We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho Hum, Maybe all dishes have same sauce !!!!”

The House of Chang Thai
Ranked #31 of 60 Restaurants in Whitianga
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Its a nice place with a good lookout. But that's where it ends.

We ordered P3 (Pad Kra Tiam Prik) and P4 (Pad Khing_P/S) from the receipt. One was Chicken, the other Prawn. One had ginger the other didnt. They both tasted the same. I have to wonder if they only have one sauce.

We had ordered hot. They were both extra mild. They gave us chilli on the side, which was hot, but its not the same as being cooked in it. And why bother asking what heat we wanted.

For $26 each, I expected a restaurant to at least cook stir-fry fresh. Normally we come out stuffed from Thai Restaurants. It was not the case here. There was enough protein, but they lacked vegetables.

We wouldn't go there again. Other Thai places in Whitianga are a lot nicer.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rohit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2018

We had a meal here which was very reasonably priced and the food was good. Its nothing flash but pretty authentic Thai food.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Quick and friendly service. Delicious food. They offered various lunch sets that were a great way to try a couple different dishes each. The green curry was particularly tasty.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank TurdFerguson69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Worst thai in nz dont waste your time and money inedible food, cockroaches rude over priced terrible experience scallops were grey hard rubber balls

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank BrittanyH2035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This restaurant offers great service and location but we felt that the meals were over priced and small.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janeyady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The House of Chang Thai also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to The House of Chang Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing