We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves more than 5 stars”

Sea Cave Adventures
Ranked #5 of 20 Tours in Whitianga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Join Les and experience a personal tour like no other.Visit the famous Cathedral Cove. Slowly cruise inside and enjoy the natural beauty of the incredible sea caves, from Whitianga to Hot Water Beach. Snorkel with the fish in the marine reserve or swim in the amazing waters of the massive Orua Cave. Enjoy the magnificent scenery, golden beaches, offshore islands, spectacular blowholes and towering rock faces. Visit all this and photograph more from our purpose built boat where your safety and enjoyment is our specialty.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

If I could give it more than 5 stars I would. What a fantastic tour, Les was lovely and so knowledgable. The tour got us up close and personal with some of the most incredible landscapes in mercury bay, including Cathedral Cove, Stingray Bay and stunning caves and blow holes! We got off the boat and my husband immediately asked when could we come back!

Thank Tegan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JandLCoomber, Owner at Sea Cave Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review Tegan, I really appreciate it. I am s glad to hear that you really enjoyed yourself on board - I aim to make sure every trip is memorable for everyone on board with the amazing views out there along the coast.
I look forward to seeing you back and taking you back out along the coast, no doubt the natural beauty of the rockfaces, caves and blowholes will of changed over time.
Thanks again for such a kind review, really appreciate it.

Cheers,
Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cathedral cove"
in 25 reviews
"rock formations"
in 8 reviews
"boat ride"
in 7 reviews
"great tour"
in 8 reviews
"small boat"
in 3 reviews
"new zealand"
in 7 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 2 reviews
"great knowledge of the area"
in 2 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"photo opportunities"
in 2 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 3 reviews
"mercury bay"
in 3 reviews
"les"
in 85 reviews
"blow"
in 10 reviews
"boats"
in 13 reviews
"wharf"
in 9 reviews
"skipper"
in 23 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Sea cave adventures is one if the best value for money tourist attractions you can do. The guide (Les) is knowledgeable and funny and the tour is excellent. The bonus of a smaller boat than the other sea tours is that you can enter many of the smaller Sea caves and Les is an excellent skipper and skillfully navigates the coastline for maximum effect and it's amazing! I can't reccoment this enough. One of the best $80 I ever spent

Thank HeinK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JandLCoomber, Owner at Sea Cave Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your trip with us, I really appreciate hearing all the feedback.
So glad to hear you enjoyed our trip so much, with the advantage of getting in to the smaller areas, I aim to make sure each trip is enjoyable and memorable for everyone on board - the natural beauty of the coastline is ever changing.
Thank you again for such a kind review, it means alot and i hope to see you again on the water another time.

Cheers,
Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Les is a great raconteur, knows lots of local history, points of interest and funny stories. More importantly he is a talented sailor. A great, entertaining couple of hours

Thank marilynrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JandLCoomber, Owner at Sea Cave Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our trip, I really appreciate hearing your feedback and so happy to hear you enjoyed my stories.Thanks again for your review, it means alot to myself as i aim to make sure every trip is enjoyable for everyone on board.

Cheers,
Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Extremely exiting tour in fast rubber boat. I was very reluctant to go, but this trip turned out ta be one of the highligts of my 4 NZ weeks!

Thank DrBogus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JandLCoomber, Owner at Sea Cave Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip and rated it so highly on your trip to NZ.
Hopefully we can see you again on your next visit :)

Thanks
Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Captain Lou was great. The two of us were the only ones on this fun little boat. The fact that this wasn’t a very profitable trip for Cap Lou, didn’t stop him from giving us 100 percent. We were on the boat for 2-1/4 hours and stopped at many locations for photo opportunities. Going inside the caves was a cool experience.
Lots of value for price charged on this excursion. MUST DO!

1  Thank MANSIONMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JandLCoomber, Owner at Sea Cave Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review - we try an show everything there is to see out along the coastline.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your trip.
Thanks again
Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Cave Adventures also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Sea Cave Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing