We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome scallop burger”

The Coroglen Tavern
Ranked #11 of 50 Restaurants in Whitianga
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Description: Hey team, so awesome you’ve dropped by… Located in the beautiful rural village of Coroglen on the Coromandel Peninsula, we’re one of New Zealand’s most iconic kiwi pubs. Known for our lovable locals, amazing summer concerts and tasty menu, you can be sure to have a fab day out at the Tavern with your family. Pop in and say Hi on your drive around the Peninsula. Join us for a brew and a whole lot of cheeky banter! Shell, Jed and the Coroglen Crew www.coroglentavern.co.nz
Reviewed 28 May 2021

Thanks to advice on TripAdviser, I made a particular stop to try their scallop & bacon burger. It’s divine! Best burger ever had. Half into my meal I went back to counter to order another one to takeaway. Amazing place to stop for a break on your trip. Very friendly atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2021 via mobile

We had dinner here and it had wonderfully helpfull staff and a good selection of food to eat that tasted as good as it looked. I had a pork burger and it was amazing

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Hpfab7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2021

I haven't been to this pub in decades but it is just as great as when I last tried to sneak in as an under-ager. With 4 perfectly seared, fat and juicy scallops the scallop and bacon burger at $14 is outstanding. When driving through Tapu on the way home a couple of days later I seriously considered taking the reealllly long way home by crossing the ranges just so I could have another of the scallop burgers!

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Nita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2021 via mobile

We stopped in for a drink and lunch. We all had different burgers, including their Scallop and Bacon Burger. Their we're all delicious, juicy, dribbling down your arm juicy.
Would absolutely recommend stopping here for lunch again and again

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Sonia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2021 via mobile

This is an iconic kiwi pub!

We’d been past here a number of times, and always wanted to stop for lunch, and finally had the chance!

The food was great pub food - good serving sizes (with a decent GF mussel stack), and great buffalo wings! Kids really enjoyed their (adult) burgers - one had the fish burger, and other had scallop & bacon, and one kid burger as well.

Lovely atmosphere, and really great, welcoming staff - come here bang on 12 and you’ll be away!

We will definitely be back - if you’re in the area, definitely make the time for a lunch stop at one of the most iconic pubs in New Zealand 👍🏻

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank loukNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Coroglen Tavern also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Cooks Beach, Whitianga
 

Been to The Coroglen Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.