porch. On a clear day you can see Mount Mitchell
View from porch - stunning fall colors
Blue bird day with blanket of fog still hanging in the valley below
Mountain VIEWS in full color from our porch
Fall views from our deck
We welcome your pets. Zorro our basenji dog loves Hawks View.
Fall view from the porch
Sea of Clouds
Fall colors and rainbow
Fall Foilage at Hawks View House. Driveway approach to house
2nd Floor Balcony overlooking the Black Mtn Range
Another awesome sunset from the porch
Rainbows, whirligigs and bottle trees at Hawks View House
Night Time on the Porch at Hawks View
Morning sunrise
Wild turkeys on the drive way
Blue bird sky with VIEWS
Come enjoy one of the many waterfalls near Hawks View. This is Crabtree Falls
Take a relaxing hike on near by Roan Mountain
We are just a few miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway at MP 331.
So many fun things to do in the area like horse back riding
Near by Grassy Creek Falls
Near by Roan Mountain in Bloom a great place to visit during your stay
Roan High Bluff Overlook
Craggy Gardens Trail
Awesome views at the top of Craggy Pinnacle Overlook
Dillinger Gist Mill in Bakersville
Near by Mt Mitchell the highest point east of the Mississippi
Penland Gallery
Orchard at Altapass
Cycling on the Parkway
Come enjoy a balloon ride in the mountains?
Ziplining
Mica Gallery in Bakersville
Did you know there is only 1 tunnel in VA and 25 in NC. Near by  Craggy Pinnacle Tunnel
Near by Chestoa overview off the Blue Ridge Parkway
Rafting
Emerald Mine. Spruce Pine 'The Mineral City' lots of local gem mines to explore
Fishing on the North Toe River that runs through our town of Spruce Pine
Near by Little Switzerland, just a short drive down the parkway
Mountain Farm is a sustainable, 24-acre lavender, blueberry and dairy goat farm
Grandfather Mountain swinging bridge
Mineral Museum in Spruce Pine at Mp 331 at  Blue Ridge Parkway
Visit the Biltmore Estate 49 miles away in Asheville
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Blowing Rock, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 93 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dambrose1
1 review
“CHRISTMAS VACATION”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This was the first time we stayed in a cabin and it was everything we imagined and more! The cabin had so,much character and captured the true essence of the mountains. It was amazing waking up every morning and looking out of the windows at the view. Every thing in the house was very clean and it had all of the necessities you need and more. We had fun with the cribbage board! We hope to come back in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meetingpl...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WHAT A VIEW!”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just a peaceful relaxing week was spent at Hawks View Nest. The weather was perfect. Afternoons were spent reading and watching the colors change as the sun began to set in the valley and on the mountains. The hammock came out a few times for a nap in the sun and was great. Overall the house is perfect. Just the right size and everything you need is there. Beds are comfortable and sheets are the best. (not picked). One tv and lots of books is all you need. It is quiet except to listen to the coyotes at night or the owls. The wood stove was perfect to take the chill off at night and easy to use. Can't say enough about how great this place is. Looking forward to a return visit. Owner very easy to work with..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fahmahlee
Lenexa, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderfully scenic, serene, relaxing vacation home!”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were greeted by a spectacular view of the mountains and nature surrounding us as far as the eye could see. The peacefulness and relaxation the house provided were so welcoming. The wrap around porch/deck promote the enjoyment of time alone for reflection, quiet conversation with family and friends, and decompression from some of the hustle and bustle of life in the city! The fountain, birdfeeders, flowers and comfortable porch swing, rockers and chairs contributed to this, as well. There were numerous options for exploration of nearby mountains, falls, parks and fun, as well as more upscale, restaurants and bars and other notable tourist attractions. We actually regretted that the weather was so pleasant and fresh that we never took advantage of the fireplace and abundance of cut firewood!
The house was clean and well-stocked with dish, glass and cookware, as well as other conveniences, and there were stores nearby for any food or other supplies that might be needed. We were there with a another couple, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it for just about anyone who is seeking a scenic mountain getaway!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the house, the gorgeous mountain views, the wrap-around porch, and the fireplace is a wonderful touch for cooler weather. it was very well-stocked with necessities as far as white goods and kitchen appliances, etc.
Liked least: The bed in the downstairs bedroom should definitely be upgraded to a queen. It was a bit more difficult for a couple to sleep on the full-sized bed in comfort.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry H
1 review
“One of the loveliest spots we've visited”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We loved our stay at Hawk's View House. It was everything advertised and more. So well appointed, we hardly left the place in six days except to check out some spots in Spruce Pine and hit the Ingles market there. The view from the house is breathtaking: the Black Mountains -- the highest range in the East, including Mount Mitchell, Celo Knob and other 6K' peaks -- and all the lesser mountains & surrounding hills. In addition, there are no houses or cabins close by to mar the solitude or the view. The only distractions were Red-tailed hawks sounding off while drifting by at eye level, wild turkeys scuffling in the woods below the driveway, and, oh, the hummingbirds! Priceless!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet, the wrap-around porch, and that stunning view
Liked least: Too short a stay -- only six days
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marthaw20...
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
“Incomparable Mountain views, private setting”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Hawk's View cabin while taking a class at Penland. It's a beautifully designed place, well-equipped and comfortable. Stunning mountain views and sunset every evening. Lots of bird life from the wraparound porch. Very convenient to Spruce Pine, Bakersville and Penland. The owner was very accommodating and went out of her way to help when I left something behind, too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the mountain views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing