We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Couples Getaway Cabin Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Little Bird, Spring
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Bird, Spring
Little Bird, winter Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Little Bird, Spring
Little Bird, winter
Kitchen
Bedroom
Living Room
One of several creeks at BirdTown
One of our creeks
Ducks on our pond
Our Dwarf Nigerian goats
Spring, BirdTown
Winter, BirdTown
Dellinger's Mill, down the road
Fishing, downtown Bakersville
View of the Roan
Bakersville
Winter, top of Roan Mtn
Summer, top of Roan Mtn
Rhododendrons, Summer, Roan Mtn
Rhododendrons, Summer, Roan Mtn
Roan Moan Century
Cycling The Roan Moan Century
Mary
62 is the new 42
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Bakersville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandy T
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Couples Getaway Cabin Stay”
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I fell in love with the pictures of this cabin and just knew it would be the perfect place for our weekend getaway to the Blue Ridge Parkway and enjoy spectacular Fall color. The weekend was quite rainy. Thank goodness Mary had some suggestions and maps in the cabin. We took the winery tour she suggested, found some interesting side trips and just had a really wonderful day despite the weather.

One rainy day delight was listening to the rain on the tin roof. It was the perfect way to fall asleep at night. When it's not raining, you can hear the brook that runs next to the cabin

The cabin is located a good bit off the parkway, but most everything is. It's nestled in a back corner of her property. There's another rental cabin in the other corner. Also on the property is a pond, some pheasants and her goats, a barn and of course her house. While this may sound crowded, it's a large lot - you have both space and privacy.

The cabin itself is true to the pictures posted online. Mary also provides a compost bucket and a recycle bin, so you can stay green on vacation. I was glad I brought my Yeti because the mountain well water is delicious! She also provides a gas grill on the deck, so you can grill out.

We loved the deck and wished we had better weather so we could sit out there with our wonderful North Carolina wine and star gaze, but that will have to wait for another trip.

Mary will come up and chat with you for just a bit and sort of orient you to what's available and where, and then leave you to enjoy your vacation. I found her quite charming and hospitable.

We enjoyed our stay very much and highly recommend Little Bird Cabin.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2017
Wow guys! Glad it was good. Those were turkeys BTW!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angela286...
1 review
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This was a wonderful experience that we hope to repeat often. This was for our honeymoon and Mary was an absolute dream to help us make it special. The cabin is truely beautiful and comfortable. We felt as if we were at home. The plus side was being able to bring our dog and let him run around. Mary and Alli were most gracious when our dog chased the ducks and one of them escaped into their home.

Thank you so much Mary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2017
Awwww....congratulations! Quack!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steppin-o...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had the best time there, the time in fact went too quickly and we missed our little home from home when we left. Every facility was catered for in the cabin and it was set in spectacular grounds which access to various animals wandering around. The quiet is breathtaking and the nights are truly made for stargazing.
Easily accessible to both the Appalachian Trail & the Blue Ridge Parkway as well as other local amenities after a short drive and plenty of local facilities too to cater for eating out or purchasing food for eating within the cabin with the ample facilities provided.
This is a wonderful location and everything is special and our hosts provide you both all the assistance & hospitality you require with suggestions and advice as well as providing you the privacy the grounds inspire.
If you are looking for a place that is without compare as a remote location yet providing facilities near enough to access easily, this is the place for you.
We would return in a heartbeat given the opportunity.......fabulous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Hi Tony and Deb,
Such a wonderful review! We're humbled and grateful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrtravele...
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Breathtaking Cabin on Beautiful Property”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What an absolutely beautiful cabin nestled in the middle of the most stunning and calming mountains. Mary maintains her property and her cabin impeccably. If you have a chance to get away from the city, do yourself a favor and stay at the LIttlle Bird Cabin.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Thanks so much, Rania! My wife Alli and I are very proud of our paradise and welcome ALL who come here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most perfect romantic getaway - hiking, food, privacy.”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It was an easy-breezy trip from start to finish. We arrived late, pulled in, got settled, made dinner our first night (if we'd known about the grill, we might have made steaks), watched a movie, gazed at stars, slept like the dead.

The next morning was lazing in bed, cooking breakfast, chatting with Mary when she stopped by to check on us, hiking (the yellow trail is a BEAR - VERY steep!), cuddled and napped, then got up and sat outside with the ducks in the sunshine reading, then dressed for dinner about 20 minutes away at the Knife & Fork (recommended by Mary). BEST MEAL in possibly EVER. Back for more relaxing, sitting outside on the deck, watching the game, and sleeping yet another good night.

We were up and about after a good night's sleep. We'd been given a late checkout, but needed to be on our way, and were sad to leave this amazing property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views were spectacular.
Liked least: No nonstick pan for omelets! ;)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2014
Thank you so much! More ducks will be coming to hang out, and after May a couple of little Nigerian Dwarf goats - come back . . .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing