We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it ”

Sea Cave Adventures
Ranked #5 of 20 Tours in Whitianga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Join Les and experience a personal tour like no other.Visit the famous Cathedral Cove. Slowly cruise inside and enjoy the natural beauty of the incredible sea caves, from Whitianga to Hot Water Beach. Snorkel with the fish in the marine reserve or swim in the amazing waters of the massive Orua Cave. Enjoy the magnificent scenery, golden beaches, offshore islands, spectacular blowholes and towering rock faces. Visit all this and photograph more from our purpose built boat where your safety and enjoyment is our specialty.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

We went on this tour with Les. He is a character and full of knowledge about the area. He was able to answer any questions I had. He took us to caves and blow holes other bigger boats would not have fitted in.

There was five on the tour and the boat was very comfortable. He even supplied people with sunscreen.

He stopped in a beautiful location for a few of us to take a swim and snorkel.

Trip lasted about two and a half hours. Well worth the money. Thanks Les

Thank Gailo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JandLCoomber, Owner at Sea Cave Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Hi Gail,
Thank you for taking the time to review your trip out with us the other day, i really appreciate hearing the feedback.
I am glad i was able to answer the questions you had - i like to think i am full of fun facts about our coastline.
While our boat is a little bit smaller, it is surely beneficial when it comes to getting into those smaller caves and blowholes, i am glad to hear you enjoyed that aspect of our tour as I think it really sets us apart form the others.
I like to make sure that everyone on board is as comfortable as possible and try to supply everything including sunscreen because we all know that summer sun can be dangerous.
Thank you so much for choosing to come out and explore the coast with us and also writing such a kind review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed yourself so much.
Cheers
Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cathedral cove"
in 25 reviews
"rock formations"
in 8 reviews
"boat ride"
in 7 reviews
"great tour"
in 8 reviews
"small boat"
in 3 reviews
"new zealand"
in 7 reviews
"interesting facts"
in 2 reviews
"great knowledge of the area"
in 2 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"photo opportunities"
in 2 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 3 reviews
"mercury bay"
in 3 reviews
"les"
in 85 reviews
"blow"
in 10 reviews
"boats"
in 13 reviews
"wharf"
in 9 reviews
"skipper"
in 23 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We did this boat tour at 8am on an unpleasant day and the water was SO calm with hardly anyone about and les was a legend with soooo much local knowledge, enthusiasm and humour! Would highly recommend to anyone stopping in Whitianga as he is the only boat ride that will take you into the blowholes and caves. 10/10 thanks les :)

Thank Marli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JandLCoomber, Owner at Sea Cave Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Marli,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review of our trip, I really appreciate your feedback.
8am is definitely the best time to be out on the water and a great way to start your day. I try to let everyone know about the area with interesting facts, just to make the trip that much more enjoyable so I am glad to hear you enjoyed my commentary. Our boat is one of the only ones that will let you experience a little bit more, being smaller than the others we can experience the natural beauty of the caves and blowholes from inside - hope you were able to grab some great photos.
Again thank you so much for your kind review, i really do appreciate it and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Whitianga.
Cheers
Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

I have done this tour several times, and each time you see something new. This is the first thing we do with any visitors to the area, and we have always had a great time.

Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JandLCoomber, Owner at Sea Cave Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Hi Daniel,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your trip with us. So happy to hear that you keep coming back for our trip and enjoy it every time, also appreciate you bringing your visitors to experience the trip too. I really appreciate your feedback and continued support.
See you on your next visit
Cheers
Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

I emailed Les last minute and he was able to accommodate our request of an arvo tour for 5 - stress free.
We did the 2pm tour and the day was spectacular!
Les was absolutely brilliant! His knowledge of the area, the right amount of commentary and great size boat that was comfy and got into all the sights.
We came to Whitianga 7 years ago and this time came back with my parents and are so glad we did our tour with Les. Our whole group loved the tour and the stunning beauty of NZ. I cannot recommend Les' tour enough - this is a must do!
Thanks Les you're a champ :-)

1  Thank louie_slippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaCaveAdventures1, Owner at Sea Cave Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thanks Louie, I'm glad everyone enjoyed it.
We've got a stunning bit of coastline and I love showing it off. Enjoy Sydney town and hope to see you again.
Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2017

The tour is AMAZING, you can get inside of several caves and you can get so close to the shores it's amazing. Breath-taking experience, really glad we did this. Thank you!

Thank Yanina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Cave Adventures also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Sea Cave Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing