We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
53
34
11
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
53
34
11
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews newer units great location excellent hospitality our short stay comfortable bed washing machine cooks beach joanne spa ferry wharf internet shampoo dryer kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2022 via mobile

Completely over rated. Pics of the pool are not justified as it's freezing cold in summer and situated in the car park. Rooms are neat and well kept but an overhaul of the bathroom is 20 years overdue. The $2 light fittings could also be replaced and a ceiling fan would not be out of place. If this was cheaper it would be fine but I will spend another $20 next time

Room tip: Location is very central but it's not beachfront
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank vmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2022 via mobile

Joanne and Mervyn provide a welcoming and friendly service. The motel is in the heart of Whitianga so easy walking to the shops, beach, wharf and ferry to Cooks beach. The units ( 1-6) are dated, so expect a 70s decor experience. There are newer units (7-12) which maybe more modern. They did have ramps for one, so good for wheelchair access.
Our unit was very clean, however each room only has one power point so with todays devices you need to take a power board to charge everything. Wifi was quite reliable while we were there, though only have 5 GB for stay. Rooms are quite small with no wardrobe, though you can hang a few items on the wall and a set of drawers is provided, along with plenty of mirrors.
There is no air conditioning so the units are very hot in the peak of summer, though a fan was provided.
Units serviced each day with clean towels and we were provided with sachets of shampoo, soap, make up wipes which my daughter loved.
I do not drink tea and coffee however they are supplied in each room.
Our little fridge only had an ice box, so a freezer would have been handy for our week stay. A washing machine is provided free, buy powder at reception and coins for dryer if needed.
The pool is quite shallow however nice to cool off in on a hot day.
Location is key to this motel.

Room tip: Parking near Whitianga wharf is impossible at peak times, so allow plenty of time to walk if you want to access the ferry or boat trip.
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank bexi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2021

We stayed one night while on a road trip. Our unit was roomy, very clean and we found our short stay there very relaxing. Merv and Joanne are lovely and were very accommodating. The location of the motel is very central to the shops, restaurants and wharf. We will definitely go back for a longer stay.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PMaryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2021 via mobile

A big tick to the owner for showing us to our unit on arrival and being helpful with dinner options. We appreciated the way she engaged with us and made us feel welcome.A very tastefully appointed unit that contained everything we needed. We did abide by the shoes off in the unit policy especially in such a sandy environment. King bed was comfortable and being able to leave windows open made the room temperature bearable for sleeping. The supplied fan was too noisy to leave on overnight. Although we didn’t use either the spa or pool it was nice to have them available. This motel was right in town and easy walking distance to restaurants.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank silverthreads101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2021

The Mana-Nui Motel people were extremely helpful to us: firstly I left my sunglasses in the room when we checked out, then we lost a mobile phone and they searched high and low for it before we realized it was in our car! They did all of this with a smile and with kindness, the very definition of hospitality. They were also flexible in order to make our stay better in other ways as well. We enjoyed the hot tub and the pool very much, and the location is excellent. Thank you very much.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B528HWrobertm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews