We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE”
Review of That Curry Place

That Curry Place
Ranked #6 of 60 Restaurants in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$21
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Two great cuisines at One great place. Located in the heart of town offering contemporary and delicious Indian and Thai food. Vegan, Gluten free and Dairy free items available. Enjoy the patio dining under the stars.
Restaurant details
Description: Two great cuisines at One great place. Located in the heart of town offering contemporary and delicious Indian and Thai food. Vegan, Gluten free and Dairy free items available. Enjoy the patio dining under the stars.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After 2 weeks touring New Zealand, and no Indian restaurant dining, we needed our regular fix of Indian cuisine. Thanks to Trip Advisor, we reserved a table at That Curry Place, Whitianga.

We have dined in many Indian restaurants all over the world (including the famous London curry houses). I truly believe this busy little restaurant in Whitianga is right up with some of the best Indian cuisine we have enjoyed.

And their service, friendliness, and setting is excellent. I walked in the previous day to ask if we could BYO wine and was happily advised “yes” with $5 corkage - a bargain.

So to the dining - ordered their signature dish of goat curry, and our favourite dish Tadka Daal. Papadams, mango chutney, raita and rice to accompany the meal.

The goat curry was superb, so tender and flavoursome. The Daal was one of the best of many we have tried.

If the quality of the food was so good, the service and friendliness of all the team were outstanding. They checked in with us a few times if all was ok, and our praise of the chefs was relayed back to them and the owner. When finalising the bill, the owner came out personally to thank me for praising his chefs and we had a good chat about the restaurant, his family and his chefs.

The restaurant tonight was absolutely buzzing with tables turned regularly and takeaway orders flying out the door. And a great mix of baby boomer holiday types (like us), families and young backpackers.

And to top it off, excellent value for money overall.

Fabulous night. I highly recommend That Curry Place.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RodLyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Really love Thai food and were eagerly looking forward to a tasty lunch but have never eaten Thai green curries the colour of spearmint milkshake full of MSG before. So so disappointing.
You clearly do Indian really well going by other reviews but we strongly advise dropping the Thai element of your menu.
Heat and coconut milk does not make up for subtle Thai flavours and the colour was more than startling.
We stopped off for Gaviscon before heading home

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank plitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcurryplace, Manager at That Curry Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

I am really sorry to hear about your experience with the Thai Green Curry. Although we do not use MSG or colours in any of the curries, but based on your feed back and comments from other customers, we have switched the supplier who provides us with the base ingredients for Thai Green Curry. The new curry is not as green and is full of flavors which you expected.

I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you and will enjoy the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

We had a planned night out with friends to the pictures and decided to pop in here for dinner.

We had all dined here before so it was a no brainer.

This place has delicious food both Curries and Thai.

They have a large menu.

Cosy dining setting, very clean and comfortable.

Full bar.

Great service from very friendly staff.

We were not disappointed again.

Cheers

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank MarkE20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcurryplace, Manager at That Curry Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Thank you for your return visit and it is a delight to know about your positive dining experience with us. I will share your thoughts with the staff as they are the ones who make it happen. We look forward to your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

We have visited this restaurant on a number of occasions and have reviewed it before. If you are in Whitianga for dinner this place is a great place to eat. The cuisine is Indian & Thai which gives a good variety of delicious food. The quality of the food, the flavours the friendliness of the staff make this restaurant a favourite of ours. My favourite is Chicken Korma (hot) with a garlic & cheese naan.
I have heard the lunch menu is great from friends so look forward to trying this sometime soon. My rating gives this restaurant a solid 9/10. Enjoy.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank halgie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcurryplace, Manager at That Curry Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Thank you for your review and comments. We are so obliged with your patronage and your feedback helps us to improve. We have great lunch options at a reasonable price and look forward to your visit, experience and thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

We visited That curry place on our holiday to Whitianga as it was recommended to us.
We had a lovely meal, the chicken melted in our mouth and great flavours, good prices attentive staff and clean well presented premises. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcurryplace, Manager at That Curry Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are delighted to know about your positive dining experience with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed That Curry Place also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Cooks Beach, Whitianga
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to That Curry Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing